We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
woodinville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Hotels are not cheap in the Napa are, but this one seems to be the best value. Spend the savings on more wine. Rooms are quiet and clean. Breakfast is included and handy if you just want to roll and go, but there are lots of place to get real breakfasts. Costco members can get the Best Western discount with your membership. Use your Costco membership to get great deals on car rental... more money to spend on wine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    274
    150
    58
    40
See reviews for
135
358
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Well the title really says it all. The hotel in and of itself is fine ( it is a BW afterall). The rooms were pleasant and clean (if not noisy). The beds are a little bouncy, and are likely from the 90's, but not a bad call in Napa for the rice.

The real issue is that they charge guests credit cards without regard for policy. Be aware, that you may have some false charges on your card, and you will have to be very careful and diligent to look for these.

The mngmt is unhelpful, and argumentative - so no use (Shane and Jacob were both extremely unhelpful and provided no recourse or resolution) Not to mention making my wife cry.


If you have options, go somewhere else. If you ust stay here .........
Again - pay cash!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The staff was extremely nice when we checked in. I asked for a quiet room, and he gave me a corner room on the 2nd floor. The free breakfast was terrible. There was a mexican restaurant near the hotel, try the recommendation on the menu with !!!.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psimissu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great value for what you get. Nice breakfast buffet and lovely décor. I highly recommend it! Location nice as well including the hotel staff. One of the breakfast workers went in the back to bring out the coffee after the buffet closed down. He saved the day!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel after roughly about a year. We just checked out 9/19/2013.

Hotel itself: The hotel is still an old hotel. It is showing it's age even more. It seems that ownership isn't reinvesting back into the hotel. We noticed a lot of broken and damaged stuff that wasn't repaired (door handles, doors that don't close, broken garbage cans, etc.). The hotel hallways still have that "old hotel funky" smell. They did add a scent machine in the lobby, maybe they need to make the investment and add it to the rest of the hotel. No exterior trash cans, only when you go into the hallway. In the mornings we found litter around the parking lot areas, I guess I wasn't the only person who couldn't find a trash can. I actually took mine back to my room .

Pool & Hot Tub: Pool area was clean with trash. The water was clear both in the pool and hot tub. I never use hotel pools, a big petri dish in my opinion. The entry gates were rusted over. The furniture looks nothing like what they do in the pictures. Most of the lounge chairs were broken and had no cushions. The furniture looked pretty beat up and didn't give the "Premiere" look.

Rooms: They were ok (very important to me). I always check for bed bugs and the room I had didn't have any. The furniture had a lot of nicks and gauges around the edges, made it felt cheap. Bathroom was clean and free of hairs and reminiscence of previous guest. Now the HVAC (or known as PTAC unit) had an energy management feature installed. So without movement our room was not comfortable. We turned the temp really down and by morning our room had warmed up again. The sheets were clean when we checked in, but were NEVER CHANGED during our 4 night stay. I can understand skipping a day, but four days is too long.Room was vacuumed in the main areas, but the edges of the room had dust and behind the nightstand there was garbage. The plumbing was messed up. Our sink never draining and after mentioning it to the staff nothing was done during our four night stay. The tub stopper was broken and just sitting on the wall mounted soap dish when we checked in. The bathroom had the smell of sewage every morning. I also found ripped wallpaper throughout the room. Also a very interesting were the holes in the bathroom walls from when they tried mounting the robe hook to a wall stud. Just made the room feel cheap.

Free Internet: This was by far the worst free internet service among any mid level hotel I've ever stayed at. Every page took forever, and this was confirmed even on my iPhone using mobile basic sites. I had to switch over to my cellular data. If you can't offer decent speed, I would suggest hotels not offer WIFI for free.

Staff: This part is when things got interesting. There is a total lack of professionalism. When you ask basic questions, they just give you a yes or no answer. There is no hospitality in this staff. I left my room one night around 1 am to get something from my car and the 3rd shift guy was passed out on the wing chair next to the front desk. Breakfast attendant was not professional, breakfast items looked like they were just thrown into their holding containers. Housekeeping staff never changed our sheets during our four night stay even after requesting. Either management has gone cheap or staff really doesn't care.

Breakfast: SKIP IT. There is nothing premier about this. They had a vat of oatmeal, bruised cut fruit, two very bad looking hot items, cold cereal (3 kinds), danish (not edible), bagels, wheat & white toast, self toast waffles. The bacon literally was in a pool of grease. Egg omelets that were burnt (don't know how that could happen, because they used microwavable foods). The milk and juice were lukewarm. I don't trust lukewarm beverages, the risk is too high to get sick. Coffee was ok, but ran out and wasn't filled up. The coffee cups are paper, and they get hot (possible issue there) and they don't provide sleeves. You are forced to double cup (what a waste). Also everything was about empty around 8:30 am and the breakfast continued till 10:00 am. If it's empty whats the point to having breakfast (checkout the pics).They have so much room to improve. I've stayed at Best Western hotels that aren't Premier and I have seen better food offering. Even Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, or Fairfield Inn offer better.

The bottom line is this hotel is now not worthy staying at. There are many other hotels to choose from Westin, Hilton Garden Inn, Marriott or even the Best Western Elm House (the Elm House has one tripadvisor award year after year). Skip this Premier property even if you can get it for cheap. This hotel just ruins the Best Western name.

Room Tip: Skip the hotel, if you have to stay choose a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samswildworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff is outstanding and very friendly. The free breakfast is a great way to get the day started. The hot tub is perfect to finish the day. Great location for fantastic dinners in napa or yountville.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsyrdldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
359 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel needs help. Too noisy, poor noisy beds, noisy doors and toilets and water faucets across the entire hotel. If you stay here you will not ever again. Wrong billing that was not fixed, poor placement of closets causing poor access to the entrance door etc. etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#13 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Hotel Napa

Property: Ivy Hotel Napa
Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2233 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Hotel Napa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You deserve to go wine tasting in wine country, which is exactly what's in store for you around this gorgeous Napa hotel. Wineries, world-class restaurants, and hiking and cycling trails abound in this region. Your Napa hotel is close to the entire splendor of the area. Spend an afternoon touring different wineries and selecting a new favorite merlot. There are several great golf courses near the hotel, too. We're not just a great Napa hotel located near wineries. The proximity to Napa Valley world-class restaurants and local agricultural attractions is unbeatable. We're the only hotel in downtown Napa with an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. You don't need to be at the beach to work on your tan and enjoy a refreshing dip in turquoise waters. Guests are in luck because we're the only Premier Best Western in all of California. That means extra doses of luxury, amenities and service at this Napa hotel. Our deluxe, complimentary full breakfast features waffles, breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, hot eggs, hot breakfast meat, fresh fruits, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. The Napa Valley Wine Auction attracts travelers from around the world. This Napa hotel is within walking distance to local transportation, and has great customer service, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and free parking. Don't miss out on the local winemaker reception hosted in the lobby every Friday. The opulent, avant-garde boutique Napa hotel provides a stunning beginning to any trip. Friendly staff members are happy to help guests plan a day's agenda. Enjoy the great outdoors in style with a bicycle ride around town. Photographers and nature lovers delight in the endless beauty of Mother Nature. A stroll around town or a hike on one of the local trails will have you right in the middle of the adventure. Your gorgeous Napa hotel is an entryway to the unique experience of downtown Napa Valley. Reserve an unforgettable stay at Ivy Hotel Napa right now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing