We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre service, smelly pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre service, smelly pillows”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a Chris Botti concert to attend and were on the list for a shuttle at 730 to get to venue by 8. Came down to wait and the front desk clerk advised to take a seat. Waited till 745 and checked with the Consierge who called and advised to take a taxi instead with no explanation. We decided to drive as fast as possible to make the concert in 10 minutes because who knows when the taxi would arrive! The pillows smelled rancid and not fresh, so had to put a towel over the larger pillows to avoid the smell. Perhaps a change of pillows or different detergent would help. One bed had a big dent in the middle, so my friend had to roll around a lot and the beds creaked really loud disturbing the next person. Ordered decaf kalua drink at the bar and they must have put regular coffee in drink - unable to sleep all night. Overall, would not recommend staying at this Marriott for the next trip to Napa.

Room Tip: Rooms at end of hall from front desk is really a long distance if you need to go back to front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonomous386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner M, Front Office Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear anonomous386 – We hoped that you enjoyed a romantic night listening to Chris Botti’s concert; he is such a talented trumpet player. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your Napa adventure. I completely understand how frustrating your experience with us must have been, I would too if I was in your shoes. On behalf of the entire Napa Valley Marriott team, I want to truly apologize. We sincerely appreciate the feedback regarding your stay, and all issues regarding the transportation, pillows and beds have been addressed. This is valuable information, and we have used it to ensure that future guests do not experience a similar situation. We hope to see you back in the near future as the Napa Valley Opera House offers wonderful shows throughout the year. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    580
    260
    83
    40
See reviews for
225
708
28
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The hotel itself is older, and kind of dirty even (there were several places in the halls and the elevators where there were literally layers of DIRT). The concierge breakfast was awful - crowded, mediocre food at best, slow cleanup/service, and constantly out of basic items. We had some drinks at the bar, which were terribly overpriced - glasses were dirty and smelled like strong soap - not what you expect in your $24 glass of Cabernet. The bartender didn't help matters, when she was outwardly annoyed that she had to give us clean glasses. The walls in the rooms were PAPER THIN, and so you could hear people snoring next door! The fitness center was also unclean, tiny, and could use a makeover. Overall, we had a great weekend, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone seeking a "resort" feel. It is in line with a basic, mediocre Marriott, but you could probably find a comparably priced alternative with much more character and cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MPuzziferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our beloved hotel. When Chateau Montelena and Stagg's Leap won the blind tasting against the French in 1976, wine connoisseurs and aficionados such as yourself began flocking to the Napa Valley. Our hotel was built to accommodate those adventurers, and to your point our location is prime for anyone looking to explore the Legendary Napa Valley. All of the areas of concern in your review are extremely important to the everyday comfort of our guests and please know that we appreciate you taking the time to give feedback about your stay. Our goal is to be better every day, and this information will help us do that. Have a wonderful Spring in Colorado and cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We just got home from 3 days of celebrating a friend's 50th birthday. We had loads of fun, some incredible wine and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Marriott. We had cocktails outside by the fire pit the first evening after a day of visiting 3 wineries. That was so enjoyable we ended up having dinner outside also. The next night after returning from an incredible evening at a winery, we sat at a long table in the bar area enjoying cocktails as we waited for midnight and the official birthday of our party girl. The acoustics are conducive to great conversations, and the staff is anxious to please their patrons. We all agreed that the hotel was an excellent choice for our weekend of celebrating.

Room Tip: My husband and I always request a view room, preferably with a balcony. We paid the upgrade and wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgal061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBW, Executive Chef / Food & Beverage Director at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Livermore, CA!
Thanks for taking the time to write about your enjoyable experience at VINeleven, our farm-to-table restaurant and bar here in the Napa Valley Marriott. Our outdoor fire pits are a great place to enjoy Napa wines, cocktails and VINeleven's small plate menu as well as at our indoor communal table that you also enjoyed. Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to hosting you in the future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014

What an amazing relaxing hospitality experience. I loved all my meals as well as the amenties the property has to offer. I really liked the outside fire pits and couches. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and very helpful with local winery recommendations. I can't wait to come back soon. This is now my go to hotel in Napa!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Cheers Matthew! Thank you so much for your kind words about our beloved hotel. We love our outdoor lobby as well. The fire pits and couches are ground central for warm Napa Cabernet moments that you can only find in the Napa Valley. Have a wonderful Spring in Missoula and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a girls weekend in Napa. Impressed the hotel let us check in early before heading out to the wineries for the day so we could get the connecting rooms we requested. Enjoyed sitting outside in the courtyard by the fire pits before and after we went out for dinner. Also impressed the front desk took care of calling a cab for us to go to dinner. Enjoyed breakfast at the hotel the next morning. Very convenient location, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and would definitely stay again the next time in Napa.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner M, Front Office Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear KimChappel,

We are delighted to hear that you had such a memorable time with us. We know that girl’s weekends are all about fun and relaxation. The courtyard and fire pits are truly a personal favorite of mine too; it creates such an inviting atmosphere. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburg, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My high school girlfriends like to have a weekend together at least once a year. We stayed here in March. We had a great time! The hotel is very beautiful & clean! The outside area with the fire pits and couches was a perfect place to hang out for the evening! The food at the restaurant was really good! The rooms were very nice too! Loved the beds, they were so comfortable!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scasuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefBW, Executive Chef / Food & Beverage Director at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you, Pittsburg, CA for such a great review of our Napa Valley Marriott and VINeleven, our farm-to-table restaurant. Glad you enjoyed your comfortable rooms and thrilled you found our food and atmosphere so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I had the pleasure and privilege to stay at this charming hotel. From the moment of arrival I knew this was "THE" place to be. What followed was a delightful check-in experience (I am usually a Hilton guy so staying at a Marriott placed me out of my comfort zone) because the staff was delightful. The room was spacious and super clean and I even had a special welcome amenity from the Spa team. If you can get your hands on the Spa Mint Shaving Cream -- never seen anything like it --- MUST HAVE!!!!

The restaurant was terrific and the food ( and of course lots of wine ) was second to none. The GM was always around, greeted everyone and took personal interest in his guests. One special thing to note is the vegetable chef's garden which the property features at the corner of the property line. The chef and his team lovingly care for this garden and incorporate the produce into their culinary offerings.

I left 3 days later a very happy guest, and would be happy to return to this hotel anytime. Don't stay anywhere else when in Napa region. Hats off team Napa, you are the BEST!

Room Tip: My room faced an interior garden close to the pool. It was awesome....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werner M, Front Office Manager at Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Stephan,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We know you have many choices when you visit the area.

We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us. We pride ourselves with our friendliness and passion to serve. You are correct... the mint shaving cream is indeed a must have, it leaves behind such a refreshing feel and scent. If you are in the area anytime soon you should stop by and see our new summer garden transformation, it is quite the experience.

We hope your travels home was safe and enjoyable. We are looking forward to your next visit with us in Napa Valley.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,008 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
1.0 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#26 of 30 in Napa
799 reviews
2.4 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 3425 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Napa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#13 Business Hotel in Napa
#15 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa, perfectly located at the gateway to legendary Napa Valley wine country, is the quintessential location for guests to enjoy an unforgettable getaway. The hotel features newly redesigned accommodations, fresh outdoor garden spaces, a luxurious resort-style swimming pool, and a full-service spa. The courtyard, with warmly lit fire pits and lush landscaping, provides the perfect spot for exciting al fresco events and a relaxing space to unwind. Within the lobby's modern setting is the renowned VINeleven restaurant, featuring contemporary American cuisine. A true garden-to-table experience, the ever-changing menu showcases ingredients plucked from the property's very own Heirloom Garden. Preserve Spa offers the perfect oasis for guests to experience pure tranquility and rejuvenation. Additional amenities include a fitness center, concierge services and more than 27,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel And Spa
Marriott Napa
Napa Marriott
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing