We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy Hotel Napa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Got this hotel through Priceline while bidding for a 3 star quality hotel. I have not cared for Best Westerns in the past and was a little concerned when I got this one. Apparently there are 3 property levels and this one was their top level, premier. I was impressed upon arrival when entering the hotel lobby and seeing how clean the area was. The tile floors just sparkled. Check-in was easy and quick. We were traveling with another couple and were given 2 rooms close to each other on the 1st floor. This hotel is newly remodeled & updated. The rooms were clean and modern. There was a microwave, mini fridge and a safe in the room. The pool area outside was very nice and had pool furniture with cushions and (cloth)umbrellas, tables; not just your standard plastic that you see so often by a pool. The free breakfast was more than just dry pastries and juice. You could make your own waffles. There was plenty of fresh fruit, juices, hard boiled eggs. pastries, yogurt and other things to choose from. There was also an area to eat outside with nice tables, chairs and umbrellas. We arrived on a Weds. night and the next morning I noticed the safe was in a locked position. When I went to the front desk she politely informed me that the maintenance man was not in but she would send the manager down as soon as he arrived. He was there within in the half hour and re-set the safe for me. They have a computer available for free use. We purchased some baseball tickets online for a game in San Fran but were unable to print them because the printer was out of ink. The front desk clerk allowed me to come down to the front desk and print them there. That was typical of the service we received there. I felt their entire staff, manager included, went out of their way to make our stay as nice as possible. I would defintely stay at this hotel again. The location was convenient to town and the wineries.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fkhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    278
    158
    62
    47
See reviews for
142
372
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

On a whim we decided to drive up to Napa from San Francisco for a few days. Unfortunately, most of the hotels Yountvilee, St. Helena, etc. were booked. So we decided to try the Ivy Hotel by Best Western. And what a great surprise! The rooms were huge and very comfortable (all recently remodeled), and the location was great. We were literally 10 minutes from Youtnville yet we only paid half the price of staying in Yountville. If you want to see Napa but not pay a fortune to do it - this place is for you. And there is a great restaurant two blocks away (Fume)....make sure you check that out too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erock33626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

Wow - amzaing for a Best Western - don't be detered by the brand flag. A bit south of the wineries, which added extra time to getting around - but incredible rooms, tons of room, nicely decorated.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from Rm 143 as right beside the gym and the tv noise carries through the wall. Othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

This wasn't my first choice for making reservations but it turned out to be very nice! Rooms newly remodeled, a little funky. Clean and great location. Very nice breakfast.
I don't, however, recommend the Mexican restaurant next door.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nieuwcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

I was very warmly greeted by the front desk staff upon checking in. We were two hours early but they had our room ready to go with no problems. Very good service from the staff. The property and rooms have been completely redone. There is only slight evidence of the original building in a door or railing here and there. It looks great and is very modern. The renovations appear to be complete, we saw no signs of construction. Basically ingore any reivews of this hotel prior to April or May 2011. It's essentially a new properlt.

We had a single king room and liked the layout, there were nice windows and a couple big comfortable sitting chairs. The bed was comfortable but not the best ever. The bathroom was stylish and functional. The small fridge worked well and was not noisy. The pool looked nice and was enjoyed by other guests but we did not use it. I used the free wi-fi a few times and it worked well with no setup issue.
The best thing was the how nice a hotel this was for price - especially for it being Napa. Compared with the rest of the Napa hotels this place ranges from being a bargain to a complete steal!. We had more free cash to eat great food and buy wine! The location is also great right off highway 29 at the north end of the city of Napa. It's 5 minutes from downtown Napa and about 8 minutes from Yountville (when there is no traffic!).
Overall we had a great experience at the Ivy Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DG_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Best Western Ivy was great. All the rooms have been recently renovated and it shows. The staff are extremly friendly. The pool was great after a day of wine tasting, all the outdoor furniture is very nice. As an added bonus there is free breakfast. The breakfast bar was crowded, but the staff made sure everything was refilled as needed.

I would definitley recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyckala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

When I first saw Best Western, I questioned how nice this place could really be. It was that nice and more! The decorations were modern, artsy, and adorable. The room was spacious and had a bar area with a refrigerator. The staff was extremely knowledgeable about the area. The breakfast was a great addition each morning. There is an outside seating area with comfortable picnic tables and lounge seating for meals. The pool and hot tub was great. The location was perfect. It was minutes from downtown Napa. It was located right off of the main highway that leads to all of the Napa county wineries. You are just a couple of miles from the beginning of all the wineries. Made tastings and tours, then running back to the hotel for a mid-day breather perfect. Would definitely stay there next time we go back!

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the pool for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollypyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#14 of 30 in Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
3.0 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Hotel Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Hotel Napa

Property: Ivy Hotel Napa
Address: 4195 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-2233 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Ivy Hotel Napa)
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ivy Hotel Napa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You deserve to go wine tasting in wine country, which is exactly what's in store for you around this gorgeous Napa hotel. Wineries, world-class restaurants, and hiking and cycling trails abound in this region. Your Napa hotel is close to the entire splendor of the area. Spend an afternoon touring different wineries and selecting a new favorite merlot. There are several great golf courses near the hotel, too. We're not just a great Napa hotel located near wineries. The proximity to Napa Valley world-class restaurants and local agricultural attractions is unbeatable. We're the only hotel in downtown Napa with an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub. You don't need to be at the beach to work on your tan and enjoy a refreshing dip in turquoise waters. Guests are in luck because we're the only Premier Best Western in all of California. That means extra doses of luxury, amenities and service at this Napa hotel. Our deluxe, complimentary full breakfast features waffles, breads and pastries, yogurt, cereal, hot eggs, hot breakfast meat, fresh fruits, and 100% Arabica coffee and chilled juices. The Napa Valley Wine Auction attracts travelers from around the world. This Napa hotel is within walking distance to local transportation, and has great customer service, free Wi-Fi in the rooms, and free parking. Don't miss out on the local winemaker reception hosted in the lobby every Friday. The opulent, avant-garde boutique Napa hotel provides a stunning beginning to any trip. Friendly staff members are happy to help guests plan a day's agenda. Enjoy the great outdoors in style with a bicycle ride around town. Photographers and nature lovers delight in the endless beauty of Mother Nature. A stroll around town or a hike on one of the local trails will have you right in the middle of the adventure. Your gorgeous Napa hotel is an entryway to the unique experience of downtown Napa Valley. Reserve an unforgettable stay at Ivy Hotel Napa right now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ivy Hotel Napa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Hotel Napa
The Chateau Hotel
Ivy Hotel Napa Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing