We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“King Nebuccadnezar would have fit in perfectly.”
Review of Darioush Winery

Darioush Winery
Ranked #15 of 189 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Napa Valley wine experience - uncommon perspectives of the world and extraordinary wines. *Please note we are open by appointment only on Saturdays.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“King Nebuccadnezar would have fit in perfectly.”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Using stone that was brought in from overseas, the winery is a beautifully created setting that recreates Persepolis, the capital of ancient Persia. This sumptuous setting creates a great environment for their tasting room. Cracked glass, crackling fire places, and even a private tasting room (for library wines) set a very modern, while warm environment. The wines, named after Persian dynasties or kings, are very classic in style. There is a combination of Malbec, Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon, with Duel combining Cabernet Sauvignon and Shiraz. This is my favorite. However, the alteration to a 65% Shiraz, is different from other vintages, and perhaps not yet as mature or well balanced as previous endeavours. Further, the prices have really increased quite remarkably (we have been coming to the winery for the past 4 years), without necessarily an improvement in caliber. The late harvest wine (88% Semillon) named after the owner's wife (Shahpar) is spectacular -- but at $70 per 375 ml bottle, is a bit high!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lestertheinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    61
    31
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Persian delite”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely atmosphere to taste delicious wines. Friendly and sophisticated staff. Beautiful grounds with water features.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MJOMMO87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Top of the Line”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Diana was our tour guide and she was the most passionate, vibrant spokesperson for the Darioush Winery. The grounds and buildings on the property are breathtaking. Diana did an excellent job giving the history of the winery, explaining their niche in the market and was very informative about all aspects of the Darioush winery. Their wines are top notch! Do not miss this tour!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Timetorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved the wine. Disgusted by the host.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We visited Darioush Winery on Wednesday October 24, 2012 for the "Fine Wine, Artisan Cheeses" tasting. When we arrived we were greeted at the entrance by a middle aged man that introduced himself as Ish, are host for the afternoon. He seemed annoyed that everyone wasn't right on time, and went on to share that at 2PM he was going to start no matter whether everyone was present and that we should meet under the umbrellas. Fair enough. We met near the umbrellas and he began with a history of the winery.

Ish recounted, "Darioush had a mid-life crisis and built a winery. I instead bought fast cars and got a young girlfriend!" He was the only one to laugh, and throughout the afternoon he made references to his 22 year old girlfriend, how he left his middle aged wife with 5 children and that his ex-wife understood. He said that older women are boring, and he likes to "go out to eat late and do fun things."

I was appalled. I am 31, but I found his comments to be rude and obnoxious, especially since there were THREE married couple in our group. The other women present were in there late 30s, 40s and 60s. Of course the husbands just listened.

I finally asked the age of his eldest child and he answered 22 -- the age of his girlfriend. Everyone laughed and he was visibly upset. From that point on he was rude to me and shot back responses whenever I asked questions.

I loved Darioush and the wine, but I was less than impressed with Ish.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank FitWhit816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,503 reviews
3,533 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,901 helpful votes
“Nice setting, but underwhelming wine tasting experience”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently made a day trip out to Napa Valley made stop at the Darious Winery along Silverado Trail. We rather enjoyed the Persian setting outside this winery but didn't care much for their actual wines that much.

Arriving at the Darious Winery, we liked seeing the columns leading up to the entrance, flanked by villa pools. This was a classy outdoor setting that was worth seeing and was the highlight of our visit here. It set the expectations for a nice wine-tasting experience (US$35 for 5 wine tastings), which was sadly disappointing in terms of the actual wines and service.

Unfortunately, like other recent reviewers we found staff rather inattentive, not willing to discuss the wines and seemingly quite disinterested in our being there for wine tasting. We were also not impressed with their wines, having found noticeably better reds at the nearby Del Dotto, Black Stallion, Signorello and Baldacci Family wineries along Silverado.

Overall, we quite liked the setting at the Darious Winery but felt the wine tasting experience was poor and expensive considering the lack of attention and marginal quality of the wines served up the day we visited. Would have no reason to return to this particular winery based on our experience or to recommend to those in search of nice red wines on Silverado.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darioush Winery also viewed

 

Been to Darioush Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing