We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps nicer when the remodel is done”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

There was a major remodeling going on which we were told would lead to a revamped workout area. That precluded the made to order breakfast promised but it did have a hot plate eggs and sausage. There were decent snacks and free beer and wine each night. The furnishings were average for the chain. It did have a nice courtyard with swans and turtles in the pond, an indoor and outdoor pool, indoor sauna and hot tub. The TV was fine and the suite OK though the windows let in a bit of road noise from nearby highway 29. It appeared safe though the door did not automatically shut. Internet was $10/night in the rooms but parking was free. It is too far from the downtown square to walk. The staff seemed competent and friendly (and fixed quickly a triple charge for my internet).

Room Tip: Get a side away from Route 29 for better quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynaldo Z, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for providing your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and patience as we work to improve our property to provide guests with the best experience possible. We apologize for the inconvenience with your bill but are very glad we were able to resolve this on site for you. Thank you again for your review and we hope you'll visit us again after our renovations are complete.
Reynaldo Zertuche
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,668 - 1,674 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

After a recent stay the first thing you should be aware of is that the hotel is under construction.
It appears that it will be finished soon but I would check while booking. We found the room to spacious and clean, although the furniture is sporting a rather dated 80's look. Hopefully part of the remodel will be to update this look. There are two nice pools, both indoor and outdoor and a scenic, large courtyard area that has a beautiful water feature with two pair of black and white swans.
The free hot breakfast was above average quality although last day a rather large group came in and it was a bit chaotic. The hotel has free internet in the lobby business center, plenty of free parking and is located in a nice area near a shopping mall with easy access to Hwy 29. Downtown Napa is less than a mile away and there is a large grocery store about 2 minutes away.
The hotel staff was friendly and provided excellent and professional service, which definately made up for the shortcomings at this location due to the renovation.
All said we had a pretty nice stay at this location, however if you're in the area to tour the numerous wineries in the valley I would try and stay further north in either Yountville or St. Helena.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynaldo Z, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We appreciate you sharing your review of your recent stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed our pool and other amenities and appreciate your patience as we renovate the property to better accommodate guests. Your feedback regarding the shortcomings you experienced will help us to improve upon these areas and provide the best guest experience possible. We hope you will consider staying with us again and seeing our completed renovations. Thank you!
Reynaldo Zertuche
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I normally really enjoy Embassy suites. The two room layout, cocktail hour and breaky.
This unit, however, sadly lacked.
First there was a major remodel going on in the dining are no one spoke of when we booked. That precluded the normal cocktail hour and breakfast- what was set up in their stead was laughable but well intentioned. Had the remodel been mentioned- as it should have- we would have stayed elsewhere for $200
The hotel itself is old and feels it. We came from Healdsburg to see Gregg Allman- thought we'd treat ourselves to a night in Napa- a bit of a let down.
Unless there was a special deal on rates in the future I think we'll just drive the hour home as usual.

Room Tip: Freeway borders the complex- ask which rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynaldo Z, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay with us. We sincerely apologize that the current renovations were not mentioned prior to your arrival at our property. Our goal with our updates is to provide the best guest experience and regret this has compromised the experience during this process. We hope you will visit us again and see our improvements after the renovations. Thank you.
Reynaldo Zertuche
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites, how can you go wrong with Embassy! Well they did not let us down. Although they are renovating, it was still a nice hotel. The evening reception was good, breakfast a little chaotic because of the renovation but they tried to keep it going. The outdoor water "pool" with the black and white swan and ducks just made it spectacular. Rooms were very nice and the layout of the property was very nice.

Room Tip: Didn't see any rooms that wouldn't be good. Again get past the construction and your good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim092663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our family and another family made reservations with the Embassy Suites in Napa for the weekend of 1/19/2013-1/21/2013. We were 4 adults and 5 children (ages 1-4 years). In making the reservation I contacted the front desk several times in order to ensure that specific amenities were available (for example the indoor pool) and that we were going to have the room type that we selected (King Executive Suite) etc. Thus, there were ample opportunities for the front desk to inform us of any issues with regard to things that a reasonable person would expect to be disclosed in that they would impair normal working function of the hotel. I would also expect that the hotel would inform us of any potential health risks.

On our arrival we discovered that there was a massive construction site taking up the entire central atrium of the hotel. There were multiple men with jackhammers wearing respirator face masks and a large fan blowing around dust and other particulate debris. This area was not wall off from the hotel rooms which surround the central atrium. In addition the indoor pool was directly adjacent to the construction site and unusable due to the dust and debris as well as the deafening sound of the jackhammers that were to be in use from 10:00 AM until 6:00 PM.

I have several picture of the site including workmen with jackhammers and respirator masks as well as a huge fan blowing around dust and debris. The pictures show that this area was not walled off from the guest areas as there was no barrier between my camera and the site when I took the pictures.

I feel that it was completely unreasonable for the hotel to have failed to have informed us of the ongoing construction ahead of time. The sound and the dust and debris presented a major health issue to which we and our small children were exposed.

Moreover, my children have asthma which was exacerbated by the exposure and 3 of the adults have dust and mold allergies which were also significantly exacerbated by the exposure.

In the end we spent over an hour in the lobby with our 4 small children while the person at the front desk tried to make alternate arrangements. She eventually made reservations at the Napa Marriott because the Embassy Suites has a relationship with the Marriott. We had specifically chosen the Embassy Suites because it had suites where the children could sleep and enough room for families. In addition, we had planned to spend all of our time at the indoor pool as a special treat for our children.

At the Marriott, we ended up in tiny rooms with 2 double beds in lieu of suites with 2 rooms, king sized beds and pull out couches. I asked for a microwave to heat up our children's milk and a soiled microwave was brought to our room. In addition, a room service order was completely wrong. Our room was also directly across from the laundru room. The door of the laundry room was open most of the time which was quite noisy. Finally on the morning of our departure there was no hot water in the rooms in our wing from 9:30 AM TO 11:30 AM due to a PLANNED replacement of the old boiler with a new boiler. When I called the front desk the manager told me that it is NOT the hotel's policy
to inform guests of planned inconveniences ahead of time because the guests would be upset.

All in all it was a HORRIBLE weakened. As you might expect, without the indoor pool, there was really nothing for our children to do in Napa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reynaldo Z, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent group stay with us. We sincerely apologize that you were not informed of the construction being done at our property prior to your arrival. The health and safety of our guests is always our top priority. We are very glad we were able to relocate you but understand this may have been an inconvenience. We appreciate your feedback and will work to ensure we are properly notifying guests of ongoing construction. Thank you.
Reynaldo Zertuche, Hotel General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here (again) for a week long confernce. All guest rooms, meetings rooms and lobby have been recently renovated. Very nice. The last area to be renovated is the Atrium. Work started on last few days of conference and was incovenient. Because of the work, they did not offer "cook to order" breakfast (buffet only). In addition, the main elevators were not working, so if you were staying on an upper level, this was also inconvient. I stayed in a room backed up to the freeway, so I got a lot of freeway noise in the early morning. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful although I has to ask three times for the wine that was supposed to be in my room (part of the conference).

Nice resorts, buyt still a few kinks to works out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Me and 2 of my girlfriends went to Napa for a wine tasting weekend. The location of this hotel was perfect. Rooms are nice, scenery is beautiful, employees are helpful and pleasant...all in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snikcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,084 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley

Address: 1075 California Blvd, Napa, CA 94559-1061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Napa
#6 Family Hotel in Napa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range: $179 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic town of Napa, near world- renowned wineries and home to celebrity chefs, the Embassy Suites Napa Valley is a Mediterranean style property built around an interior courtyard and millpond. A three story building, this charming property offers 205 spacious suites, two swimming pools, sauna, whirlpool, gift shop, restaurant, and lounge. Complimentary full breakfast and beverage reception make this a great choice for anyone looking for hidden value in the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Napa Valley
Napa Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Napa Valley CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing