We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't feel like a Marriott” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Didn't feel like a Marriott”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at some of Marriott's finest hotels, and although we knew this one wasn't in the high-diamond range, we expected better. Why is it that the highest-priced hotels offer the fewest amenities? No breakfast, no free Internet, etc. All that would still be OK if the service and room matched the very high quality I associate with the Marriott name.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JB2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    552
    246
    82
    39
See reviews for
208
680
28
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 939 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2009

At most Mariott's you know what you will get- good rooms & service, safe location & that is exactly what you get here - no surprises. Sometimes that is exactly what you are looking for & comfort is a big factor in choosing a hotel.

We have stayed here before a number of times & will continue to do so again. However, we do not feel it is the best full service Marriott we have ever stayed in- but above average

Pluses:
good location to tour Napa
knowlegable staff
nice renovated rooms
great concierge lounge
discount coupons to wineries

negatives
no restaurants within walking distance of hotel although close to Trader Joe's & Whole Foods

spa overpriced but hey this is the Napa region where a lot of things are overpriced

gym in separate building so you need to walk outside to get to it- difficult when it was 20 degrees at night as when we were there.

pool & jacuzzi outside- unusable in December when the high was only in the 40's.

parking lot small so it would be hard to get a spot when it's crowded- you pay have to park far away.

All in all, IF you get an upgarde to use the concierge lounge it would be definitley worth it- it's one of the better lounges we have visited & we Always stay at a Marriott. The evening appetizer was sesame chicken & it was prepared very well. Also free wine, soft drinks, water. The am breakfast was very good also.

big tip- the hotel has the name of a store to buy discounted wine at- about a 5-10 minute drive away. The wine there is the best price in the Napa Valley & they have the best prices we have seen in the area- much cheaper than the wineries. One price I compared to the wineries was $5 per bottle less so if you're buying wine, come here.

The reviewer who stated NOT to get a room in the hallway near the concierge lounge was absolutely correct- it's definiltey very noisy.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

Stayed here on visit to Napa Valley to visit wineries. I'll keep this short and quick.

+ Price
+ free breakfast, afternoon and evening snacks
+ free wine in the evening
+ locaiton / close to Whole Foods and Napa Wineries

I don't really have anything bad to say about it. Lot's of nice little freebies when it comes to food and it's super convenient to stores and restaurants. It's standard Marriott style so don't expect anything too great. Parking is a bit limited at night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattle82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

big and clean room. service staff were polite, and there was free wine outside the restaurant from 5.30-6.30pm everyday!

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2009

We enjoyed a terrific stay. The room was lovely, decorated in warm welcoming colours and the linen and cleanliness of the room were up to a good Marriott standard.

Service was friendly and the concierge was great and helpful. The fireplace in the lobby is nice and welcoming.

Internet was available but you had to use your credit card - this was a bit of a shame as we don't enjoy putting our credit card details on the internet.

The breakfast offered in the Harvest Cafe was decidedly average (maybe less than average - fruit wasn't fresh, eggs were cold etc) which is very disappointing as the location of the hotel means that you have no other options.

It's only 5 mins away from Evans Transportation Center, which is a plus.

There's a little shop in the lobby where you can buy essentials, like bottled water.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AshfromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

For the price per night that we got, this Marriott was a hit. We rolled up, checked in and found that there was already free wine tasting going on by one of the local wineries. Check in was professional and flawless. The rooms are typical Marriott, but that's a good thing for those who like to know exactly what to expect. The location was on the North side of Napa closer to most of the Napa wineries. We were about to stay at another hotel further up in the valley, but that cost would be about $400/nt. The Marriott is what it is, clean, nice, standard, with a few nice extras....but with the price difference over 3-days we'd rather spend it on a nice dinner, wine, and a hot air balloon ride and still have money left over.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

This hotel could not have been better situated unless it would have been on a vineyard. for the price you pay, it is definately a great buy. Easy access to the highway and vineyards. We were just there the week before the crush and found out it was the busiest week of the year to visit. Visited the restaurant for breakfast only. Satisfactory for service and food quality. Did use the concierge service to get some 2 for 1 passes for visiting different vineyards, mostly very helpful. Free coffee service in the morning was convenient. They do not charge for internet if you use it in the lobby area which we did. No inconvenience in this as they have a comfortable sitting area. Missed the wine hour so can't comment. Rooms were fine. Ours was facing out towards the street but we had no trouble at night w/any noise. All in all, an enjoyable visit and worth the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanetrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
2.1 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
2.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
2.0 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 3425 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#13 Business Hotel in Napa
#15 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, perfectly located at the gateway to legendary Napa Valley wine country, is the quintessential location for guests to enjoy an unforgettable getaway. The hotel features newly redesigned accommodations, fresh outdoor garden spaces, a luxurious resort-style swimming pool, and a full-service spa. The courtyard, with warmly lit fire pits and lush landscaping, provides the perfect spot for exciting al fresco events and a relaxing space to unwind. Within the lobby's modern setting is the renowned VINeleven restaurant, featuring contemporary American cuisine. A true garden-to-table experience, the ever-changing menu showcases ingredients plucked from the property's very own Heirloom Garden. Preserve Spa offers the perfect oasis for guests to experience pure tranquility and rejuvenation. Additional amenities include a fitness center, concierge services and more than 27,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing