We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming surprise--I'd go back in a heartbeat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 2, 2011

My friends and I recently returned from an outstanding weekend in the Napa Valley. One of the many highlights of the trip was our stay at the Napa River Inn. What an absolutly charming hotel--a true hidden gem at a marvelous price, and a great launching pad to explore the rest of Napa. The hotel was cozy, the beds were phenomenal--every bit as comfortable and soft as a Westin Heavenly Bed. A wonderful bonus: the basket of breakfast items you order the night before and receive delivered to your room every morning, at no additional cost! I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmonforton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
There are newer reviews for Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

the package deal we purchased through travel zoo was wonderful. did not have time to take advantage
of all the wine tastings available, but overall a wonderful stay in a lovely location.

Room Tip: rooms facing the river are of course super.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeegeeSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Everything about this hotel, staff and location was great! We can recommend it without any reservations. It will be the only place we stay in Napa, from now on! The room was quiet and lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank independentthinker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Napa River Inn. We were in Napa to ride the Echelon Gran Fondo bike race and to enjoy the wine of the county. The inn was a real treat. The staff excellent, attentive, helpful and very friendly. We loved the setting along the Napa River. Our room was clean, comfortable, and pleasant. We loved the location. What a treat it was to walk to all the great restaurants, stores, and attractions of Napa. This was our first trip to Napa and we were very impressed. We are world travelers and that is difficult to do. Napa is a city that is reinventing itself and they have done a marvelous job. The River walk is fantastic. The hotel is just about right next to Iron Chef MOrimotoes Restaurant.
In addition its a short drive to all the best vineyards in Napa County. Now the real deal breaker is that the Napa River Inn is half the price of the other hotels in Yountville, St helena etc. A real steal.
We look forward to returning. Oh, the breakfast is brought to your room. What a treat!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coyotetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We loved the Napa River Inn. We stayed in the Embarcadero building. Although we did not have a river view, we were still extremely satisfied with our room. Knowing we were on our honeymoon, the hotel had a bottle of champagne and a nice note ready for us in the room when we arrived.

The complimentary breakfast is great, and Sweetie Pie's makes some of the best danishes around. Order your breakfast on the early side of when you'll want it, because we did notice that they usually come at the end of the half hour window you schedule for delivery.

The parking situation is free, and extremely convenient.

We ate at Napa Morimotos and Angele's during our stay which are both very close to the hotel. Angele's was great from start to finish, and a really cute atmosphere for dinner. We didn't love Morimotos, but that just may be our taste.

Location is great, a very easy drive to all of the vineyards, and close to a Walmart, and CVS for any forgotten items in your packing.

Highly recommend, would absolutely revisit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank playdobro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

The dining package was great so was the breakfast in bed
Perfect location in Napa Planning on going again

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonE43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

Stayed in an Embarcadero room overlooking the Napa River. Nice quite room on second floor with balcony for late night wine or breakfast and the sunrise. Already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,042 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
8.1 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,061 reviews
8.3 mi away
Villagio Inn and Spa
Villagio Inn and Spa
#6 of 6 in Yountville
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill

Address: 500 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-3353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Napa
#3 Business Hotel in Napa
#3 Family Hotel in Napa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#5 Green Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $260 - $577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill is the perfect central location in Downtown Napa! Just one hour north of San Francisco, experience Napa Valley charm, luxury, and convenience at this romantic Napa Valley historic hotel, nestled in the heart of Napa Valley wine country. Established in 1884 by Captain Albert Hatt, the Historic Napa Mill, a registered Historic Landmark, boasts live entertainment, fine dining, wine tasting, spa, and shops. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, this downtown Napa historic inn will surprise and delight. Explore all of the attractions near the Napa River Inn, including: restaurants, wine tasting, shops, galleries, and the Wine Train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Hotel Napa
Napa River Hotel
Napa River Inn At The Historic Napa Mill Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing