We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley to your Saves list
3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   853 Coombs Street, Napa, CA 94559 (Formerly Napa Valley Hotel & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Vantage Hotels App
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Napa
manchester
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Was deceived by the photos which am sure must be just in the suites. Friendly reception staff gave us lots of tips and where to get free wine tastings . Excellent location in centre of town and free car parking. Rooms are small and the bathroom was dirty with so many marks on the door going back many months. Other people's hair on the shower, yuk. The television was so old almost had valves. Lots of noise from other guests. No breakfast here but try "Gotts" by the oxbow market for a great cheap breakfast. Couldn't wait to leave this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham999Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, Front Office Manager at 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for your response we are glad you enjoyed your stay here.Glad that you thought location was great walking distance to all the great Restraunts and wine shops that Napa has to offer hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    56
    30
    33
See reviews for
26
116
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this hotel over Priceline, so we did not get a choice of which hotel, just location. The location was good. The photos accurately depict the room decor, but the whole place is dingy and dirty. The receptionist who checked us in was friendly and suggested local places and activities, but that is the best I can say about this hotel. We stayed only one night, luckily. In the morning, we found a pair of boxer briefs between the duvet & duvet cover! Fortunately, we had not used the duvet, but that was NOT an amenity we were looking for!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunseeker1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, General Manager at 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. Customer service and clean rooms are always highlighted here. We are always looking of ways to improve in all areas. We look forward to your return visit the next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Napa hotels

Carmel, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel has a pool and is with in walking distance to a lot of restaurants and bars. Basically if you're looking to save money and aren't going to be in your room a lot and just need a place to sleep and get ready, this hotel is more than adequate. The hotel is close to a lot of tasting rooms and has lot's of parking area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meals4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, General Manager at 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
This hotel is within a 5-minute walk of the Napa Valley Opera House and the Napa General Store in downtown Napa, California. It features free Wi-Fi and an outdoor pool.

Guest rooms at the 3 Palms Napa Valley Hotel & Suites have cable TV, a work desk, and a coffee maker. A hairdryer and ironing facilities are available.

The3 Palms Napa Valley Hotel & Suites provides a 24-hour front desk and a hot tub.

Napa Valley College is a 5-minute drive from 3 Palms Napa Valley Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A few weeks before leaving for a trip to San Francisco, we decided to spend the last few days in Napa. I didn't really do my homework and hastily booked this place. My story is similar to the other posts here. We booked a king room and were given a double; not too big of a deal for us but no special accommodation was offered by staff. The bathtub was mildewy and the hair dryer was hysterical - see pics from other reviewers. The bed was comfortable enough and we were in walking distance from several nice restaurants, tasting rooms, bars, etc. You get what you pay for here. It's probably though most affordable accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, Front Office Manager at 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for your response we are glad you enjoyed your stay here.Glad that you thought location was great walking distance to all the great Restraunts and wine shops that Napa has to offer hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently booked a room at the 3 Palms with a queen bed and jacuzzi. Upon arrival, however, they told me that they were "overbooked" and that the room I reserved was no longer available. The receptionist was very rude and did not offer us a discount or refund on our purchase, even though the room I paid for online was more expensive than the room they ended up sending us to. Looking through the other comments, this seems to be a trend with this hotel. Overall, I would strongly suggest staying in a different hotel - the service was extremely poor and the room was subpar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mitchell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, Manager at 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
All effort were taken to remedy the guest concern.Ask the guest to contact website and told them I give the discount where discount applies.The desk clerk offered discounts and varies complentry wine tasting Hotel management and staff are held to high standard duty and care to all guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week.Guest was asked if everything was satisfactory and response was yes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Only reason this place got a star is because it is well located. I booked a king bed and was given a single queen. When I asked for a king, manager told me to take it up with Hotel.com with whom I booked. We returned to our room at 11pm intent on taking a shower only to find that the tub had a layer of comet in it. When we turned water on to flush the tub we found that it was not draining. Night manager was called, she dropped off a plunger and informed us that there was no other room available, they did not have a maintenance person and there was nothing she could do for us but wait to speak to "manager Gary who will be in at 8am". When my husband tried to use the plunger, it just pulled black muck from the drain pipe. Needless to say, we did not get to shower because we did not want to stand in a pool of sewage.
To add insult to injury, when we went to check out, the manager dismissed us by offering 10% refund without even one word of concern or apology, again, telling us to take it up with Hotels.com. He did not even allow me to tell him our concerns, stating he knew already from a message left by night manager.
It is very evident that "boutique" means there is only a 12hour shift clerk on premises at any given time with the "manager" title. There is absolutely no attempts at customer service. It was appalling to have encountered such apathetic attitude. I could overlook the small room and bed, outdated bathroom with cracking grout and thin walls but not the way we were treated. This place was more like a dressed up motel than a hotel.
Though location is great, you would be better off staying 1 or 2 miles out for the same price since you will have a car anyway, Motel 6 beats this place anyday!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gasangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, Manager at 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for making us aware of these issues the maintenance department responded promptly to this matter.We were pleased that a discount that was provided for you upon check out was satisfactory .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The main reason we stayed here was that it allowed pets. With that said, I had to pay $25/night for my small dog and that was non-refundable. The walls are paper thin and the floors must not be insulated because we could hear the TV in the room next to us and the footsteps on the floor above us. The décor is a mix of Early American and contemporary!! The TV was the old box type, not a flat screen. The parking lot cannot accommodate cars for all of the rooms so you might have to park on the streets around the hotel. There were people on the balcony yelling to people across the parking lot. All rooms face the parking lot as the hotel is in a "U" shape. I got coffee from the "lobby" two mornings and it was barely warm. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. Don't think I'd stay there again unless I had to.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room so you don't hear the people staying above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, Manager at 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Romance lies in the heart of the guests and not in the building; the Opera House the Uptown Theater and the restraunts and Napa Night life are great romantic things to do in the Valley besides the Vynards and all are located with in walking distance of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
1.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
0.6 mi away
Napa Discovery Inn
Napa Discovery Inn
#27 of 29 in Napa
3.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 29 in Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
3.2 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#22 of 29 in Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley

Property: 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley
Address: 853 Coombs Street, Napa, CA 94559 (Formerly Napa Valley Hotel & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just put in brand new mattresses in all rooms; they look and feel great so that would solve everyone's questions about bugs and discomfort and hardness of the bed in the room. Thank you to loyal customers who hung through it with us during our remodeling. We have respectfully viewed all comments and made the proper adjustment to correct the problems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your 3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Napa Valley Hotel And Suites
Travelodge Napa
Napa Travel Lodge
Napa Travelodge
Travel Lodge Napa
3 Palms Hotels Napa Valley CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing