We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This place saved our lives (and our vacation!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Valley Lodge
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This place saved our lives (and our vacation!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Without getting too much into detail, we had booked a 4 day trip to Napa and had booked a B&B in the countryside, which ended up not happening. Our flight had arrived 30 minutes later than planned, at 12:30 AM, and the car rental agency was crowded and slow. Needless to say, by the time we found out our B&B wasn't going to happen, it was 3 AM. We were exhausted, driving around Napa for another hour, checking in with every hotel in the area, no vacancy anywhere.

We called up one hotel I found via google maps on my phone, who wanted something in the tune of $300 for the night, which we were heading to, because we were at the point of delirium. As we were driving down the road, there were the magical words "Vacancy" without a NO in front of it. Wine Valley Lodge, an oasis in those twilight hours, had not only the night available but our entire stay! For only $100 more for the entire stay than our planned B&B, we were ecstatic.

The room was an average motel room, but clean, and the bathroom was small, but we were ever-grateful for it! The outdoor pool was nice, though keep in mind, that while it may be 80 degrees outside during the day, once that sun sets, the temperature drops FAST, even in July!

The continental breakfast area was nice, with some good self-serve offerings. The breakfast area gets crowded around 8-9 AM, but clears out in 30 minute bits.

The location is EXCELLENT, right off of major roadways that get you to the wineries, nature trails (go to Muir Woods!!) and wasn't horribly far from San Fran for a day trip into the city (bring a hooide with you for San Fran, even if it is July!)

The staff was excellent, and the hotel was overall in good shape. Don't expect a high end hotel, it's a traditional motel with good offerings. The wifi was a bit spotty, but if they upgrade to some wireless N networks, that should be easily fixed.

Overall, if and when we go back to Napa, we are going to book the Wine Valley Lodge FIRST this time!

PS - If you're looking around for wineries, go to the Castillo di Amorosa, best experience ever, blows everything else away!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bardicverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    254
    115
    20
    20
See reviews for
57
282
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Initially we were nervous but didn't have much choice as everywhere else was either booked or required a two night stay. The price was certainly right especially given the rates of nearby properties.

The rooms were nicely remodeled but needed a bit of work in the bathrooms. For instance, our shower did not drain and it was kinda gross. The other two couples we were there with did not experience this issue.

They allowed us to check in early whic worked out great. Only other negative was that the walls are a little thin, especially compared to more modern hotels.

Free breakfast was just what we needed and unexpected.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimAtKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March, and we had a very nice time. Rooms look like they have been recently renovated, are spacious and very clean. Each room has a TV, wifi, a small fridge and a microwave. There is also a continental breakfast served every morning. Owners live on-site, and that really shows: every detail is cared for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaigado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I booked two rooms at this hotel last week based on the recommendations of previous reviews. They had it nailed. Simple rooms that were clean and comfortable at a price that was exceptional with wonderful friendly and helpful staff. They recommended Hogg Island Oyster Company for dinner and it simply made the day. The cheese shop across the “mall” was a great extra.

I like nice “mom & pop” establishments, and this is one of them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutersville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Booked this online and you never know what you are going to get. However, was happy with my room and the service. The lady at the desk was wonderful to talk with and very friendly. She hooked me up with a free appetizer at a nice local place. You can reach many of the wineries with less than a 20 minute drive.
If you want all the amenities of the $300/night places, this is not the place. If you want a nice clean place to lay your head then this is your place. I will be back next time I am in Napa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a year ago for a wedding and to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. When we arrived in the late evening, we were greeted by a friendly woman who asked us about our stay. When she found out that it was our anniversary, she gave us coupons for local restaurants and wineries. She preceded to tell us some great places to go and was just so welcoming. The room was simple, clean, and very affordable. We definitely have plans to go back to Napa and will be staying here again when we do. I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I needed to make a last minute reservation in Napa for business and booked a room here. The Wine Valley lodge is a very good value, is a clean and comfortable property in a safe location. I called the motel directly and they matched the Expedia price. The reservation and check in process was pleasant and personable. The property is located on the fringe of residential housing, and also is close to a couple of strip malls. It is a straight shot to the downtown area (about 1 mile), which features some excellent restaurants and interesting boutique shops. My only complaint was that the room was very cold (in January), and it took quite a while to warm up. As in many motels, the heater unit is located directly below the window, and the heat tends to shoot straight up into the double layer curtains. I tied the outer layer into a knot to help keep the curtains out of the way...not exactly solving the problem but keeping more of the heat directed towards the room instead of the chilly window. Perhaps they could supply some clips to help with this problem? Other than that, the room was spotless and my stay was comfortable. The ownership obviously takes pride in the interior and exterior, as the landscaping and overall appearance was very neat and tidy, and appealing. I didn't partake in breakfast, so no comment there... When departing, a friendly woman quickly greeted me as I handed in the room keys. Call me old fashion, but I appreciate a safe, clean and comfortable lodge, WITH caring and personable service. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I requested a room away from the street...it was perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CubsWillRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
3.7 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#11 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Lodge

Property: Wine Valley Lodge
Address: 200 S Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-4529
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wine Valley Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Wine Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Hotel Napa
Wine Valley Motel
Wine Valley Lodge Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing