We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a motel”
Review of Chablis Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chablis Inn
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We picked this motel mostly because it was one of the few vacancies remaining on the weekend we went, and at a relatively decent price. Being that it is a motel, it was decent, but there's room for improvement. The room looks like it was painted and upgraded recently. The bed was comfortable with soft pillows, had a small fridge, good size closet space, and flat screen tv. It's in a good location, across the street from a market, starbucks, etc. and a short drive to downtown Napa. However being it's on a busy street, you can hear traffic. There were some things in the room that looks like they were neglected. The sink stop was broken and in the down position, so the sink was full of soapy water when we checked-in. We had to pry it out with a swiss army knife to drain it. It got hot in the room at night so we first turned on the AC but it was too loud to sleep comfortably. So we opened up the rear window, however the latches weren't functional and it would not stay open, so we used a shoe to keep it propped open. Also the screen was barely in place and just by touching it lightly, it fell out the back. So now we had to close the window to keep insects out, but we cranked on the AC while we left for the evening, so it wouldn't be so hot later at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (413)
There are newer reviews for Chablis Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 413 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Napa is an expensive place. Once you accept this reality and understand that this is a Motel, not BB/Hotel, you will be fine.
In our case we were booked for several activities (ballooning, biking, tours...) thus all we needed was a clean room to shower/sleep. Taking all this into account I do recommend it.

Thank moraesmarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was clean, but I was expecting more from the reviews and pictures online. Our room had a new bathroom counter top, but nothing else had been upgraded. The cupboard door that hid the bar fridge was missing a hinge. I thought the bed covers were odd and the pillows were small. The location is fine and close to many places such as Starbucks, Target, a grocery store, 7-11 and many others. I guess I was just expecting more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for four nights in Sept. 2013. Most important to us - the rooms were CLEAN and the beds were comfortable. Convenient location. Reasonable price for an area where hotels are quite expensive. Staff was friendly and accommodating. I would go back.

Room Tip: there are stairs to get to the second floor but it was a quieter location.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice clean motel, very big comfy bed, helpful friendly staff. It's a good 10 minute drive from downtown Napa but if you don't want drive there's a park and ride 5mins walk away and regular buses (services 8, 10 & 11) take you there in about 15-20 mins for $1.50.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This little place is ideally located in many ways. It is just a block off of Highway 29 and across the street from a Starbucks, pizza place (Round Table), awesome burger dive (la Squeeze), and a grocery store (very nice selection of fresh veggies, breads and other little treats to pick up on your way to the vineyards) to pick up some water (you need that if you are going wine tasting). By giving this a four rating I am not saying this is a four star hotel, but the value was a four for me. The place was clean and the rooms were a decent size. Right on Highway 29 it is a couple of miles or so from downtown Napa, but it is also ideally located for a quick ride up to Yountville where so many great restaurants are located. The building is much like so many motels in the shape of a small L with the room entry open to the outside. If this were downtown big city USA I would be a little more concerned about staying in a room so easily accessed by strangers, but this is Napa and I felt fine staying here. Decent room in a great location at a fair price. What more does a man need?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The location is wonderful. It's convenient to dining and a market. The room itself was plain and the front door couldn't be opened all the way because there was a large desk in the way. It was overpriced because that is the norm for Napa Valley.

When we checked in late at night we assumed the room was as hot as it was because it had been closed up all day with the air conditioning off. We cranked the power and opened the door and window to get the air moving. We stewed in that hot stuffy room all night and left early in the morning to tour the wineries. Before leaving we set the thermostat as low as it would go.

It was 88 degrees in Napa that day and when we got back to the room it was hotter in there then in the parking lot. The a/c was blowing hot, warm and cool air in random bursts. There were no vacancies anywhere so we had to suffer through another night before checking out at 7:45 the next morning and leaving the valley a day early. At least we were given a refund for the night we didn't use. There was no compensation for the 2 nights with no a/c.

Room Tip: Room 115 has both southern and western exposures and is hot and miserable.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
2.6 mi away
Napa Discovery Inn
Napa Discovery Inn
#25 of 30 in Napa
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#13 of 30 in Napa
653 reviews
1.7 mi away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#27 of 30 in Napa
805 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
3.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chablis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chablis Inn

Address: 3360 Solano Ave, Napa, CA 94558-3266
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range: $124 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chablis Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality, Pure and Simple. Value Hotel in the Heart of the Napa Valley. Conveniently located to Wineries, Restaurants and Shopping. We offer "Green" cleaning products and natural amenities as well as upgraded linens and towels to make your stay comfortable. We have a friendly and informative staff to help you discover the gems of the Napa Valley. As a guest of the Hotel you can also relax in our year round heated pool and hot tub after a hard day of wine tasting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chablis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chablis Hotel Napa
Chablis Motel Napa
Chablis Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing