We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa Valley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Granite Bay, United States
1 review
“Napa Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel with free breakfast and easy access to the Napa Valley. We brought our bikes but important to know that...They have bikes you can rent on site! We booked last minute and were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Pearl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    277
    156
    60
    45
See reviews for
140
367
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

After spending 20 minutes to try and make the a/c work, it seems the final kick out of frustration finally brought the old girl back to life. Sadly the same could not be said of the rather large television that ended up remaining as a sort of post-modern art piece that hung on the wall producing a dulled reflection of the world that was quite apt for this hotel. Breakfast was served on paper plates and with plastic cutlery in a dining room much too small for the crush of guests that were trying to eat a rather paltrid offering of waffles, eggs, and plastic cheese. To be frank, I've had better eggs in jail than the rubbery fluorescent yellow reconstituted powder on offer here and when I enquired about the rest of breakfast (bacon, sausages, etc) I was told by a rather appologetic member of staff that the meat had run out hours ago.

Just because this hotel is in Napa the management have clearly decided to slap a big price tag on a bog standard hotel experience while cutting corners at every chance. My advice? Stay away unless you want to pay $215+ for a $69 experience.

Best Western Premier's brand has either lost a bit of its shine or clearly just doesn't care when one of their franchises embarrasses the name.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexPat78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Napa hotels

Discovery Bay, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked this hotel for our 12th anniversary on the July 12th weekend. Roomrate was about $290/night. We were given room #212 which was the room on the very N/E corner of the hotel. Upon arrival, the clerk suggested I park "behind the pool", which was completely opposite from where our room was. My wife entered before me and when I brought up our luggage and opened the door, I trapped her because the closet door opposed the entry. I found a dark hair on my sheet side (of the bed); I found more hair around the bathroom sink condiment basket, along with somenone's pregnancy test strip. Since the room was a corner room, it adjoined 2 street intersections and the main highway. The room was arranged poorly with the desk at the foot of the bed and its chair blocking passage. A settee faced the door, not the TV. We received our Anniversary wake-up call at 5am because the kitchen was directly below our room. The breakfast room was also poorly arranged with plates and plasticware on opposite sides. There is only one waffle maker, and the coffee carafe was empty. I complained (sigh) and we were moved to another room that was much better, although the small refrigerator was broken. I asked for some sort of compensation for our room issues, and the hotel provided us a $28 refund....period. I've been in some BW's that were superior to this for less than $100/night. This hotel was totally overrated and overpriced. Their response to issues was lacking. The manager emailed me, but it seemed a standard "we're sorry and hope you return" email. I would think twice and believe a Bed and Breakfast for the same or lessor price would be more comfortable. Be cautious when booking.

Room Tip: Do not accept the second story rooms on the north east side next to the highway and above the kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank PaPaw2Four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very clean. The room had everything we wanted. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Location is convenient with restaurants within walking distance. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was at SFO airport on Saturday July 6th when the airplane crashed. Obviously my flight was cancelled, the next flight I could find was for Tuesday July 9th... And as you can imagine I was already checked out on my previous hotel. I tried to find something in SFO, but since it was 4th of July weekend everything was full... Anyway, I found this hotel at Napa, and I went there very excited about my first time in Napa but under the circumstances I didn't have high expectations in this hotel, which I found at last minute for $169 per night.
I was totally wrong! What a gem!
You have to consider the price and that it is not a luxury hotel chain, keeping that in mind, the hotel and room was well decorated, clean, my room was big and the furniture very nice.
The complementary breakfast was good to be complementary: waffles, eggs, cheeses, ham, sausages, cereal, coffee... Good enough to have a great start of your day.
My experience was perfect. It may not have a big lobby and restaurants or room service... But it is great to have a good night of sleep and be ready for your activities at Napa.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoDiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We came to Napa on June 29th and stayed at this Best Western because we stay at Best Western's often and mainly because it was available (big concert weekend and almost everywhere was booked). The price was over $300 for a standard king size bedroom. The decor was nice, but the amenities had issues. The lighting was poor, especially in the bathroom vanity area; the window (literally) came off the track - my husband fixed that; the tub drained slowly, and shower temp varied from scalding to cool (but that may have been due to other guest using their showers at the same time); the mini frig did not work - which we found out after we came back from being gone for hours and had put all of our food/drinks in; the deadbolt did not work (it did not engage); and the pool/jacuzzi closed at 9pm (really!). The decor was nice; the bed was comfortable; breakfast was ok; and the room/hotel was very quiet. So our stay was so-so, but definitely not worth the money we paid

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelbugSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Best Western Ivy for our recent Napa trip. The room is nicely laid out with the expected amenities. Next door to the Red Hen Cantina for Mexican food, it is also right off of the highway so access to Napa and Sonoma Valley is a breeze. Breakfast seemed ok - fruit, cereal, bagels, juice, and waffles, however, only one waffle maker so the line was long. Customer service was excellent. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#12 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
1.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
3.0 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Hotel Napa

Property: Ivy Hotel Napa
Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2233 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa)
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Hotel Napa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You deserve to go wine tasting in wine country, which is exactly what's in store for you around this gorgeous Napa hotel. Wineries, world-class restaurants, and hiking and cycling trails abound in this region. Your Napa hotel is close to the entire splendor of the area. Spend an afternoon touring different wineries and selecting a new favorite merlot. There are several great golf courses near the hotel, too. We're not just a great Napa hotel located near wineries. The proximity to Napa Valley world-class restaurants and local agricultural attractions is unbeatable. We're the only hotel in downtown Napa with an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. You don't need to be at the beach to work on your tan and enjoy a refreshing dip in turquoise waters. Guests are in luck because we're the only Premier Best Western in all of California. That means extra doses of luxury, amenities and service at this Napa hotel. Our deluxe, complimentary full breakfast features waffles, breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, hot eggs, hot breakfast meat, fresh fruits, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. The Napa Valley Wine Auction attracts travelers from around the world. This Napa hotel is within walking distance to local transportation, and has great customer service, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and free parking. Don't miss out on the local winemaker reception hosted in the lobby every Friday. The opulent, avant-garde boutique Napa hotel provides a stunning beginning to any trip. Friendly staff members are happy to help guests plan a day's agenda. Enjoy the great outdoors in style with a bicycle ride around town. Photographers and nature lovers delight in the endless beauty of Mother Nature. A stroll around town or a hike on one of the local trails will have you right in the middle of the adventure. Your gorgeous Napa hotel is an entryway to the unique experience of downtown Napa Valley. Reserve an unforgettable stay at Ivy Hotel Napa right now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing