We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location- charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Location- charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Napa River Inn. I found a great deal on the room and dinner through travel zoo, so we decided to try it. I am not sorry we did. The rooms are spacious and clean with a charming inn like feel. The free breakfast is great and you can have it in your room or at the onsite bakery. They have full sized toiletries that are wonderful in the bathroom and the towels are huge. They also have robes you can use.

I read a lot of reviews that mentioned that it was loud, and I can see their point, it's an old converted mill, so it doesn't have modern sound proofing. If you are bothered by hearing your neighbors walk around, you probably want to stay somewhere else (we were not at all bothered). The only other criticism I have is that the water pressure was not great, but it's an old place to that is to be expected.

The location is also wonderful, walking distance to all the wonderful restaurants in Napa, and there are a lot of them. It is also not far from the wine train and the oxbow market.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Plaza building are large and clean. We stayed in P225 and it was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    311
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
132
754
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked an executive room with balcony from their website adding "dinner is on us package". We arrived in the evening, just in time to catch up with our reservation at Morimoto, one of the partener restaurants - what a fine dinner that was.
Otherwise, it was just one night stay, but everything was fine - kind and helpful front desk employee, nice surroundings around the old mill and on the river promenade, spacious room with balcony (as I aked in my booking), high quality bathroom cosmetics, free and good working wi-fi. Even the complimentary breakfast in your room (you have to choose a selection before midnight) was of good quality and rather fulfilling. Unfortunately, we checked out pretty early from this lovely place in order to catch up our reservation at Napa River Wine Train for a gourmet lunch, which is, by my opinion, the highlight of a Napa visit. Of course, we're not too much into wine.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogdan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The location was perfect. You can walk to many restaurants, some are right in the complex. The food was wonderful. They delivered breakfast in bed from sweetie pies every morning. We had a fireplace in our room. I just felt so spoiled for such a reasonable price! The concierge took care of ordering our limo wine tour, and gave us a lot of two for one tour and tasting coupons. The bed was so comfortable, we could have stayed forever. Usually within a week we want our own bed at home, but not this time! We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: The room we had on the end had a beautiful fireplace, but the street on the west side was a little n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyAF50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The room was very clean and we had great views. Located in downtown Napa close to many shops and restaurants. Everything was walking distance. Our puppy Shasta was treated just as well as we were, they had treats for her, doggy dishes and a blanket. The staff was very friendly and we will definitely stay at the Napa River Inn when we go back for some wine tasting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mopete32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
398 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The location of the inn is outstanding for enjoying the amenities of downtown Napa - bars, outstanding restaurants, boutiques, Oxbow Market, the Opera House, the county offices, and courthouse (including jail) and library next door. You can walk to everything!

Our reservation was efficiently taken care of and we took advantage of the "Dine on us Offer" which included a $100 gift certificate to a selection of nearby restaurants. The interior of our executive room was cheery, had a desk/chair, and featured a comfortable bed and a gas fireplace. The bathroom vanity was tiny and there was no full length mirror for dressing. The complimentary breakfast at Sweetie Pies is small, but adequate and very good.

We stayed in the Embarcadero Building - many rooms here face the parking lot. We did book a river view, but room 217 and 218 have big issues. They are across from the stairwell door everyone uses to come and go - so that door bangs all day and night. Rooms 217, 218, 219 share their river view and the second floor patio with everyone in the building, so in room 218 one gets the banging of the exterior door at all hours next to their headboard. There were smokers out there at 2 am and 5 am. The patio includes chairs and tables next to your window, so there is never any peace from people talking or moving chairs about. I'd highly recommend spending the extra money for the Historic building, or - book a most affordable room, forget about the view and book a quieter room.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Everything you would want in a hotel. Perfect location. You can walk to all of downtown Napa which is a big plus. We had an executive room with balcony overlooking the river which was wonderful. The room was big, clean, nice bathroom amenities, friendly staff. Breakfast every morning brought to the room and a wine tasting. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
344 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

First of all, this inn is in a great location. It is right in the heart of Napa (the town not the county) and right on the river. The area is loaded with nice restaurants and shops. Parking is free and you could easily spend a day wine tasting in the valley and drive back here for the night and dinner. Angele restaurant is in the inn complex and their food is great, so everything you need is right there. There is also a very nice pastry shop.

My room was large; the bed comfortable. But there were some nagging things that kept me from giving this five stars. First, the room was very dark; no sunlight and dark even with the lights on. Second, the card key slot for he front door did not work half the time. I even changed keys. There is a back entrance and it was easy to walk around there, but it was a bit of an annoyance. Finally, the electrical outlet under the desk did not work, which was an annoyance given the dark room. Fortunately, my computer cord reached to the socket adjacent to the sink.

Everyone was very nice and the place was clean. A clear 4 star inn. BTW, the internet was free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marfak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing