We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Place and Very Expensive”
Review of Cabernet House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabernet House
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I were there on the weekend of September 13. We got a cottage which is part of an old house on the back of the property. Seems like they bought old houses on the back street and kind of make some of the rooms available for renters. This one had extremely small bathroom and an incredible old kitchen (why would I have a full kitchen for a weekend). The place smell bad and they had some kind of deodorant in the kitchen but did not work after the first day. The service people were not attentive, never smile and the breakfast was inedible. The first morning was egg cheese soufflé and the second morning was macaroni and cheese soufflé. They do not offer decaf coffee or non- dairy breakfast.
The bill was $660.00 for two nights. Never will stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alicia2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa_Old_World_Inn, Owner at Cabernet House, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We use TripAdvisor when we travel, and we'd be pretty scared staying at the property you describe here. I am so sorry you had such a poor stay, Alicia. We want everyone who stays with us to have a special, memorable time.

This review came as a shock, as this was a great weekend, with lots of happy guests at our wine reception and breakfast, laughing and joking and having a great time. We loved helping them with their daily tours and tastings at the wineries, and we called and got many of them into some of the top restaurants that were telling everyone that they were booked solid. We love doing this kind of stuff-- it's all about making someone's visit to Napa Valley special and memorable. We want you to really feel like we’re taking good care of you.

In the interest of fairness, we'd like to share what we did for you with other folks who may be reading your review:

You were here to celebrate your birthday, and we wanted to make it special for you, in a nice, subtle way. We put a "Happy Birthday" card in your room, signed by all of us. It was on the table next to your featherbed.

There was also a welcome letter from me and my wife, Sharon. Since I don't always get to meet everyone when they check in, I let you know that we are always on property, and if you need anything, to please call me. I even gave you my phone number. I'm sorry you didn't call. I would have loved to bring you the things you needed to make your stay better.

You originally booked a very, very small room called "Terra". These rooms have lots of amenities (fireplace, spa tub, HDTV/DVD, featherbed, handmade evening chocolates, and more)-- but they are downright *TINY* rooms. We warn folks about this when folks book, just so they aren't surprised or disappointed.

The weekend you stayed with us, downtown Napa hotels were $750/night, and neighboring B&Bs were $450-$550/night.

By contrast, our little Terra room is only $275/night.

We know $275/night is still super expensive. Lodging prices here are just plain crazy, because land costs more than a million dollars an acre downtown (just for the land-- not the buildings). But when you compare the price of our Terra room to other places in downtown Napa, it's at least $100-$400 per night less.

Here's the funny part: Because we had a nicer (much larger) room available with a king-sized featherbed, fireplace, spa tub, and 50” HDTV/DVD, We UPGRADED you to our family suite instead of keeping you in the tiny Terra room!

The family suite you stayed in has a larger bedroom with a bay window and a very romantic king-sized canopy featherbed. It also has a large closet (Terra has only an armoire), a somewhat larger bathroom (with an outside balcony), and a small 10' x 14' kitchen to enjoy your morning coffee or a snack. All told, the room+bath+balcony is about 3x the size of the Terra room you booked. This is the first time, ever, that someone has not liked being upgraded to that suite.

We had not idea you would be put off by the kitchen. I'm so sorry. Had you told us when you checked in, we would have been happy to give you the smaller room you originally booked, and upgrade someone else to the suite. Again, I just feel badly that I didn't know. We're here for you!

The other nice thing about the family suite is that it's in a small historic cottage with only 2 other guest rooms. So it's much quieter and more private than a room in the main house (which has 14 rooms). We did a meticulous restoration of that cottage in 2008, which was actually recognized by the Napa Historical Society and put on their Candlelight Tour. It has all new electrical, new plumbing, new AC to all rooms, as well as slate floors, brand new historically-correct hex and subway tile in the bathrooms, and some incredible original native-growth douglas fir floors that were lovingly restored. It also has a beautiful new fireplace.

The "funny smell" on that first day was freshly ground coffee we had just put in the kitchen, mixed with our 100% organic Lavender cleaning products. It only smells that way for an hour or so, when we first put in the coffee. Again, our apologies. The family suite is the only room on property with its own coffee maker. All rooms have French Press coffee (decaf and regular) and farm-fresh milk, cream, and non-dairy soy milk available in our main living/dining areas.

Had we known you wanted non-dairy creamer and decaf coffee for the coffee maker in your room, we would have been happy to bring it to you. We really do want to take good care of you. We are so sorry that we didn't know you wanted this.

The first morning's "inedible" breakfast was a salsa souffle', with a home-baked spice bread (a guest favorite!), and freshly baked Parisian style croissants. We are one of the last hotels in the country that bakes their own croissants and serves them to guests still hot out of the ovens. Making croissants is a labor of love (*very* time intensive), but it's something special, and we love to do this for our guests. Our greatest compliments have come from our French and Québécois guests, who tell us our croissants are the best they've had anywhere in the US. We are sorry you found them inedible. We would have been happy to make you something else, had we known.

Each day we serve at least half a dozen different and special breakfasts for guests who have food allergies or restrictions. We ask about this when you book, and when you check in, and we have breakfast options cards in several areas of the inn. We were never told about any allergies to dairy. Again, we do these special meals every day. We would have been so happy to make a wonderful breakfast for you. I am sorry we didn't know about this.

You end your review by saying you'll never stay here again. But I'm reaching out to you personally, and via this response, to ask if you can find it in your heart to give us a second chance. We would love to have you come back, and take great care of you. We hope you will consider this.

-Russ Herschelmann
Owner/Innkeeper
Napa Old World Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 586 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

First time at a bed and breakfast place. It was a very pleasant experience staying at the Old World Inn.

They had great snacks. Loved cayenne in the chocolate. Complimentary wines tastings were a nice touch. Great breakfast presentation.

Wonderful staff!!

Room Tip: We stayed in allegria which had a jacuzzi tub in the room. Downside the room is next to stairs whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sm20030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just had a short stay at Old World Inn, but wish we could've stayed longer! We had a late check in which the Innkeepers arranged ahead of time with clear and easy instructions. The room was just as pictured, comfortable, cozy and clean. What a charming property!

Unfortunately we missed the wine reception and had an early morning departure so missed breakfast too. Hopefully we'll have a chance to return and take part in those activities!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cl361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a lovely inn with a bright exterior & interesting, fun interior. Our room, Night in Paris, was small but a comfy king bed with private bath. Love the old claw-foot tub. Everyone was very helpful & attentive. Went to the wine tasting, which was located in another of their houses across the street, & had a delightful time. The wine was great & appetizers were served. Enjoyed speaking with other guests about their Napa experiences. In the back yard of the main inn is a wonderful fire pit with ample seating. We loved drinking wine & eating chocolate by firelight. What a fitting end to a fun day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Inn is absolutely beautiful, with generous common areas and gorgeous old rooms (we stayed in Chocolat, which was HUGE, had an amazing TV, big windows, and a bathroom with tub and shower). Nice self-service amenities like tea, coffee, hot chocolate, movies, etc. OWI definitely has more of a guesthouse feel than a small B&B, with a large, somewhat communal breakfast served by a full staff. Breakfast was really delicious and creative (scones and an egg/bread souffle thing that was SO GOOD). They were also able to accommodate my gluten free diet, and even had separate red dishes for the purpose, which made me MUCH more comfortable about eating safely. We stayed in several B&Bs during our road trip down the West Coast, and the OWI was one of our favorites. Would definitely stay again!
Also- a Napa tip: don’t miss the Oxbow Public Market. Really yummy food and super cute shops!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enjoy_period60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice place with comfortable accommodations. Friendly Inn keepers and a great breakfast!! We enjoyed our stay and thought the inn was lovely. Relaxing with family and friends around the fire pit was nice too! Parking was a bit to be desired and they could have better lighting throughout the vineyard area to the rooms. Beautiful quaint decor inside and very welcoming! We would stay here again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights here from LA and on our way to SFO. The property resides on a quiet and safe neighbourhood. Its very near to all the attractio in Napa. we stayed in room on 2nd fl, 2nd room after the staircase. The room setup is lovely with a wide screen TV (I believe is 50"), a lovely and huge bathroom with French bathtub. we arrived late at about 11pm, and found that there were cookies and brownie on the table, there hot water with tea bags and also french press coffee. So you can have drink and something to eat if you feel hungry at night. Not forgetting the fantastic breakfast which all prepare from he kitchen fresh, make you feel like having another serving, it comes with fresh fruits, fruit juice and coffee/Tea.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ongtyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#15 of 30 in Napa
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabernet House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabernet House

Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range: $136 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cabernet House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Cabernet House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Cabernet House Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing