We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Hotel, Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at the Napa River Inn with my parents in November 2012, right after Thanksgiving. The hotel is lovely - in a great location right by the river and a quick stroll to downtown Napa, with lots of restaurants and boutiques to walk to. We had great fun exploring the area.
The rooms at the hotel were excellent; the front desk was kind enough to upgrade my parents and I to Superior rooms, which had a balcony and a fireplace. The gas fireplace worked beautifully and was very welcome on chilly nights and it was pleasant to hang out on the balcony drinking coffee.
The building has stayed true to its historic roots and has a beautiful view from the bar.
All in all, a very nice place to stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunclytie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    806
    303
    69
    40
    14
See reviews for
122
726
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The service was excellent--the staff did everything from give us extra water for our bike ride to ship our wine home at the end of the trip. The location is also a great launch spot for just about anything you'd want to do in Napa, and the only time we needed a car was for the wine tour. An easy walk to downtown Napa and the Oxbow Public Market.

On the flip side, the rooms were very dated and the shower wasn't great. Our room was close to the side door, elevator and ice machine, so it was always pretty loud, but interior rooms probably wouldn't be.

Free bikes and free parking were a major plus.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor, far away from an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NapaRiverInn, General Manager at Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the great review! We love when our staff is recognized with such kind words.

Our interior room renovation is currently underway and will fully completed within the next few months. I hope you'll come back and see all of teh great improvements we've made.

Sara Brooks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Napa River Inn is well appointed and well located, overlooking the Napa River. The service was excellent, and this was a perfect place to spend a few days away from it all. It's in the downtown Napa area, and you can walk to good restaurants and shops, including the Marketplace on 1st St. Parking is included, free wifi, breakfast is included, along with a wine tasting nearby. Our room was lovely, a comfortable bed, excellent amenities, and turn-down service. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Prompted by a Living Social voucher (great deal), we changed our NoCal itinerary to stay here for 2 nights. This was our first time staying in Downtown Napa, and we loved being able to walk to restaurants, bars, shops, etc. The property itself is lovely, although we were in the out-building (I forgot the name) which was also very nice. Our room had a fireplace, river view, and shared balcony; comfortable bedding and overall just very cozy. The staff was professional and friendly, and the breakfasts were pretty good - and substantial, which was really important before a day of wine!

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YankyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This was our first overnight stay in napa for my husband and I. It was a great experience staying here. It felt like a bed and breakfast private and relaxing. The lobby was beautiful staff was so helpful parking is free and easy and the location of the hotel is perfect and easy to find. Our room had a fireplace balcony and nice amenities such as organic shampoos conditioners and lotion free waters and free hot breakfast and pastries for 2 with free room service delivery! Good value for what we received! The sweetie pie bakery is great and there are also little shops to visit with chocolate frozen yogurt and a gift shop! Walking distance to downtown napa with a choice of great selections of places to eat and shop. Also right around the corner from the napa valley wine train depot! What more can u ask for? Stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salina97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our second trip to Napa and Napa River Inn. It is a quaint hotel in a great location. The rooms have tons of charm. We just moved to San Jose so it makes it a great getaway for the family... We had dinner on the wine train for Thanksgiving and they provided a shuttle to and from even though it was walking distance. Great accommodations and location. Definitely a must... Stephanie Killingsworth happened to help us both times and she was amazing...

Room Tip: If you do not need 2 beds, stay in a room with a fireplace. Feels like a real bed and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was the second stop in our CA Trip. The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is very convenient to all the resturants and shopping. The room was charming with fireplace and nice view of the riverwalk. Great little bakery next door. Very friendly people in Napa, made us feel like faimly. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cengland05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#5 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing