We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Beautiful Historic Hotel with Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Hotel with Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

My husband and I first stayed at the Napa River Inn in 2009 for our wedding in Napa. We came back this year for our anniversary and loved it just as much...if not more, than before. The hotel is in a great location, among not only downtown and riverfront Napa, Oxbow, etc., but also boasts many great attractions within the complex itself.

Sweetie Pies for breakfast or a snack will not disappoint (their pastry case is baffling), the General Store contains many great gifts, the candy shop on premises will not disappoint your sweet tooth; and if those weren't enough, there are two 3 other places to eat all within the complex; from casual to fine dining. Though not tried personally, the hotel also has it's own Spa.

When staying at this hotel, you will be within walking distance of great downtown activities & sites. Staying here will leave you feeling like a king or queen, especially if you book a historic room. The amenities are generous and very good quality. Historic rooms boast claw foot tubs, fireplaces, and two-person showers! The luxuriously appointed beds are very soft and cozy, but I'm only giving four stars because sometimes noise from neighbors or hallways can wake you up (though this is normal for hotels).

If you want to have a memorable time staying in Napa, don't pass this hotel by. Sometimes a killer deal can even be found on Expedia if the rates seem to high. Don't worry, it's totally worth every penny and won't cost you an arm & a leg like many other top quality resorts will.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodTravelerAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    289
    65
    39
    13
See reviews for
114
691
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

What a lovely historic hotel. Staff and management were friendly and attentive. Our fireplace room was very relaxing and cozy. We reserved the dinner package and enjoyed a most wonderful dinner at Rotisserie and Wine (Tyler Florence's restaurant) on the water front. Tyler was there inspecting all of the plates going out to insure excellent quality. Nice touch. We brought wine with us from home and this enhanced our enjoyment. I work in the wine industry in neighboring Sonoma County and will definetely recommend this Hotel to guest looking for a quality Napa experience. Happy New Year!
Loved that they had a stereo for our ipod. That was especially nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geminiwiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We hadn't been to downtown Napa for many years so we were pleasantly surprised to see how nice it is now. Many of the old buildings have been renovated and have become interesting shops and restaurants. The Napa River Inn is in the historic Hatt building. It's been beautifully updated while retaining the original charm and character. The front desk staff were very professional and accommodating. I asked if it would be possible to get a quiet room and the next thing we knew we were upgraded to a quiet, spacious room in the adjacent building (the Embarcadero building). The room had a river view and a fireplace and was very comfortable. Breakfast was provided by Sweetie Pie bakery downstairs...great scones, muffins etc. The inn gave us discount cards for several wineries in the valley so we tried a couple. We also took some nice hikes in Alston Park and Westhills Park. Dinner at Wine & Rotisserie was delicious. All in all a wonderful getaway. We'll definitely be back and highly recommend the Napa River Inn.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary32849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We spent my wife's birthday at this beautiful riverside hotel and enjoyed it greatly. Downtown Napa is coming alive!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 04ADuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed at the Napa River Inn overnight for our company Holiday Party. Dinner at Celedon was fabulous and our party went off really nicely. But, oh my, what a lovely stay at the Napa River Inn!

Everything offered at the Napa River Inn from the greeting at the reception desk to the room service was first class. This is a well appointed, nicely decorated and unfussy hotel that I certainly recommend. We really enjoyed the river view and the fireplace and hearing the Wine Country Train go by was charming.

Next time you visit the wine country don't forget to go downtown for a little shopping. The Oxbow Market on First is a delight. And of course, you really must stay at the Napa River Inn.

Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 4annielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

we loved this quaint hotel. beatiful views, and great location in the town of napa. can walk to restaruants and shops. our room came with a free wine tasting at a great restaurant down the street.

best breakfast ever. delivered right to your room. egg sandwich, drink, and pastry. yum!

we got the girls gone wine package which retails at $100 per person and includes an all day wine tasting tour with platypus tours. picks you up right at the hotel.
(only worthwile money wise if you stay only 2 nights)

Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JAZ4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

You definitelty are paying for the great location and feel of the riverfront. It was loud. We were on the 2nd floor and could hear every footstep of people above us. Try to get on the third floor. The train will wake you up every morning, and the fountain in the courtyard sounded like water running through out walls - but was easy to sleep thouhg since - for us- it was a peacefull sound. We were only there for a very short stay - so it was fine for us.
Loved Silo's!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#5 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing