We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect R&R”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southern Oregon Coast
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect R&R”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I needed a little rest and relaxation after a stressful few months and this filled the bill. The Spa Me package was a great deal; I spent two nights and had an incredible therapeutic massage. The staff was excellent and the room cozy. Nice touches such as complementary bottled water, half and half in the fridge, and free wifi. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bolinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    321
    75
    40
    15
See reviews for
139
776
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My girlfriends and I recently stayed at the Napa River Inn for my birthday celebration. I selected the Inn based on website reviews and was pleasantly surprised when it exceeded my expectations. It is a charming property that is extremely well maintained. We were there for 3 days and the staff was professional, courteous and extremely friendly. They gave us great recommendations for birthday excursions and were very tolerant of our "over the top" enthusiasm for my "Fab 40th"! Sarah and Paul were SUPERSTARS!!! The daily breakfast was delicious. We planned to do lots of celebrating so we did not rent a car. The location was perfect for walks to Oxbow market, surrounding restaurants (Zuzu's rocks) and leisurely strolls. We are already planning to return to the Inn for future girlfriends trips. Staying at the Napa River Inn made my birthday trip one of the best birthdays ever!!

Room Tip: The rooms that face the River were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbf504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Plaza room 306 and really enjoyed our time here. The room was very nicely decorated with a fireplace. There were mirrors above the fireplace with lights designed to look like candles on sconces. The headboard was depressed into the wall with lights on both sides. What made this room so romantic was the lighting! All the lights were on dimmers so we had the firelight and the lights dimmed low for excellent mood lighting. The room also has a balcony overlooking the river and a 2nd window with a different view of the river. The robes provided were wonderful -- thick and absorbent. And a BIG plus was the breakfast the next morning. You fill out your card with your food/beverage choice and it is delivered to your room from the bakery cafe downstairs. It was very delicious and far better than the normal room service breakfast. The other big plus is the location. It is on the river but located in the heart of downtown Napa with SO many restaurants and shops within walking distance. And the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We'll definitely stay here again.

The only negative I would give (which is why I rated a 4 instead of 5), is the bed was too soft. It was OK for one night, but I'm used to a firm bed. We didn't stay long enough to try out the spa, but we could see a few rooms set off of the parking lot that was used for spa treatments.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our second time at this Inn. Its a wonderful place to be while in Napa. Beautiful clean comfortable room, fantastic location, excellent staff...what more can you ask!!!!
We loved walking through the old town and along the river front. Many restaurants to choose from...breakfast in your room is included in the rate. We felt special when the Inn recognized that we were returning guests....bottle of local wine was delivered to our room!

Room Tip: ask for river front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Judith,

We are always honored when our guests return. We are happy to see you back and glad you liked the wine.

The breakfast in bed option is pretty tempting on these cooler winter mornings. You can stay in your room munching croissants in your robe while the light gray fog burns off over the river.

I see you said our staff was excellent! I am gratified to hear you were well taken care. Thanks for taking the time to review us, we always appreciate the feedback.

Warm Regards,
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The hotel was a great bang for the buck. $179 a night in the off season. Large clean rooms, with free room service breakfast everyday, + the newspaper. Extremely friendly staff and located right in the heart of downtown Napa. A short walk to all the shops and restaurants.

Cons: lighting in the rooms was very dim. Showers were small.

Green Features: They had electric car chargers outside. Very clean with a great staff
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Scott,

You can definitely find some good overnight rates during off-season. Our complimentary amenities never change, however. You will always have a great breakfast included, free wi-fi, newspaper, lots of parking, and a glass of wine during check-in.

I noticed you mentioned the dim lighting in your room. Some rooms were less illuminated than others, and we have been working on this.

Miami is a bit of a jaunt, but next time you make it out to Napa, we would love to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very nice but not Outstanding... I would try some of the other smaller places ie: BB's, etc before returning back. Service was avg, Rooms were avg even tho I ask for a suite. Location was a plus, above avg

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpetrillo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Cpetrillo1,

I am glad you found Napa River Inn to be very nice, with an above average location. The historic plaza is in the heart of downtown Napa.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not get what you wanted when it came to room selection. Sometimes when we are busy, of course, we are limited on availability. But, based on your review, I am wondering if something went awry with your reservation.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to determine what happened with the room choice. Our team is dedicated to creating the highest level of customer satisfaction, and would love to win your business every time you come to Napa.

Warmest Regards,
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The location and ambiance of this place was wonderful! We stayed here for our 1st anniversary and had breakfast delivered from a downstairs bakery...food and service top notch! We could walk and see everything (town shuts down early so do all your browsing before 6). We had dinner at a cute little Italian restaurant down the street and there was never a need to rent a car. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Jennifer,

Happy first anniversary. We are honored you chose the Napa River Inn to celebrate this happy occasion.

Napa is a great walking town, perfect for holding hands and strolling along the river or wine tasting boutiques. You are right, with old agricultural roots, we do tend to get to bed a little early. Things are starting to change though and nightlife is showing up.

Hopefully when you come and celebrate your next anniversary, you can try a show at Silo's or one of the other great downtown venues.

Warm Regards,
Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,057 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#5 of 6 in Yountville
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing