We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Spring Getaway”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Early Spring Getaway”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here from the end of Feb. toward the beginning of Mar. Our stay was great. My husband and i enjoyed the room to the max, it had very nice and clean decor, comfy mattress and pillows, good fireplace, huge flat screen t.v. and a vintage flushing toiled, not to mention the sink and tub were also vintage but with good lighting. The breakfast was yummy and the wine hour relaxing, the night time sweets were delicious. The staff was very helpful. The inn itself was beautiful the patio and plants gorgeous.

Room Tip: Night in Paris has a nice window in the bathroom and it also has a mini balcony that open outward to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    90
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
25
397
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed at the Old World Inn for a quick weekend and immediately fell in love. We arrived extremely late (1am) and they happily arranged for our keys to be left in a central location. Breakfast was incredible. Macaroni and cheese souffle? Holy Cow. Our room was small, but clean, comfy and exuded the Napa ambiance with lovely antique furniture and old world decor. We found the Old World Inn to be one of the most affordable options in the area, which was surprising considering the amazing location (walking distance to downtown) and the free breakfast and wine hour. We've stayed in Napa several times and this was by far our favorite. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmberDawn505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here for just one night, but didnt want to leave. Our room was very quaint, no noise. The evening wine tasting was great and we had fun chatting with the other guests that evening. The breakfast in the morning was superb. I cant say anything bad about the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zink3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I have stayed in B&B's from Stateside to Switzerland. The charm of B&B's is that they each have their own distinct decor, amenities and location. The Old World Inn had it 's moments; good and bad. The good: The original house is well appointed, the room was comfortable and cozy, a wine tasting each evening, breakfast each morning.
The bad: Location (on a very busy main street which you must cross for either breakfast each morning or the wine tasting each afternoon), the noise level at this B&B was a concern most evenings (why not place carpet runners on the stairs and hallway owners)?
Breakfast seemingly took a lot of thought and care but was only mediocre. The set up was strange. You could only eat between 9am-10am. Arriving before 9am as suggested by an employee had us waiting in the salon while we watched the stafff set up chairs, place settings and extra tables. Strange. Be set up and ready in anticipation of early risers right?
The wine tasting was strange too. It was literally a tasting. So it was hard to mingle with other guests since your concentration was dedicated to getting and learning about your 3 pours.
Finally...I overheard several couples remark that no one was around to open the inn's locked door when they arrived for check-in. This was between the specified check in hours of 3pm-6pm.
I witnessed an empty front desk each morning and through out the afternoon.

I give the Old World Inn 3 stars because of for the "Bang for your buck". However I did not experience the relaxed "At home feeling" a B&B should provide. Too bad because the staff were friendly just not professional :(

Room Tip: Staying in the original house will allow you to experience the B&B atomsphere and you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanJosecivilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed here one night - very comfortable bed, spacious room and bathroom. We were fortunate to be able to spend some time with the owners who are very nice, helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast was unusual and delicious. The bath soap, shampoo, and conditioner are made inhouse.
A lot of personality and warmth.
Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the OWL from 1/8 thru 1/11-2014. We arrived late evening in the middle of the week after a horrible rental car experience from Hertz/Hotwire at SFO. I liked the fact that I received an email the afternoon of our arrival as a sort of pre-welcome and a way to let the inn know of our delay at SFO. Upon arrival it was very quiet (as I said it was mid week in the middle of winter) but Melanie was still there waiting to check us in and make sure we were comfortable. We stayed in the cottage which was very cozy and gave you that "right at home" feel. The gas fireplace was wonderful since it was a bit brisk outside. After arriving back to our room from getting a bite to eat at Pica-Pica in the Oxbow Market we were pleasantly surprised with a note that said we could expect a complementary breakfast in our room the next morning which was a wonderful touch after a long and fairly intense day of traveling to get there.

After a relaxing nights sleep (bed was wonderful) we awoke, showered (hot water temp & pressure was perfect) and were ready about the time Janet & Olga brought a fabulous breakfast, juice, coffee etc... to our room. Janet took the time to give us some suggestions on wineries to visit etc. (which we appreciated). Once we arrived back at the inn that evening we stopped by for a few "goodies for the guest" they have every evening and went over to the other property and enjoyed the tasting with Matthew and some other guests. The facility is beautiful and the warm and cozy atmosphere really allows for relaxing, meeting new people and enjoying conversation.

By the time we checked out on sat. morning there was a full house for breakfast and that warm/cozy atmosphere just continued to carry over. The entire staff was very pleasant and attentive, the breakfast was wonderful. We plan to try a different room type on our next trip (gonna be hard to bypass the cottage though) and are looking forward to our return.

Rodney & Sheila S

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The place was awesome. Wonderful location right around downtown. Most of the attractions were in walking distance except for the wineries of course. But they are probably around 30 mins drive if not less from the inn. The inn-keepers were very pleasant and accessible. The room was very cozy. They serve gourmet breakfast and they tasted delicious. One of the days we stayed there, the inn-keeper served us breakfast in bed. It was fantastic. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK1234_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Napa Valley
#11 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabernet House, an Old World Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Property: Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cabernet House, an Old World Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabernet House, an Old World Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Cabernet House, An Old World Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing