We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A BIG disappointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A BIG disappointment!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My mother and I were having a big celebratory trip to San Francisco and Napa in October, we decided to book the Napa River Inn as a bit of a treat for the last weekend after reading the reviews below and the website where the hotel is described as a premier luxury hotel. This was certainly not the case! To list but a few of the problems and awful service we received:

- We arrived to find that despite requesting a room with 2 double beds (and choosing this hotel largely because this was an option), all such rooms had already been assigned and all they could offer us was a camp bed.
- the camp bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on and gave me back pain (at the age of 25!)
- The original room was so small that once the camp bed had been set up you had to climb over both beds to get to the door.
- the second room we were given looked out on the car park. We we were woken up early each morning and through the night by cars, music from a wine bar nearby and people chatting as the windows were not double glazed.
- we could hear every movement in the room above.
- all the TV provided was pay TV as the free TV service was up available the whole weekend we stay. We expected to at least be able to get the news.
- the heating system did not work.
- and finally just to finish this epic stay off, we came home on the Saturday night to a strong smell of rotten eggs in the hallway and rooms, and we were informed by the receptionist that someone had probably set off a stink bomb in the building. A perfect end to our stay.

All in all we loved napa but for £250 a night this was over priced for a hotel which was more holiday inn than luxury.

Room Tip: Do not book through last minute.com they will give you an awful room - either a tiny room or one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    311
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
132
754
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in Oct 2012 - in fact we check out this morning. The place is great! Not a "cookie cutter" hotel at all. The rooms are very well decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had great service from the Conciegre - Thanks Matt! He helped plan our entire trip while in Napa, recommending and booking great wineires, restaurant reservations, and local entertainment. It was great! The morning breakfast in bed was outstanding. Very filling, great quality and perfect every day - definately felt spoiled. The rest of the staff here was also very friendly and it felt like they were going out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our stay. The only downside was due to the close locality of some of the restaurants, there was an early morning (7am) dump truck for garbage that was pretty loud and just happened to come on the day we chose to sleep in a bit. But it would definately not be a reason for us not to come back or recommend the hotel to anyone else!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarhurst, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

My family and i came there last minute on a trip to CA and last minute decided to go to Napa for a night. I had seen this inn during my search before going to Cali. So when we arrived there and since we were a last minute reservation, they gave us a room with 2 double beds as requested and gave us the choice of having the regular room or the upgraded room. They showed us both and allowed us to decide. It was sooo nice a quaint. The rooms felt so homey and felt like a bed and breakfast snuggled away. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. A breakfast of choice is apart of the room stay, which had a nice selection that you make and leave on your door by midnight, and was delivered to our room the next morning at our time preference. The food was delish and was nice because there was a balcony in the room, so we could eat the food there also, but also gave us time to get ready and enjoy our morning stay and not feel rushed. (which helped because our son was sick all night, so we needed all the time we could get.) Checkout was at noon. Many cute shops and great place to walk around....very historic. Definitely want go there again and stay for a long weekend.

Room Tip: It seemed as tho the whole area was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison N Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our room was spectacular. We were conveniently located and they had the finest staff imaginable! It is so personnel that you feel like part of a family but so well organized that you
cannot imagine. I am very picky and I was helped in so many emergencies That nothing I can tell you could be described! Awsome!

Room Tip: order upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Perfect location in downtown Napa and within walking distance to most everything. Rooms are nice and very comfortable and clean with nice bathrooms. One great amenity is breakfast is delivered to your door each day which is included in your room price(all made at a local bakery on premise). We had a great stay here and loved being in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerzdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. From the moment of my reservation the staff was so helpful. Liz helped set up two days of wine country touring and her suggestions were right on the mark. The hotel itself is in an excellent location to walk the city and is right on the river. The room (205) I stayed in was in the main building above the lobby area. It was huge and very comfortable. Silo's is next door and went there for live music on Saturday night... Much fun. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadytoTravel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Coincerge was excellent (She sent a Napa Valley Guide to help us prepare for our visit.) We selected a package that included a Tour of Napa Valley, and an evening at Silo's. All was more than expected. We arrived early. Our baggage was stored and magically appeared in our room. Napa River Inn definately had connections with business in the area and the businesses were just as prompt, and perfessional as Napa River Inn. The location was great. I highly recommend one of the packages. The Sweetie Pie's breakfast was tasty and delivered to our room timely. When I return to Napa, Napa River Inn will be my only choice for accomodations. BTW..the beds are awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing