We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty mediocre place, nice location, would not stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A few weeks before leaving for a trip to San Francisco, we decided to spend the last few days in Napa. I didn't really do my homework and hastily booked this place. My story is similar to the other posts here. We booked a king room and were given a double; not too big of a deal for us but no special accommodation was offered by staff. The bathtub was mildewy and the hair dryer was hysterical - see pics from other reviewers. The bed was comfortable enough and we were in walking distance from several nice restaurants, tasting rooms, bars, etc. You get what you pay for here. It's probably though most affordable accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mpollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, Front Office Manager at Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for your response we are glad you enjoyed your stay here.Glad that you thought location was great walking distance to all the great Restraunts and wine shops that Napa has to offer hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 306 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently booked a room at the 3 Palms with a queen bed and jacuzzi. Upon arrival, however, they told me that they were "overbooked" and that the room I reserved was no longer available. The receptionist was very rude and did not offer us a discount or refund on our purchase, even though the room I paid for online was more expensive than the room they ended up sending us to. Looking through the other comments, this seems to be a trend with this hotel. Overall, I would strongly suggest staying in a different hotel - the service was extremely poor and the room was subpar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mitchell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, Manager at Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

All effort were taken to remedy the guest concern.Ask the guest to contact website and told them I give the discount where discount applies.The desk clerk offered discounts and varies complentry wine tasting Hotel management and staff are held to high standard duty and care to all guests 24 hours a day 7 days a week.Guest was asked if everything was satisfactory and response was yes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Only reason this place got a star is because it is well located. I booked a king bed and was given a single queen. When I asked for a king, manager told me to take it up with Hotel.com with whom I booked. We returned to our room at 11pm intent on taking a shower only to find that the tub had a layer of comet in it. When we turned water on to flush the tub we found that it was not draining. Night manager was called, she dropped off a plunger and informed us that there was no other room available, they did not have a maintenance person and there was nothing she could do for us but wait to speak to "manager Gary who will be in at 8am". When my husband tried to use the plunger, it just pulled black muck from the drain pipe. Needless to say, we did not get to shower because we did not want to stand in a pool of sewage.
To add insult to injury, when we went to check out, the manager dismissed us by offering 10% refund without even one word of concern or apology, again, telling us to take it up with Hotels.com. He did not even allow me to tell him our concerns, stating he knew already from a message left by night manager.
It is very evident that "boutique" means there is only a 12hour shift clerk on premises at any given time with the "manager" title. There is absolutely no attempts at customer service. It was appalling to have encountered such apathetic attitude. I could overlook the small room and bed, outdated bathroom with cracking grout and thin walls but not the way we were treated. This place was more like a dressed up motel than a hotel.
Though location is great, you would be better off staying 1 or 2 miles out for the same price since you will have a car anyway, Motel 6 beats this place anyday!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gasangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, Manager at Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for making us aware of these issues the maintenance department responded promptly to this matter.We were pleased that a discount that was provided for you upon check out was satisfactory .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The main reason we stayed here was that it allowed pets. With that said, I had to pay $25/night for my small dog and that was non-refundable. The walls are paper thin and the floors must not be insulated because we could hear the TV in the room next to us and the footsteps on the floor above us. The décor is a mix of Early American and contemporary!! The TV was the old box type, not a flat screen. The parking lot cannot accommodate cars for all of the rooms so you might have to park on the streets around the hotel. There were people on the balcony yelling to people across the parking lot. All rooms face the parking lot as the hotel is in a "U" shape. I got coffee from the "lobby" two mornings and it was barely warm. The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. Don't think I'd stay there again unless I had to.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room so you don't hear the people staying above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, Manager at Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Romance lies in the heart of the guests and not in the building; the Opera House the Uptown Theater and the restraunts and Napa Night life are great romantic things to do in the Valley besides the Vynards and all are located with in walking distance of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

For the cost (high double digits), this is a bargain compared to most of the other Napa hotels considering the location. The room and some of the decor, including the TV, is probably from the late 90's. The hotel has a pool and is with in walking distance to a lot of restaurants. Basically if you're looking to save money and aren't going to be in your room a lot and just need a place to sleep and get ready, this hotel is more than adequate.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, General Manager at Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks so much we are located to various wine shops and restraunt ,we welcome you back anytime hope to see you soon,We have respectfully viewed all comments and made the proper adjustment to correct the problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The front desk was adamant we could not check in until 3:00 insisting the maids would not be finished with ALL the rooms until that exact moment!

It made no sense! The hotel was not even fully occupied!

Why do they want everyone to line up at 3 pm to check in when obviously SOME rooms are ready by 1 or 2 pm and he could get the check in process over with and instill good will at same time?

We did love the location but wow I would really be desperate to want to come back due to such a weird policy and the front desk clerk was so peculiar about it.

The other negatives, the free coffee in lobby was lukewarm, the pool was closed and not working, the computer in lobby was broken, the elevator was dirty, and the stairs were tiny.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, General Manager at Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We have a policyand check in is at 3 pm and check out is 11 am ,but we always try to check guest in as soon as possible even though the parking lot looks empty the rooms may be dirty .The maids need time to turn a room around so please be patience we work as fast as we can and thanks for understanding we are happy to send you for a free glass of wine ask us how.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is that it is within walking distance of almost everything you would want to do in Napa. Room was nice but the bed was not very comfortable, sagging in the middle. What bothered me the most though was the fact that we could not check in early. We had traveled all night from Hawaii, then drove up from San Francisco arriving at about 10:00 am. We were beat but went for a walk about and breakfast. Came back again at 1:30. Looked like housekeeping had completed work but still were not allowed to check in until 3:00. Ended up napping in the car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cktmhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NVHAS, General Manager at Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We have just put in brand new mattress in all rooms they look and feel great so that would solve everyone's questions about bugs and discomfort and hardness of the bed in the room thank you to loyal customers who hung threw it with us during our remodeling. We have respectfully viewed all comments and made the proper adjustment to correct the problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Napa Discovery Inn
Napa Discovery Inn
#26 of 30 in Napa
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
0.3 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#14 of 30 in Napa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cabernet House
Cabernet House
#19 of 30 in Napa
586 reviews
1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort

Address: 853 Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-2937 (Formerly Napa Valley Hotel & Suites)
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range: $93 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to everything that makes Napa Valley so special, Napa Valley Hotel & Suites is the ideal choice for business travelers and pleasure seekers alike. Featuring business-friendly amenities and a charming boutique feel, Napa Valley Hotel & Suites is within walking distance to a number of local Napa attractions, such as the Copia Center, Oxbow Market, Opera House, Napa Riverwalk, and Historic Old Town Napa. For corporate travel, for weekend getaways, or for tourist adventures, Napa Valley Hotel & Suites is simply the traveler's choice for experiencing everything that Napa Valley has to offer -- and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Valley Hotel And Suites
Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Travelodge Napa
Napa Travel Lodge
Napa Travelodge
Travel Lodge Napa
Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel And Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing