We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel within walking distance of lots of restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked a Superior room, which had a view of the river from a small balcony. For those who complain about looking at the road, yes, there is a road across the river, but you're in the middle of town, any hotel you book will have roads out the window! At least here you have gorgeous gardens and the river to look at first and dozens of good restaurants within walking distance. The bed and linens were very nice and everything was very clean. The only negative was that our room wasn't turned until late afternoon, which meant on two days we came back from sightseeing, hoping to cool down and shower before going out to dinner and then had to wait, and in one case ask the bellman to ask housekeeping to please come turn our room (it was 3:45). Breakfast from Sweetie Pies is excellent and we loved sitting on our balcony having breakfast; one morning a dozen hot air balloons went by! Picture perfect Napa! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 1,344 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

The rooms were very comfortable and had a charming character. We like to stay in local, charming inns that represent the area and this hit the mark. Very amble breakfast (which you order from choices offered) delivered to your room at requested time each morning which was included in room rate. It's location is wonderful as well. A must stay in Napa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We did the "I left my car in San Francisco" package and although the train was very good, the highlight was the stay at the inn. Everything at the inn was perfect. Location, view, service, and the breakfast from Sweetie Pies were great. Probably could leave off the wine train and just spend more time in Napa Valley and at this historic hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a great hotel, location was excellent as it is walking distance to everything downtown. Love that its on the river and that it has the jazz bar along angeles right there. Staff very friendly, rooms GREAT, clean and love the patio we had. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We loved this hotel! Very quaint, great location and a good value compared to other hotels in the area. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and very spacious. It had a balcony overlooking the river. The hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and shopping. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I surprised my husband with a weekend here for his 30th birthday and let me say it was amazing! First time in Napa, we lived this hotel. It was withing walking distance of downtown and many wine shops. Made it very easy to just walk back after a night of wine tasting and dancing! You need to go!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blanca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The only hotel to stay in Napa is the "Napa River Inn". We chose the balcony room with a view, and fireplace. The decor, comfort and location to every activity was perfect....it exceeded all our expectations and we will return for a longer stay.
The staff was professional, warm and attended to all our needs. I implore you to stay and enjoy a completely wonderful time in Napa.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,083 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
19.6 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $247 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing