We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
u.k.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great stay but...”
Reviewed July 27, 2006

we.ve just returned from a stay at the old world inn and it is an amazing guest house with lots of extras as mentioned by other reviewers however when we arrived and came into the inn it took quite a while for the girl at the desk to even acknowledge that we had come in the door which made us feel slightly uncomfortable and not very welcome. when we came down for wine at 5.30, the hosts were not there and it was all a little awkward, it just needed someone to draw the guests together to talk. breakfast was great the next morning but again i think the host could have chatted a bit more. when we left the girl at reception didnt even lift her head to say goodbye. i loved the inn itself but felt as though i was staying in an intimate setting without the friendliness i had expected.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank mostor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    90
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
25
397
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 14, 2006

The Old World Inn captures the abiance of historic Napa along with the comforts of home! Highly recommended to anyone who is on the lookout for a B&B in Napa!! Simply the best!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

We spent three glorious days in Napa Valley, with The Old World Inn as our "home". The experience was perfect. The building, while very old, has been beautifully restored and maintained. It has all the charm one expects from a Victorian home - plus each room has a state of the art home theatre set up! The staff was terrific. Jeff, Sharon, Jennifer all went the extra mile to make our stay a real joy. The homemade cookies and wine in our room upon arrival, the late afternoon wine and cheese gatherings, and coming in from dinner to delicious desserts all made for a truely special stay. And the breakfasts were really amazing. We had to check out before breakfast was served, and the complete breakfast was waiting for us in the dining room refrigerator for us to take with us.

Advice for first timers: Let the staff recommend dinner spots and let them make reservations. They know the best places and have "pull" that can get you in. Also, follow their advice for the wineries you choose to visit. They really do know the best ones, and those that are not necessarily the most famous.

Again, a truely memorable experience. Five stars in every category!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TonyBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

I can not think of any major thing that would haave made this stay better. It felt like you were staying at a really good friends house. Big screen TV's and a large DVD collection was something new. Breakfast was very good but it is at 9:00 am sharp. The wines and chocolates at night hit the spot. The Inn is located on a busy street so the front rooms do hear the street noise. A Safeway grocery is a block away low prices on wine. For a tour Del Dotto vineyards had a fun cave tour. Zins Valley restaurant had some good food.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdog356c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2006

My Boyfriend took me here for my 26th birthday, and i must say, it was the best birthday i've ever had. Though he did book the room in advance, my trip included a two night stay in their Starry Night room which came with a nice small bottle of their house wine upon arrival. The room had everything to make it a cozy stay. The little touches here and there made me feel right at home. The best amenities included the private outdoor spa tub, a skylight, cute little desserts left out for you at night, and thier delicious breakfasts every morning. Russ and Sharon were wonderful hosts. If you are looking to get away for the weekend, Old World Inn is the place to stay. I definately would recommend it to others who enjoy staying at bed and breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2006

We stayed for 2 nights at the Old World Inn in early June - and went in expecting to relax - do the typical Napa vacation. Little did we expect that we would truly escape the day to day bustle of normal lives.

We checked in on a Thursday - and were given the grand tour by Jennifer - and were very taken aback at the little touches that the Innkeepers have included - such as the fresh baked cookies at the door - a bottle of the house wine in our room - bubble bath for the hot tub (something we always forget before leaving for vacation - and was perfect for the jacuzzi tub) - and the hooded robes!!

We were ready about an hour before dinner - and we went downstairs to check out the menus that the staff at Old World Inn have on file (such a huge benefit b/c we were able to plan our meal beforehand - and knew exactly what to expect at dinner). Jennifer was at the front desk and was incredibly helpful about the Napa area & the typical winery questions we asked. She took about 45 min of her time to give us a map - walk us through the entire Wine Region - and tell us about her favorite wineries - and which ones would fit the style we were looking for.

The remainder of our stay was amazing - and relaxing - and beyond what we were looking for - I so enjoyed my stay that I am planning on booking it for my parents wedding anniversary!

thank you Sharon, Russ & especially Jennifer for making our stay match perfection!!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vprmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 7, 2006

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Napa Valley, where we stayed at the Old World Inn. Not only did we find the accomodations to be terrific, but the inn keepers, Russ and Sharon, were incredible hosts, making us feel like part of their family. They made sure any needs we might have were seen to immediately and were tremendously helpful with turning us on to smaller local restaurants that serve delicious cuisine that we would have otherwise missed. Of course for delicious food we had to look no further than the inn where we were served gourmet breakfasts in the morning followed by cookies that were baked fresh throughout the day, and finally a savory chocolate desert at night.
The room we stayed in was beautiful, offering all the amenities we could want including a state of the art theater system at the foot of our bed and a relaxing hot tub, each being a perfect way to wind down after a full day of wine tours.
During our stay, we felt like we were truly on vacation because it was Russ and Sharon who made sure all the details of our trip were taken care of. There was nothing for us to do but to relax and enjoy ourselves. Even after our trip was done, and we had forgotten some items in our room, it was Russ and Sharon who made sure it was returned to us the next day. Both my wife and I would recommend the Old World Inn to anyone thinking about staying in Napa Valley.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.7 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabernet House, an Old World Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Property: Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cabernet House, an Old World Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabernet House, an Old World Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Cabernet House, An Old World Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing