We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's very romantic”
Review of Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's very romantic”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Breakfast is complete and delicious. The rooms are big and very comfortable. The hotel services are very good. The reception staff are very friendly. Most previous guests I saw were couples. I saw few children. This hotel is perfect for romantic travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pahbraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    281
    158
    62
    55
See reviews for
143
377
24
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ivy Hotel Napa offers unmatched quality and luxury services at affordable prices in Napa Valley California.Me Stay with my family there for 3 days.They anticipate client needs and make them feel welcomed, comfortable, and cared for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illusive45
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights on our winter Napa getaway. Checked in pretty late on a firgid Thurs night and the frotn desk lady welcomed us with a friendly demeanor.
She was gracious enough to upgrade us to a suite for free, and although it was facing the highway and railroad, we didn't find the noise to be very disruptive.
Free breakfast in the morning was pretty good considering! It gets busy around 8-9am though, so you may be [--] out of luck if you come late.
The room itself was very swanky. Love the modern decor and pastel colors.Bed was comfy and the bathroom resembled that of a higher star hotel.
I used the workout facilities on one occasion and although it was small, they had fresh towels and water cooler available. They also had a computer lab but we mainly used our own devices via the free wi-fi.
All in all a very excellent experience. Close enough to downtown and nearby vineyards. We'd stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank illusive45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Ivy Hotel in Napa. It was the perfect location and the rooms and amenities were excellent. It has a nice restaurant and bar across the parking lot and and a great seafood market down the street. I am in Napa frequently and will stay at the Ivy on a regular basis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is an upscale Best Western. The rooms have been renovated, and the furnishings are modern. We stayed one night and were satisfied with our stay. Our room was very clean with no worn furnishings. The good-sized but narrow room had a small refrigerator, microwave, and a one cup coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea supplies. Although the refrigerator didn't seem cold, it easily cooled off our two bottles of wine in less than two hours. The room also had a hair dryer, a flatscreen TV with remote, a safe, and two comfy chairs. We had a king bed with plenty of pillows, and the bed was comfortable, a little on the firm side. There was an i-pod dock clock radio which I found difficult to adjust without instructions. We easily connected to the internet while in our room. The inn has a nice pool area and a small lobby with complimentary newspapers. Check-in and check-out were a breeze, and employees were all friendly and helpful. Although the hotel website mentions under "dining" that they have wine and appetizers each day, staff told me that this occurs only on Fridays during the "tourist" season. Breakfast is served daily from 7 to 10. While the breakfast is not gourmet, it was plentiful and varied. They had make-your-own waffles, sausage, scrambled eggs, oatmeal, cereals, grapes and oranges, yogurt, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, cheese, and toasts and breads, as well as two juices, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. If you don't expect a fancy meal on china but just want something basic to start your day, you will be satisfied. I read other reviews that mentioned noise issues, so I asked for a quiet room. I was given a choice of three. I picked a room that faced the parking lot on the second floor. We didn't hear any noise from outside but found that we could hear the four college students in the next room through the connecting door. I also was awakened by guests at 3 a.m. who perhaps were leaving to get an early morning flight. The room doors slam if not held as they close. This could be a problem no matter which room you choose. I also tried the fitness center and was very happy with the equipment, the temperature of the room, and the ambiance. Towels and water are available, and the room has two televisions. The "business center" next door had a couple of computers and a printer with lots of paper. The hotel is conveniently located right off of Highway 29 as you leave Napa on your way to Yountville. It is on Solano Avenue, which is a frontage road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor away from Highway 29 and the front of the hotel and the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had a one-night business related stay here recently and had booked via Priceline, so I did not know the hotel name until I had paid for my room. I stay in a lot of properties via Priceline, especially when it is a last-minute one night stay. Still, I was a bit hesitant when I saw it was a Best Western that had accepted my price. Really? Best Western?

Well, what I have to say is this - if the Ivy Hotel is the face of the "new" Best Western brand I could see myself becoming a quick advocate and frequent guest of the hotel chain. This was beyond a pleasant surprise. The property is a bit out of the way, further north from town which is about the only downside I can see to staying here. The upsides, on the other hand, are plentiful. Free parking. Free hot, cooked breakfast (eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal and a host of pastries and cereals). Excellent coffee. Free wi-fi. Free newspapers. In essence, the stuff those more "premium" brands charge extra $$ for are all included here.

The entire property feels refreshed and boutique in nature. The rooms in particular have a truly pleasant aesthetic with hip wall coverings, flat screen TVs and nice furniture. Plantation shutters on the windows. Granite counters in the bath area. Like many motel/motor lodges this has wall unit A/C, but they must be fairly new as it cycled on and off throughout the night and never woke me.

The one area where it does still retain its older motor lodge/motel feel is the sound proofing; the doors are thin and the windows do permit some of the highway traffic into the room. I did not have any issues during my stay with it, but if you are a light sleeper it may be something that you notice more.

All in all, this felt more like what I'd expect from an upscale hotel property (like Kimpton) including the excellent breakfast. The staff were impeccable and friendly and the entire experience was hassle-free. I would rate this a 10/10 for value and convenience and would be more than pleased to return here in the future. They've won me over to the "consideration set" for Best Western in the future as well.

Room Tip: I have to imagine rooms facing the back of the property would be quieter than those on the front. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SFO-World-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Fresh new hotel at the southern entrance to the Napa Valley. Located just north of Napa, it is close to the wonderful wineries and restaurants in Yountville, St. Helena and Calistoga. Large comfortable rooms with all the bells and whistles you would expect at more expensive property. Free breakfast, pool, large fitness center and business center. Nice staff. (We ate at the newish Bottega restaurant in Yountville. Terrific!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on other side of highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neumanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#13 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
3.0 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Hotel Napa

Property: Ivy Hotel Napa
Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2233 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa)
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Hotel Napa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You deserve to go wine tasting in wine country, which is exactly what's in store for you around this gorgeous Napa hotel. Wineries, world-class restaurants, and hiking and cycling trails abound in this region. Your Napa hotel is close to the entire splendor of the area. Spend an afternoon touring different wineries and selecting a new favorite merlot. There are several great golf courses near the hotel, too. We're not just a great Napa hotel located near wineries. The proximity to Napa Valley world-class restaurants and local agricultural attractions is unbeatable. We're the only hotel in downtown Napa with an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. You don't need to be at the beach to work on your tan and enjoy a refreshing dip in turquoise waters. Guests are in luck because we're the only Premier Best Western in all of California. That means extra doses of luxury, amenities and service at this Napa hotel. Our deluxe, complimentary full breakfast features waffles, breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, hot eggs, hot breakfast meat, fresh fruits, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. The Napa Valley Wine Auction attracts travelers from around the world. This Napa hotel is within walking distance to local transportation, and has great customer service, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and free parking. Don't miss out on the local winemaker reception hosted in the lobby every Friday. The opulent, avant-garde boutique Napa hotel provides a stunning beginning to any trip. Friendly staff members are happy to help guests plan a day's agenda. Enjoy the great outdoors in style with a bicycle ride around town. Photographers and nature lovers delight in the endless beauty of Mother Nature. A stroll around town or a hike on one of the local trails will have you right in the middle of the adventure. Your gorgeous Napa hotel is an entryway to the unique experience of downtown Napa Valley. Reserve an unforgettable stay at Ivy Hotel Napa right now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing