We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Highlands Ranch
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is in the Napa area. The staff was extremely friendly and they knew exactly how to take care of their guests. Checking in was a smooth process and very quick! I wish I could remember the managers name so I could give him credit where credit is due. He noticed our group was waiting in the lobby for our shuttle to arrive so he kept us occupied with wine which was very thoughtful on his part. House keeping did a great job every single day & they were so friendly. Charming hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    833
    310
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
130
749
29
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had a great time staying in the historic section of this hotel recently. The room was lovely and the bathroom was fabulous. The slipper tub was a joy to relax in and there were wonderful bathroom amenities -- even a bath fizz! I enjoyed the small electric kettle to make tea, and was even more impressed when a very friendly employee went all the way to the tea bag stash in the catering rooms to find me a decaf tea at nearly midnight!! great customer service!
We also enjoyed the delicious breakfast in bed from the bakery downstairs. Would stay here again in a heratbeat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eeparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our first time staying at the hotel. I did not know what to expect. It was a fabulous stay. Friendly staff. Great room. Service was outstanding. Food was excellent. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the historic portion of the hotel. It is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We travelled here on our honeymoon (which I'd alerted the hotel to) and were congratulated by the receptionist upon checking in. We found a four poster bed, chocolate covered strawberries and a congratulations note from the hotel management in our lovely room. The bed was very comfortable to sleep in. Breakfast is served to you in your room and is prepared by the local bakery... and it's absolutely delicious.

We got some vouchers for tasting at the Bounty Hunter (10 minutes walk) which I also recommend... so much that we went back there on our second night! We also dropped into Angele's for cocktails which were delicious.

The hotel has tons of character and is well situated for exploring the area. I loved our two nights here and wish we could have stayed a couple more.

Room Tip: We had a river view room which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_J_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Hotel was very nice with the staff being very qualified and accommodating. The only concern was that it was a bit noisy with people walking by and talking on their cell phones or just talking to each other.

Room was very well appointed and the location is excellent.

Would stay there again...

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs corner room in H building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumrunner68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Napa River Inn two times. The first time (November 2011)our room was in the "Plaza" building and our room had a nice view of the river. The room was kind of plain but it was fine. The second time (April 2012) we stayed in the main "Historical" building. The room in the H building was very nice. It had a gorgeous spacious layout, hardwood floors, a very nice king size bed, a fireplace, a claw tub and a huge walk-in shower big enough for two people. My only complaint with the historical room was the noise. The walls were very thin and unfortunately we could hear our neighbors in room 204...the bed was squeaking if you know what I mean! 2 nights in a row we had to knock on the bathroom wall. We could also hear cars and trucks driving by from our little window. Otherwise the hotel is very nice and the people at the front desk were always nice and accommodating. The location is great because you can walk to many places close by to eat and to shop.

Room Tip: The historical rooms are gorgeous. Just beware of the thin walls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I took our first trip to Napa and we stayed at the Napa River Inn. We loved it and would highly recommend it. The location was perfect and the room and view were very nice.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa!Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country.Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Agoda, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing