We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Service and Luxury at a Good Price!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Service and Luxury at a Good Price!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Of all of the hotels that we stayed at on our wine country trip, this was by far the nicest. The location is ideal, the towels, robes and linens are luxurious, the service was great, and the rooms are spacious. My only complaint was that one of the complimentary wine tastings that we got was for a local restaurant and the server gave us trouble honoring it, but that's probably more the restaurant's fault and not the hotel. We had a room that faced the river and it had a little balcony with chairs that was semi private due to ivy vines. The breakfast was from a bakery downstairs and they offered the option of bringing it to the room like room service. What a treat! It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony on the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melisweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    303
    68
    40
    14
See reviews for
122
724
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed a couple of nights at the Napa River Inn after a 2-week long roadtrip from Socal, to Oregon, and back. NRI was a stop on our trip back. We traveled with our two small dogs, so we always stay at pet friendly places. Some places say they are pet friendly, only to find that you get the one stinky, smelly room they reserve for visitors with pets. Not the NRI...we got a standard room, complete with small balcony, fireplace and nice amenities. Upon arrival to our room, my husband, our dogs and I all fell asleep for a few hours (we were so tired from the 9 hr drive from Portland). We woke up in time for a late dinner at a local eatery that had a small area with outdoor seating that we could sit with our dogs.

So yes, we get it: Napa is set up for wine tasting and newly weds, not for people who travel with their pets. Since you can't leave the pets in the room unattended (as is the case most places) and cannot take pets to most restaurants, stores and wineries, there was not a whole lot for us to do in Napa. There are a few wineries that have outdoor seating while you taste wine, but you also have to drive to most wineries nearby (and who wants to drink and drive, right?) Napa can also be a bit on the warm side, so dragging the pooches around all day isn't ideal. Having said that, it was important that our room was super-comfy, because we spent the majority of our time resting in the comfy bed. We grabbed food at local shops and stores and brought it back to our room to enjoy along with a bottle of local wine. The complimentary breakfast is ordered the night before, and delivered to your door at the time you specify on the selection card. A sample breakfast included a yummy scone (fresh from the bakery on site), English muffin/egg white sandwich and orange juice. There is a small Keurig-style coffee maker in the guest rooms.

The Napa River Inn provides charming accommodations in a town set up specifically for wine drinking and haute dining. I guess we could have hired a local dog-sitter for the day if we really wanted to take the wine train, or go on a wine tasting tour, but we chose not to do so this time. I really liked staying at the Napa River Inn, and I would definitely stay there again, with or without the dogs.

Tips: NRI offers the "Very Important Pet" program, which includes pet bowls, disposable waste baggies, locally made pet treats and a doggie blanket. You can sign up for this when making your reservations.

The Bounty Hunter BBQ place on the corner of the 1st street bridge is a great place for pulled pork and a beer/local wine. They have a small seating area outside the front of the restaurant; and although it is a very small area, they are very accommodating to those with well-behaved dogs.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank usmotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I'm happy to hear you had a nice time and that you were comfortable with your pet. Thankfully we are finding more and more businesses are becoming pet friendly in Downtown Napa. We now have a whole list of wine tasting rooms and restaurants within walking distance where you can visit with your dog. As always, we do offer pet walking services and we even have dog massage at our spa!

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We spent an amazing 5 days at the Inn as part of a California tour in April and could not find any fault with it- Our room was on the ground floor, but very quiet with its own wisteria covered patio- the location was fantastic- easy access to Restaurants, Tasting rooms, the Oxbow Market,Wine Train and Napa Welcome Center- the Staff were very knowledgable and helpful- specifically Stefanie on Reception who looked after our check in/out and activities during our stay. The breakfast from Sweetie Pies set us up for the day and the Dinner on us package was a great way to try out the restaurants along the newly developed waterfront- Morimotos was superb. Would definitely stay there again as 5 days is not enough to experience all of Napa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves at this historic inn located in the heart of the town of Napa. It is extremely convenient for restaurants and wine tasting. The room was pretty, very clean and comfortable for a romantic getaway. We got the dinner package and received credits for dinners in town that were both very nice. The morning breakfast delivery to the room made it more bed & breakfast"y" and was delivered on time, hot and tasty!

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building have gas fireplaces and overlook town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
453 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Napa River Inn is an excellent base from which to explore
Napa Valley and the surrounding area. Service is low key and the Hotel is charming, comfortable, quiet, and super convenient for walking to numerous Restaurants, Bars, Shopping, Wine Train etc.
Our Room had a nice river view from a petite Wisteria draped patio, luxe layered linens, a pile of lofty pillows, nice toiletries, dorm fridge, fireplace, and an unexpected delivery of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries upon arrival since it was a celebratory weekend.
A very decent Continental or Egg Sammy breakfast is available
as part of the rate from the adjoining bakery too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Challenger007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
228 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a wonderful anniversary stay at this historic hotel. The room was comfortable and relaxing. We enjoyed the complimentary wine tastings at The Bounty Hunter. The location is excellent, right downtown. An easy walk to dinner and a nice stroll back along the river. Our breakfast was delivered hot and fresh from Sweetie Pie's and it hit the spot. It was nice to have breakfast at your door when you wanted it. I would recommend this hotel on your next visit to Napa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyocowgirl94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Thanks to http://www.visitnapavalley.com/ I won a trip to Napa and part of the winning was choosing which hotel I wanted to stay at. I'm so happy I picked the Napa River Inn. At the end of Main St. but still close enough to walk to everything in town, is the historic Napa Mill which houses the Inn. The room was clean and comfortable, the beds fantastic and setting was so peaceful. Birds singing, wisteria climbing up to our balcony and everyone so friendly. The outdoor patio facing the river was beautifully landscaped with palm trees, flowering gardens, an incredible mosaic waterfall and being Arts in April, amazing chalk drawings were found all along the river walk. Close by is Morimoto's restaurant of Iron Chef fame, the Pear, Cole's Chop House, Carpe Diem - a ton of great restaurants. The Inn also gave us discounts to the Bounty Hunter wine bar and restaurant. It was fantastic - especially at happy hour - 4pm to 6pm. Incredible wine list, friendly and great food. But right next to the Inn is the restaurant Celadon - which was one of our favorite dining experiences! Not to mention every morning breakfast was supplied by Sweetie Pies Bakery. You can either have it delivered to your room or just go downstairs to the shop. Staying at the Napa River Inn only added to this great sweepstakes winning full of private wine tastings, massages, Michelin star restaurants and gorgeous weather.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nycscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing