We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great place to stay for a romantic few days in Napa! The location is conveniently located right in quaint downtown Napa, within walking distance to many wonderful restaurants. The rooms are beautiful and luxurious - our had a fireplace and a nice little balcony overlooking the river. The bed and pillows were super comfortable. The service was first rate; check-in was efficient and the concierge was very helpful in making winery suggestions and reservations for us. The breakfast was wonderful - you can choose from 4 different entrees, write your choices on a card that you hang on your door the evening before and voila...your breakfast is delivered at your chosen time the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizab2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and writing this nice review! I'm glad to hear you found your accommodations and our property luxurious. We hope to see you back again soon.

Sara Brooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here after a last minute decision one night and were not disappointed. The rooms were beautifully decorated and we were lucky enough to get a room with a balcony and fireplace. Everything was very clean and the bed was extremly comfortable. The hotel is located near some really nice restaurants including the Pear where we had dinner. The staff were very accomodating and suggested some good places for us to go wine tasting nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing us on your last minute getaway! We love our new addition of The Pear Southern Bistro along the Riverfront. We're lucky to have so many amazing restaurants right here! Hopefully you'll get to try somewhere new on your next visit.

Sara Brooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Of our 3 weeks of travel for our honeymoon, this hotel was what really made our honeymoon experience. When we arrived Armando treated us like family members, we are still talking about him and how nice he was.
The rooms are beautiful, the view is nice, and location is amazing, everybody in town seems to gather there on the weekends. Baths are very nice and I found the beds to be the best.
We had a nice balcony, it was all very romantic.
Lots of restaurants and shops nearby, and do not miss their breakfast in bed, it was delicious and freshly baked.
All the staff was amazing but Kudos to Armando. Both my wife and myself are in the tourism industry and this place and the staff are way above many others with similar ratings.

Room Tip: River view rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompougnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armando O, Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Felicidades once again, and thank you for posting such a glowing review! We are delighted to hear that your visit was the ideal Honeymoon. It's especially an honor coming from Cabo San Lucas, MX. We greatly appreciate the comments regarding our service, and if it wasnt for the staff that we have we wouldn't be able to do any of this. Truly all of the credit goes to them.

Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you back on one of your future wedding anniversary celebrations.

Best Wishes!

Armando Ortiz
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made a last minute decision to visit the Napa Valley over the long 4th of July weekend. We booked the Napa River Inn via Hotel Tonight literally as we were driving down I-5. We were very pleased with our choice. As soon as we drove up to the hotel we were met by two bellmen who took our bags into this charming hotel. We did have to wait about 15 minutes for our room to be ready, but we took that opportunity to take a walk around the area. There are tons of restaurants within walking distance. We were then shown to our room which was large and comfortable. We enjoyed the bath with a slipper tub and separate walk in shower with two shower heads. My two small quibbles were that our room had a very small window, and was therefore rather dark, even when all the lights were on, and that when you book with Hotel Tonight (and maybe other discount sites?) you do not receive the complimentary breakfast that is offered on the hotel's website. You do have the option of paying $8 each for the breakfast, which we did our first morning and it was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for staying with us over 4th of July! I hope you were able to catch some of the fireworks show from our patio. Call us direct next time and we'll be happy to include breakfast and we always offer the best rate you can find anywhere!

Sara Brooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed a few nights at the Napa River Inn for our 40th wedding anniversary. Both rooms (for our daughter and son-in-law and ourselves) were unbelievably beautiful. It felt as if we had stepped back in time yet had the most up to date luxuries possible. Our room was a vintage rouge color with a half canopy king size bed. Two very comfortable chairs with a large round red foot stool sat in front of the fireplace. We were served breakfast each day in front of the fireplace, it was provided by "Sweetie Pie's" which is next door to the hotel and we had the pleasure of being in a room where we could smell everything baking! Breakfast choices included quiche, oatmeal, egg/breakfast meat on choice of bread/croissant, juices and coffee. I loved having a Keurig Coffee/Tea maker in the room. The bathroom was very large with a modern 2 spray faucet double shower and an antique slipper tub! We have been to Napa many times but have never stayed in the same place twice, but now we have found a home! From the beautiful lobby to the period decorated common areas to the beautifully decorated, romantic rooms, why stay anywhere else?

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Happy Anniversary! Wow, 40 years is an amazing thing. We are humbled by your review and so happy that you chose to spend your special day with us. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sara Brooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We found this place online and the other tripadvisor reviews were certainly helpful. We stayed 3 nights recently, and what I loved most about the Inn was the location and staff expertise & efficiency. We stayed in the Embarcadero building with the river view which was really nice. Either building would be a good view in my opinion. We arrived to chocolate covered strawberries and a thoughtful note to celebrate my husband's birthday - Nice touch - without me asking. We had breakfast in Sweetie Pie's every morning - in my opinion, the menu could be expanded but the sticky bun made up for it. OMG - slightly warmed was heavenly. We had drinks at Angele three times - all but one night was great service and good wine recommendations. Liz @ concierge was extremely helpful in making arrangements for the Platypus Wine Tour. She offered many suggestions and variety of tours for us to consider. Front desk and Alex (Bell man) deserve special mention too. We would certainly recommend this Inn and go back if the occasion arose. The location to all the restaurants and shops is ideal. You won't be disappointed if you book here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Hello JB!

I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your husband's birthday trip. I agree about the A.M buns from Sweetie Pies - when Julia Child used to stay with us those were her favorite thing too! One of her breakfast order tickets is still hanging in the bakery. You're in good company!

Sara Brooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We decided on a last minute quick trip to Napa and called the Napa River Inn. They were so friendly and accommodating. Because we were traveling with my two year old son, we were given a large room to set up a pack-and-play. As others have said, the beds are wonderful and the breakfast is a fantastic touch and very good. For the price of the room, I could not recommend a better place in downtown Napa.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank boydnmfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community! We pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and I'm happy we delivered that to you and your family. Sometimes it's tough to travel with infants - it feels like you have to pack the whole house for a weekend getaway! I'm glad we were able to make that a little easier on you.

Sincerely,

Sara Brooks
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,133 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
19.6 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $225 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing