We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodinville, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Drove to Napa as a stopover on the way to SF for a family Thanksgiving.
Took a chance (no reservations). This place looked cute, and on the trendy Riverwalk. We were pleasantly surprised that they offered a $229 room for $179 and included parking and breakfast.
room has a brick wal, fireplace,a d ohhhh so comfy bed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniecurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    318
    74
    40
    15
See reviews for
137
772
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We recently stated at the Napa River Inn. We hadn't been up in Napa for years, and the whole riverfront area has been transformed and renewed. The Napa River Inn is an anchor to the new development. It is a great re-use of the historic buildings along the river walk.

The property is attractive and well-kept. Our room was large, and tastefully decorated with traditional and "high end" furniture and finishes. The room had a river view, fireplace, and balcony. Common areas of the property were also very nice. Staff was professional, friendly and helpful.

Napa is full of gourmet delights, and there are several restaurants associated with or close to the hotel. Our hotel package came with a surprisingly good daily breakfast at the bakery and they were very flexible in meeting my dietary needs. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the famous (and awesome!) Oxbow Market, excellent local coffee, bars and clubs with music at night (including a good jazz club right at the hotel), downtown shopping and other amenities.

We had a very enjoyable stay, and recommend this hotel to others who are seeking a romantic and relaxing "foodie" weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room directly facing the river and a bit away from the outdoor seating at the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

After asking for a room change (we were in Plaza - the room was cold and very dated, did not seem worth the cost of the room, had an adjoining door and it seemed the walls were very thin) we were moved to the Embarcadaro building. We are so glad we asked, the room was cozy and comfortable and had a fireplace, just what we expected when booking this get-away. Great breakfast from Sweetie Pies. The morning buns were to die for.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Plaza Building. You will feel like it is a Motel 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoLoGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Napa River Inn is amazing! Our check-in experience was smooth; front desk staff was knowledgable about the town and sights for us to see. Extremely accomodating in all ways. Breakfast delivery to the room was wonderful! Beautifully landscaped, awesome courtyard to relax in. Everything was clean and well taken care of! If I ever get the chance to visit Napa again, Napa River Inn is where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emigsville, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had the opportunity to visit Napa, a beautiful small town set in the Napa Valley's beautiful wine country. I was very fortunate to be able to stay at the Napa River Inn. This hotel is really beautiful. The outside is in an old agricultural center that has been converted into a group of chic businesses and restuarants. I loved the room and which overlooked the Napa River and a beautiful courtyard. The entire town is like something from a magazine and this hotel is right in the middle of everything. If youre heading to Napa, book this hotel for a great stay.

Room Tip: I think they are all great and I hear some are even haunted!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsf423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Tammi Mazziliano was the "go-to-gal" for coordinating a fairly extensive list of itinerary items for a group stay. Restaurant reservations, winery tours transportation and various guest requests were handled in a personable and professional manner. She did some productive negotiations with Beau Wine Tours that resulted in great transportation for the entire visit. We "shopped" several properties before selecting "NRI" for our reunion. Prices in Napa were fairly comparable, but the ambiance of the "NRI" rooms and surroundings made the choice an easy one. Each and every staff member, over a five-day visit, repeatedly showed our group great hospitality and extra effort to attend to any request. From this experience, I'd say if someone can't be happy here, they're unlikely to be pleased anywhere else either. This is the perfect base of operations to spend time exploring wine country. Thanks "NRI" for making a 45-year reunion a most fulfilling one.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms in the Embarcadero building... quiet and really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jefftheskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Laurie Gordon, the chef concierge and member of les clefs d'or, made our stay at the NRI a dream come true. We have never had such attentive assistance in booking a holiday. She made us feel like VIPs but at the same time like friends. The hotel was spotless, beds were the best we've seen, and the NRI is part of a complex that includes a fresh pastries shop, a homemade candy shop, a jazz wine bar, a general store (including a restaurant) and a wonderful French restaurant...the NRI is in downtown Napa, so walking to wine bars for tastings is very convenient (and Laurie helped out with free vouchers. The setting on the river is beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorealCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,994 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
1,048 reviews
16.5 mi away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing