We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The manager at the Inn was VERY accomodating and made our experience perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Owego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The manager at the Inn was VERY accomodating and made our experience perfect.”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Upon our arrival to the Inn we were initially quite disappointed in the location of our room. We had just spent 2 days in SanFrancisco, in the rain in a room with no view. Our first room at the Inn was very nice, but a fig tree blocked our view of anything and made the room quite dark...not what we were looking for. They upgraded us to an bright sumy room with a view and a fireplace...just what we wanted. Keurig coffee maker in the room was perfect and delivery of breakfast fro Sweety Pies was perfect...the delivery fellow was quite pleasant. Location was great. A short walk to everything. Celedon was a perfect place to dine and just outside our door. We had a very pleasant stay and would advise staying here for the experience AND the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    320
    75
    40
    15
See reviews for
139
774
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

After leaving the hustle and bustle of San Francisco behind the Napa Mill was a welcome rest stop. Location is just right, a little out of town bit close enough to look around. We booked the wine train and the hotel offered complemtary transfers What service! The room was large with a fantastic bed ( we wanted to take it home) good coffee maker with good coffee to boot. Little touches like robes chocolates and turn down service and a lovely breakfast served to your door at a time you request. Simply has to be a jewel in Napa!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonbon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Just spent 5 days here. This is a nice, well run hotel in an excellent location. The restaurants near it are a definite plus (from the General Store cafe to upscale Morimoto's) and the downtown will be even better when other restaurants, clubs and tasting rooms are finished. Staff is nice, breakfast brought to your room from Sweetie Pie's is very good. Celadon (their premier restaurant) is excellent.
My quibble is with the Plaza rooms. While they are in a new building, there are a few oddities that need to be addressed, e.g. only one mirror in the room; only a clothes rack in the bathroom (i.e. no closet); no in-room safe which requires you to carry purses, wallets more than you would like. While patios/balconies off the rooms are nice, but can be noisy with traffic and construction across the river. The rooms are very clean, though.
Recommend Carpe Diem (tasting room/restaurant)...a cool place and only a couple of blocks away. Avoid the new Fish Story restaurant until they shake out the service kinks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Napa River Inn is a beautiful place to stay and is conveniently located within walking distance of most everything. The breakfast from Sweetie Pies was wonderful and the General Store restaurant was delicious!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimioftwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The Napa R iver Inn is a delightful hotel and a wonderful place to stay in Napa, California. The beds are luxurious and comfortable, rooms are lovely and carefully decorated. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely stay there again on our return to Napa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcollier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I stayed in the Hatt Suite in the historic part of the hotel, and loved it. The decor is really cool, and I would recommend it. Hardwood floors (with rugs), 20 foot ceiling, separate seating area with fireplace and original brick walls. And a claw foot tub. I felt like I had stepped back into the 19th century, but with plenty of modern conveniences: Keurig coffee-maker, flat screen t.v., nice bathroom. I received breakfast at my door at the time I selected, and it was wonderful. Great location. Only negative was the A/C did not work very well, and the staff never got it fixed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathystacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Great Hotel! Excellent service and ideal location. We had breakfast served to us every morning and it was delicious (included with our stay). The room was huge, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. There are two restaurants within walking distance...we chose to go to Celadon and it was delicious. The grounds were beautiful and we had a nice walk after dinner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
2,007 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,055 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing