We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities, Subpar Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Pros: The facilities were great. The indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, and sauna were fantastic and quite unexpected for a hotel. The complimentary full breakfast filled us up with a delicious assortment of cook-to-order items, pastries, fruits, grains, and drinks. The fireplace in the front lobby makes for nice reading of the complimentary Wall Street Journal and USA Today.

Cons: The front desk staff was mostly subpar not even greeting us we entered and exited the lobby. When informing them that it was our honeymoon, they were indifferent not attempting to accommodate even our most basic requests. The hotel is not within walking distance from downtown Napa so you'll need to plan your wine tasting and driving accordingly. They charge for Wi-Fi which is kind of ridiculous in this age of interconnectivity especially in the technology capital of the Bay Area.

FYI: Napa charges a $25/night tourism tax.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,482 - 1,488 of 2,223 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice appointed guest suites along with a beautiful hotel setting. Conveniently located to downtown Napa, the Napa Wine Train and freeway access. The Allegria Italian Restaurant is highly recommended; great food and ambiance.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBCB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites Napa Valley 15-17 November 2013. We were attending a wedding and I used Hilton Honors points to cover this stay. We arrived late around 1130PM since we had late flights from San Diego and had to drive from SFO. Check-in at the late hour was not a problem and we were off to our Two Room King Garden Suite (Room #237). The two room suite is just ok and not anything special because all Embassy Suites Napa Valley rooms are suites. We had a view of the Swan Pool/Fountain/Farm area but I wouldn’t pay for this location and recommend you wait to see where your room is located and just walk to see the swans etc.

The Embassy Suites Napa Valley is right next to Highway 29 and room #237 is parallel to the highway so we did hear a bit of traffic noise – especially motorcycles.

The free breakfast buffet is not bad but we did miss the evening manager’s reception so don’t have any details.

I used 80,000 Hilton Honor points for this stay and in hind sight; I recommend spending the money and bank the Hilton Honors points for later. We did experience a couple issues with this property. We left late morning and missed the initial housekeeper visit. On our way out to the wedding rehearsal, I stopped by the front desk and asked for our room to be picked up. The desk lady said no problem and I actually saw her write my request down. When we returned 4 hours later, our room was NOT cleaned. I called the front desk and a different desk person apologized because he saw my earlier request. We went to the rehearsal dinner and upon our return found our room to be picked up.

On our last morning we got the usual bill under the door and upon review found we had been charged a $25 per day guest room charge. Note that I used Hilton Honors points for our stay and didn’t understand the charges. I went down to the desk and asked about the charges. The desk person apologized and said “the charges were an error”. The desk took the charges off but it concerned me that this wasn’t caught by the property.

Overall nothing special but I would look at a different location on my next trip to Napa

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite away from Highway 29
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyD6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stay here every time we come to Napa. The staff is awesome, the rooms are huge, free breakfast, and management social at night with free drinks. The location is great for us going up valley or heading to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank ctc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in wine country. Everything was great, staff, room and the facility! The complimentary happy hour is always a bonus :-) The hotel is walkable from downtown Napa, albeit a long walk.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Ordtravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Ah, Napa. Only here can a Hilton chain hotel have a room service wine list that has more selections than food. We did not order room service, but that was charming. We did have a few drinks at the bar. The bartender was friendly and quick with humorous comebacks. Unlike a typical Hilton chain hotel bar, this one had an inviting atmosphere.

We stayed at this hotel twice in the past couple years as part of a large group. Both times, the made to order breakfast was well prepared -- typical Embassy Suites omelettes, pancakes, fresh fruit, cereals, teas, etc. The happy hour is a bit better than a typical Embassy Suites in that along with beer and popcorn, they also offered local wines by the glass, cheese, veggies, and pita with various dips.

This is a pet friendly hotel. It was common to see people bring their dogs into the atrium or around the gardens to watch the swans in the pool. They knew to keep their distance from the dogs. The rooms are consistently clean and quiet with comfortable beds. My only complaint is that the rooms get too warm, even when the circulation is off. We had to open the window one night to get the room below 80 degrees.

The location is great in that it is just off Route 29 and walking distance to downtown. So if you want to have a few glasses of wine, you don't have to worry about driving.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroad24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for our anniversary. The room size was very nice and the decor a little too modern for my taste but still very nice. We paid for a room with a pool view. The only way to view the pool was to open the door and leave it open or stand in the corner and open the blinds. You could not sit down and see the view. When we checked in we noticed the room was quite warm, so we turned on the air conditioner, which did not work. We were told that they turn off both heat and air during this time of year. If we were too hot we needed to open our window in the bedroom (which had NO screen). Upon taking a shower we found that the water did not drain well and you were standing in a 1/4 tub of water to shower. They did send someone up to address this issue and it was fixed. They breakfast was very good. I don't think I would choose this hotel for my next trip to Napa. Not the worst place I have ever stayed, but far from the best for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
1.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley

Address: 1075 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Napa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $205 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic town of Napa, near world- renowned wineries and home to celebrity chefs, the Embassy Suites Napa Valley is a Mediterranean style property built around an interior courtyard and millpond. A three story building, this charming property offers 205 spacious suites, two swimming pools, sauna, whirlpool, gift shop, restaurant, and lounge. Complimentary full breakfast and beverage reception make this a great choice for anyone looking for hidden value in the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Napa Valley
Napa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Napa Valley CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing