We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown convenience with outstanding guest service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We decided to book the Special which included dinner at one of three restaurants. We had a good dining experience at THE PEAR.. Our room was large and a corner room with a King Bed. The only negative comment is that The online info stated the Standard room would have a courtyard or library view but this wasn't quite true.. We had a view( if we so desired to open the curtains,) of the PARKING LOT. We did not complain though as the room was very nice and breakfast delivered was a plus. They go out of their way to make you comfortable and the value for Napa area was good as it's a very expensive area. We especially enjoyed walking around downtown and to the restaurant. They also gave us choc. covered strawberries as a B-Day gift to my husband.
How can you improve this facility? Put in an indoor jacuzzi and heated swimming pool. There are few indoor pools in the Napa Sonoma area and this is what we generally look for in hotels as we like to travel frequently and the fitness center and pool are what we look for when hotel shopping.
We will be back as we had a great experience and would stay longer next time.The staff makes you feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Go off season to keep your costs down but do Go as it's a nice experience.. And Parking is free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mendo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Napa River Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We called in advance and they arranged a wine tour for us as well as made dinner reservations. The hotel has free bikes for rent that you can use to ride along the beautiful Napa River trail. The scenery is stunning. Parking was a breeze. Room had a great balcony and fireplace. Highly recommend, mostly because of the incredible customer service and great location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clj2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed there one night with my boyfriend, after one day in sonoma/napa valley. The room was perfect to rest : it was clean, warm, nicely decorated and everything was comfortable.
We took an executive room and asked for a balcony, in order to have a view on the river. The view was disappointing though : the river is quite industrial and not as wild as we thought it would be.
The bad points were the price (really expensive) and the breakfast that was not so good. But hopefully they offered a room delivery and we were able to eat on the balcony, enjoying a beautiful weather!

Room Tip: Executive rooms with a balcony + fireplace are quite romantic and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s_bofrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Location, rooms and view arevunmatched. Add Sweetie Pie's breakfast delivered to your room, included with your room and there is no place better to stay. I have stayed here on 8 or more occasions. Always excellent. Skip the restaraunt Angele for Oenotri, Coles, Celadon, Bounty Hunter, The Pear, Pearl, Uva or Yountville.

Room Tip: Plaza building rooms overlook the garden or the river, either is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived early and ask about checking our bags. No problems. They checked our bags. When asked about a ride to the Wine Train, no problem. When we arrived back from the Wine Train, we had already been assigned a room and our bags delivered to the room. We were given a breakfast menu and told we could have delivered to the room or we could go to the Sweet Shop for breakfast. We enjoyed that the hotel was close to downtown and to a Starbucks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

If you are going to Napa I can imagine that this is the perfect spot. We started our trip in Sonoma and fell in love so when getting to Napa we were comparing a lot of things. That being said while I would prefer Sonoma to Napa if I'm in Napa this is where I'm staying. Great location and beautiful hotel! Loved that breakfast was delivered to your room every morning as part of the cost of your stay. Bathrooms were huge with lovely products...I always love this (it's the little things) Beds were very comfortable. I debated getting a room with a view of the water and ended up not getting one. If I had it to do again I would probably spend the extra money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psushan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

What a wonderful experience. It is located at the southern end of the wine trail where it borders the Carneros area. Wonderful restaurants on the grounds, great area to walk, delicious breakfast delivered to your door, pet friendly, treat is served with the owner's breakfast. Lots of history, friendly, knowledgeable staff. I can't say enough. Located in Napa - need I say more? One of my favorite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river in the older section
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara Brooks G M, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

What a humbling review you've written. We try hard to make sure our special sense of place is felt by all visitors. I am so happy to hear you felt that during your stay. Come back and see us soon.

Sara Brooks
Napa River Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 29 in Napa
2,148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $279 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing