We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok...not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed here during our wine trip because I am a Marriott memeber and used points for a portion of the stay. The hotel is ok....nothing great. The rooms is ok, bathroom small. Everything seems a bit dated in this hotel. We used the concierge once to get us a cab downtown to napa and to recommend a restaurant. The concierege was very helpful and I used her several times during my stay. If you get a good rate this is not a bad place to go, but this is a very basic marriott. But if I were to do it again, I would stay somewhere with a little more character and actually stay in Sonoma (it is prettier).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ufrc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,373 - 1,379 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at some of Marriott's finest hotels, and although we knew this one wasn't in the high-diamond range, we expected better. Why is it that the highest-priced hotels offer the fewest amenities? No breakfast, no free Internet, etc. All that would still be OK if the service and room matched the very high quality I associate with the Marriott name.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JB2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

At most Mariott's you know what you will get- good rooms & service, safe location & that is exactly what you get here - no surprises. Sometimes that is exactly what you are looking for & comfort is a big factor in choosing a hotel.

We have stayed here before a number of times & will continue to do so again. However, we do not feel it is the best full service Marriott we have ever stayed in- but above average

Pluses:
good location to tour Napa
knowlegable staff
nice renovated rooms
great concierge lounge
discount coupons to wineries

negatives
no restaurants within walking distance of hotel although close to Trader Joe's & Whole Foods

spa overpriced but hey this is the Napa region where a lot of things are overpriced

gym in separate building so you need to walk outside to get to it- difficult when it was 20 degrees at night as when we were there.

pool & jacuzzi outside- unusable in December when the high was only in the 40's.

parking lot small so it would be hard to get a spot when it's crowded- you pay have to park far away.

All in all, IF you get an upgarde to use the concierge lounge it would be definitley worth it- it's one of the better lounges we have visited & we Always stay at a Marriott. The evening appetizer was sesame chicken & it was prepared very well. Also free wine, soft drinks, water. The am breakfast was very good also.

big tip- the hotel has the name of a store to buy discounted wine at- about a 5-10 minute drive away. The wine there is the best price in the Napa Valley & they have the best prices we have seen in the area- much cheaper than the wineries. One price I compared to the wineries was $5 per bottle less so if you're buying wine, come here.

The reviewer who stated NOT to get a room in the hallway near the concierge lounge was absolutely correct- it's definiltey very noisy.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stayed here on visit to Napa Valley to visit wineries. I'll keep this short and quick.

+ Price
+ free breakfast, afternoon and evening snacks
+ free wine in the evening
+ locaiton / close to Whole Foods and Napa Wineries

I don't really have anything bad to say about it. Lot's of nice little freebies when it comes to food and it's super convenient to stores and restaurants. It's standard Marriott style so don't expect anything too great. Parking is a bit limited at night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

big and clean room. service staff were polite, and there was free wine outside the restaurant from 5.30-6.30pm everyday!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
Thank SamanthaT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We enjoyed a terrific stay. The room was lovely, decorated in warm welcoming colours and the linen and cleanliness of the room were up to a good Marriott standard.

Service was friendly and the concierge was great and helpful. The fireplace in the lobby is nice and welcoming.

Internet was available but you had to use your credit card - this was a bit of a shame as we don't enjoy putting our credit card details on the internet.

The breakfast offered in the Harvest Cafe was decidedly average (maybe less than average - fruit wasn't fresh, eggs were cold etc) which is very disappointing as the location of the hotel means that you have no other options.

It's only 5 mins away from Evans Transportation Center, which is a plus.

There's a little shop in the lobby where you can buy essentials, like bottled water.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AshfromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

For the price per night that we got, this Marriott was a hit. We rolled up, checked in and found that there was already free wine tasting going on by one of the local wineries. Check in was professional and flawless. The rooms are typical Marriott, but that's a good thing for those who like to know exactly what to expect. The location was on the North side of Napa closer to most of the Napa wineries. We were about to stay at another hotel further up in the valley, but that cost would be about $400/nt. The Marriott is what it is, clean, nice, standard, with a few nice extras....but with the price difference over 3-days we'd rather spend it on a nice dinner, wine, and a hot air balloon ride and still have money left over.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travlholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,083 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Address: 3425 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#13 Business Hotel in Napa
#15 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $245 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, perfectly located at the gateway to legendary Napa Valley wine country, is the quintessential location for guests to enjoy an unforgettable getaway. The hotel features newly redesigned accommodations, fresh outdoor garden spaces, a luxurious resort-style swimming pool, and a full-service spa. The courtyard, with warmly lit fire pits and lush landscaping, provides the perfect spot for exciting al fresco events and a relaxing space to unwind. Within the lobby's modern setting is the renowned VINeleven restaurant, featuring contemporary American cuisine. A true garden-to-table experience, the ever-changing menu showcases ingredients plucked from the property's very own Heirloom Garden. Preserve Spa offers the perfect oasis for guests to experience pure tranquility and rejuvenation. Additional amenities include a fitness center, concierge services and more than 27,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing