We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Charming Historic Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming Historic Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This historic hotel is very cozy and warm. My husband and I were on a short vacation to visit friends and enjoy some boutique Napa wineries. The Napa River Inn was the ideal place to stay. The room was lovely, the bed was very comfortable and we loved the fireplace in the room. The staff went out of their way to ensure our satisfaction. Breakfast was delivered to our room right on time. Restaurants and shopping in downtown Napa are within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    289
    65
    39
    13
See reviews for
114
691
28
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a delightful place to stay in the Napa Valley. The location could not be better. So close to great dining and shops. The staff could not have been more accommodating. We were a group of ladies on a short getaway to play our favorite game of Maj Jongg (Chinese tile game) and to enjoy all that Napa has to offer. The inn went out of their way to make sure we had a great location to play our games within the property. The rooms are lovely and the property is well maintained. We had a fantastic time and hope to return there soon.

Room Tip: The larger rooms are currently being renovated. Some of them are adjoining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I took my first-ever trip to Napa with my 16-year-old daughter. Unlike most people, we were not there for the wine but to get my daughter settled at a local semester school. The Napa River Inn was one of several hotels and inns recommended by the school, and we got a slightly reduced rate thanks to the school. Along with the hotel, the former mill on the Napa River houses a couple of restaurants, a terrific bakery, and a "general store". Our room was in a separate building, the Embarcadero, across the parking lot from the main part of the hotel. The room was clean, spacious, had good climate control, and a nice bathroom with a tub and separate shower. Instead of small bottles of bath amenities, the hotel places standard-sized bottles of local organic shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in the shower, and lotion and a small bar of soap on the vanity counter (all available for purchase in the hotel gift shop).

Along with the password for the free WiFi, at check-in we received several tickets for a free wine tasting at a local wine bar and menus to fill out for our free room service breakfasts, provided by the bakery on the premises. We were pleasantly surprised by the generosity of the sizes of the pastries and especially by the oatcakes, which are not the typical small thin disk but two-inch-thick triangles of densely packed grains and seeds, sweetened for a nice flavor. The house-made granola was also impressive and delicious, as was the cinnamon roll.

The people in reception were incredibly nice and helpful, and the Inn's free local shuttle service was indispensable. The driver of the shuttle (who also delivered our breakfast) was super friendly and definitely added to the positive experience.

This is not a full-service hotel - there is no swimming pool, no fitness room, no room service apart from breakfast - but is a small, friendly, attractive, and well-maintained hotel surrounded by good restaurants and within easy walking distance of even more. The rates are well within the reasonable range and make it affordable to stay for several nights. Other pluses: evening turn-down service with chocolates and a filled ice bucket, boarding pass printing service, small refrigerator in the spacious closet, walkway along the river offering nice views of both the river and the impressive restorations/new buildings on the waterfront.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cressey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The inn is centrally located. You can walk to many restaurants and shops. Staff is friendly,and concierge was very helpful! Had a room on the new building facing the parking lot. Large comfortable room, but could hear conversation in the parking lot as well as in adjoining rooms. Breakfast arrived promptly and was nicely presented in a basket, although we are not crazy about breakfast in bed and wished we had had an option of breakfast in a regular dinning room. Overall,satisfactory if only spending one or two nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margawil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a quick get a way without kids and it was really wonderful. We stayed in the Embarcadero building which is nice. They had a special gift card deal with the local restaurant Fish Story which was amazingly great. All in all; great hotel, free breakfast in the AM delivered to your room. Classy service; actual full size towels, fireplace and right on the river. Lost of strolling to do in the immediate neighborhood as well. I recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chloemom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during a getaway before our baby arrives. We had the most amazing stay! When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that breakfast in bed was included in our stay from a local bakery. Breakfast on the two mornings we were there was wonderful and such a nice way to start the day. We also ate at the French restaurant next door and really enjoyed our food there. The hotel was very quiet, although it was in the middle of a plaza with several shops and restaurants. We were able to walk to all of the restaurants and coffee shops downtown, which was nice because we stayed at the hotel over New Years. I would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckyjo606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review and congratulations on the new baby. We love hosting couples that are 'babymooning'!

Come back and see us soon!

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We love the Napa River Inn and have stayed here often. The breakfast from Sweetie Pie's is delivered to your room at a time you select and it is always delicious. The Embarcadero rooms are roomier than rooms in the main building (at least the ones we've had in both buildings) but all are nice. The location can't be beaten. You can walk just about anywhere in downtown Napa, very easy access to all the shops and great restaurants, including Angeles's which is right next door and is one of our favorites.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CulinaryKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,635 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#2 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing