We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect blend of history and luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect blend of history and luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

For those who prefer something other than a cookie cutter modern luxury hotel, the Napa River Inn is the way to go. History surrounds you and can sweep you to a bygone era while you still enjoy all the amenities of modern living. My room overlooked the Napa river and was equipped with a nice flat screen, free wi-fi, a much nicer than average coffee maker, a gas fireplace, and spa robes. The ice bucket was magically filled and the bed turned down as I wandered around the area. I appreciated the fridge with free water and the choice to have fancier bottled water for a small fee. The grounds are lush with blooming vegetation, fine dining is at every turn within walking distance (michelin and zagat rated restaurants), and nightlife is steps away at the jazz club. The spa was heavenly (I recommend the back treatment) and the sweet shop enticed with such delights as chardonnay and port wine truffles. Bicycles are available for free as are bandaids and first aid supplies (don't jog while playing with apps on your cell phone--the river view and people watching can be distracting enough!) Boutique shops abound with little treats for the lucky traveler or friends back home. Breakfast in bed was a nice treat with many options available to please even the pickiest palates. Although originally planned as a couples getaway, conflicting work schedules resulted in a solo trip. I felt perfectly safe and comfortable and would repeat this excursion again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvTraveling63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    311
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
132
754
29
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This property was suggested to us by the visitor's center because everything with double beds was booked.

It's in a central location, great places to eat are close, it has parking, sweet little breakfast is included, it's clean, and the staff is very pleasant! Our room had a nice little balcony. If you want to stay in town, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Our original room was lovely but it was over an area that would be noisy with a restaurant for part of the day. Our request for a change was handled quickly and graciously. The breakfast from Sweetie Pie's was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

What a huge disappointment! The Napa River Inn Website promised "Luxury... a decadent urban hotel with high style and warmth... World class food... a delightful unique experience." I have a secret for you. Don't waste your money here! Nothing could be farther from the truth. The design of our room was a mess. The A/C unit was positioned 17" from the head of the bed, good luck sleeping in those conditions! In order to use the bathroom, you had to open doors that prevented your spouse from using the sink. The pillows were flat and I suspect purchased on low bid with no regard to quality. The window blinds required multiple efforts just to raise and lower them, one was broken.

Lets talk food. They had a nice little bakery that served 4-5 choices for breakfast. The quality of the food was at best very average. My problem was having to ask the staff three days in a row to clear a table so we could sit. I would then have to ask that they also wipe off the table.

One saving grace is that the Napa River Inn is located in downtown Napa.

Here is my grade for the Napa River Inn:
High Style - F
World Class Food - F
Delightful Unique Experience - F

Don't waste your money at the Napa River Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Golf_Daddy_In_Marco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Got a deal through a social media website.

I first set up a time to go around my birthday but at the last minute had to change plans. The phone call to the hotel followed and spoke to reservations. They were easy to work with in changing the date and took the offer at the time to upgrade to a larger room with a great view of the river.

Since I needed to bring along a four legged furry friend to stay during the visit I called back to the hotel to get some information on Pet Sitters. Spoke to Linda the conceirge who quickly answered my questions about pet sitters. I gave her the information that I was looking for and the budget and she quickly took care of setting up the pet sitter so that a great night out for dinner could be enjoyed.

En-route hotel was the trip from hell. Two accidents on the way. One was a major detour as Hiway 12 was closed. I again called the hotel and Linda again took great care to help me rearrange a massage appointment that was pending. I will tell you that the people at Le Pelle Spa were fantastic. Not only did the honor the stay open late to accomidate our late arrival but they honored the whole 90 minute session. Thank you very much to the staff at Le Pelle.

Linda also was great in working with us on arranging that late arrival for the massage. I have never seen in all my years going to Napa seen a person go out of her way to help arrange for a late arrival.

Check in was great. Heather had everything ready to go and took care of getting someone to help me with my bags to the room. Mathew found me as I was out walking the dog and worked with me while the last bit of business was taken care of.

The room #215 was a corner room. Nice view of the river the only knock is the plants growing on the balcony make it hard for two people to sit out on the small patio. Also the doors to the patio need to have a way to keep them open easier. Wedging a chair was not the ideal method to do that. Bathroom was spacious and the separate tub and shower are spacious.

The pet sitter went off without a hitch and a short walk up the street to Fish Story was fantastic.

The next morning the breakfast arrived at the set time on the dot. The only knock was the coffee was cold. I would think a single carafe of coffee would have been nicer but hey I can not complain about free food showing up in the room on the dot.

If you are traveling with a four legged friend the steps that the Inn went through for them was fantastic. The bowls that were there were perfect the spill mat great and the doggie blanket was fantastic. Even the bag of treats was great too. The pet sitter that was set up for by Linda was fantastic. Bekka arrived on time and took great care of our pet for the three hours we were gone. Great job.

Lastly check out was smooth and simple.

The Inn is close to downtown and some great restaurants. I have nothing to say but great things about this Inn. I will come back again

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. If they can do it they will do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmcc916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We've stayed here twice. Napa River Inn is located in a recently renovated part of the little town of Napa. A very nice place to stay. Convenient, within walking distance to many really good restaurants. "Angele," and "Celedon" are steps from your hotel room. A two minute walk to "Morimoto's" and "Fish Story" restaurants. Located on the Napa River with lovely views of the river, the wine train etc. There's a really cool nightclub called "Silo's" adjacent to the hotel that had a great cabaret duo performing. Breakfast was included and delivered to your room from a bakery, Sweetie Pie's, on the premises . Very nice quiche and various bear claws, danish etc. A little pricey but a beautiful property with great service and location.

Room Tip: There are some river view rooms that are very nice. Some rooms are in a separate building just acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flufton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Negative experience from beginning with their having the billing messed up creating awkward business situation. The only rooms I've ever seen that small were in Europe. The closet door couldn't be opened without standing on the bed. If you were standing at the vanity you had to move for anoth to exit the bathroom. A huge wall a/c unit was positioned to blow only in the bathroom. The room was over an outdoor restaurant and parking lot so having windows open was not an option. One Roman Shade was inoperable resulting in outside lights shining in the room all night. The carpet was soaking wet in 1/3 of the room. All this for a mere $350/night! Event weekend Napa gouging which may be fine if you are living large but we were working. On a positive note, the staff was professional and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#1 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Property: Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing