We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously great service, location, value and rooms - and cookies!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Fantastic find - thanks so much for all the other great reviews on this site as otherwise I would have never thought to book the Elm House. Ignore the fact it is a BW - this feels more like a family-run B&B than a chain hotel. It is on the road on the way into Napa town centre, so downtown in walkable in 20ish minutes but its easy to get out to the wineries.
When we arrived, reception were chatty and welcoming, and told us about the 6pm cookies and milk. We really needed some dinner, so they gave us some walkable options that didn't take bookings (went to one, the Bounty Hunter, which was fantastic - great advice!) and said they would keep our cookies for us. And, as they said, we found them in our room under a pretty glass holder when we got back - and they were even more delicious than expected (tip: the next night we were around to get them at 6pm, and they were even better warm - make sure you're in)!
Our room was out the back of the main building, on the ground floor of a sweet-looking house by the hot tub (a nice addition - we were the only people in it when we took a dip at 8.30pm). It was huge, quiet, had a great (enormous) bed, bath and massive shower - and seperate toilet. There was even a walk-in dressing room with mirror and spare sink.
Breakfast also exceeded our expectations - it was in the open area behind reception, and as well as bagels, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, etc, they offer you huge homemade waffles to order. Get one if you have an appetite!
Sadly, we probably won't be back in Napa soon, being from the UK, but I will certainly be telling all my friends and family to go if they are ever in the area.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the house area by the hot tub - so quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,400 - 1,406 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

Along with many other folk, we booked this hotel after reading the reviews on trip advisor, and I'm happy to say I agree with all the positive comments that have gone before and we weren't disappointed.

Although a Best Western Hotel, the more impersonal elements of a chain hotel are not in evidence here. Elm House Inn was clean, bright and cheery. The staff were, without exception, helpful and absolutely charming. We stayed in two different rooms during our visit, both were a little bit pink for my taste, but both were comfortable and clean. Each room had a mini fridge, which is obviously handy during hot spells. We had an ipad with us and used the free WiFi signal with no problems. I would mention, the aircon was a wee bit noisy. Unlike other reviewers we heard no real street noise (except for a motorbike that seemed to go past at the same time every morning whilst we were there) but nobody can really crib at people going off to work for the day. There's a small garden which is very pretty and well tended. A baby squirrel put in an appearance when we were there and caused much hilarity and eeks from some quarters. There was a hot tub in the garden which we didn't use ourselves. The hotel provides a washing machine and dryer for use by the guests. You'll need four quarters for each. You can buy washing powder from reception for a dollar.

The delicious Breakfasts made a great start to the day. Everything from bowls of Fruit to Muffins, Bagels and fantastic Waffles with Maple Syrup. We were to sample breakfasts at another Best Western in Carmel a few days later and there couldn't have been a starker difference between the two hotels.

But where this hotel really scores top marks is the with it's owners and their staff. Having worked in the hospitality industry myself I know that some guests can be harder work than others and it can sometimes be tricky to keep smiling. But the team at this hotel do exactly that. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and every member of staff seemed genuinely happy in their work.

Father, daughter and staff should be proud of themselves for the level of service they offer at the Elm House Inn. They might consider running a few masterclasses for a few other hoteliers I can think of!!

As for Napa itself. Oddly enough we found little to do in Napa. It takes about fifteen to twenty minutes easy walking to get to the centre. We did find the wines far far more expensive than in the UK. The weather was hot, so we actually drank more juice and the odd bottle of beer whilst we were there. If you're on a budget, try Sabor Bistro for supper. It's South American street food. They don't take reservations and you can see why, it was bustling when we went there. You can order a few dishes off the menu and and they will provide you with tasting plates so that you can share. As far as we could see, loads of locals were filling up the tables - and that's always a good recommendation.

It's worth investigating the Uptown Theatre in Napa, they do seem to get a really decent variety of performers there. We were miffed to have missed Emmylou Harris who appeared there whilst we were in Napa. We only found out afterwards.

Trips out. We visited Calistoga, further up the valley. It seems like a super little town, the locals are lovely and there are some nice shops. There's a super duper clothes shop for we ladies. If you like slightly more unusual clothes that stand out from the crowd (think sixties with a pinch of hippy, and a dash of Glastonbury) then go to Zenobia. Lisa the owner is absolutely charming. We felt like good friends by the time we left the shop. I bought a hat and wished I'd had more money and more room in my suitcase to buy loads of her lovely clothes.

Try and visit the Yo El Rey organic coffee shop run by another lovely friendly Calistoga resident. Each cup is lovingly made. It takes a bit of time, but it's worth the wait.

If you're of an arty persuasion try

http://www.dirosapreserve.org/

We enjoyed one of their regular tours. What an amazing place. You get to visit the galleries and a house crammed full of 2000 pieces by more than 800 artists. The charming and knowledgeable volunteer guides show people around the galleries and then take you up to the main house in a Jinty (a little trailer with seats towed by a four wheel drive). They really look after disabled visitors by the way.

Room Tip: Both our rooms were fine. There seemed to be (although I might be mistaken) a guest room downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bizzylizzy158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a recent visit to Napa. It feels more like a B&B than a hotel when you're inside. Our 3rd floor room was clean and quiet and even had a fireplace. The "extras" included with our stay were great: mini-fridge in the room, guest laundry, hot tub, breakfast, and of course the fresh baked cookies every evening. The common room has complimentary coffee, tea, and water, along with board games, books, and 1/2 price wine tasting coupons for numerous wineries in the area. The staff was very nice and even made dinner reservations for us. And the location is perfect: right off of 29 and just down the street from downtown Napa.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I'd recommend an upper level room in the main building or a room in the extra building for the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelCat_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I was put off by the Best Western affiliation but took a chance based on the very good reviews I found on Trip Advisor. Our stay was wonderful. The Inn , really a small hotel is located about a mile from downtown Napa. The rooms are spacious, breakfast was very good, ( great waffles) and they have a large built in hot tub on the property. The staff is very friendly and Tom and Connie , the owners really go out of their way to make you feel at home. I would return without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 103 has a whirlpool tub and is located in the main building. It has a king bed and a mini - fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The Elm House Inn is a wonderful and cozy Inn. It’s a hybrid between a hotel and B&B. The employees were friendly and offer great suggestions ranging from dining locations to wine tours. My wife and I had one of the best dinners of our trip based on their recommendation. Room was clean, bright and comfortable. Can’t say enough about this place and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Would suggest a room on the second floor (ours was). Some of the first floor rooms open right on to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BPTTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Tom and Connie treated us very well. From the fresh waffles in the morning to the fresh baked cookies in the evening. The location was very convenient to both sanoma and Napa wineries. The staff was very attentive without being overbearing. Kelly was a sweetheart and if you stay here you must meet ZuZu!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpit70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We had pre-booked this hotel to bridge the gap between the Californian coast and Lake Tahoe, which we were to visit for the next week. The hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 29, although it is a ten mimute drive into the centre of Napa. On arrival, we were greeted and shown our room, which was on the second floor. Our room was clean and comfortable, with a pleasant decor. Breakfast was included - mainly a cold buffet but with the choice of a couple of hot options (e.g. waffles). We would rate the hotel as better than many of its type.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grum69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,084 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
0.9 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Elm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Elm House Inn

Address: 800 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#1 Business Hotel in Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Napa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $142 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Elm House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Elm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Elm House Hotel Napa
Best Western Elm Hotel
Best Western Napa
Napa Best Western
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing