We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I don't know how much more I can add - this place deserves all the praise it gets!

This B&B provides so much attention to detail - starting with the entire guidebook they give you of restaurants, with their own person comments - I love that! The rooms are huge for a B&B, the breakfast and treats are so incredibly tasty, and the rooms are impeccably clean.

There is free parking, free wifi, continuous coffee/tea/hot chocolate, a patio with a outdoor fire pit, and it is within walking distance to nearly everything in downtown.

Amazing place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    85
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
24
382
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved this B and B! We told our host we wanted to go to a seafood restaurant and asked what she recommended. She called the restaurant for us and made reservations. The breakfast each morning was fantastic!!! Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scje0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We couldn't be happier about choosing to stay at the Old World Inn. The staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. The food was delicious! The wine tastings in the evenings were such a special treat. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Loved La Boheme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodluver82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent service. Great complimentary extras - desserts, snacks, DVDs, wine tasting on site. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are cozy, clean, and tastefully decorated. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Allegria has a great spa tub in a bay window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed in the Chocolat room in the main house. The room and bathroom were huge! The bed was very comfortable. The only downsides to this room are that it is right at the top of the stairs and it can get noisy because the stairs creak very loudly. The room also faces the street and the cars are pretty loud even on a Monday night, when I was there. My mom stayed in the Paris room which was beautiful but incredibly small. I was glad 2 people were not staying in this room because it would have been very tight with 2 suitcases. My mom said that she slept wonderfully though.

The management was great and very accommodating for my dietary restrictions. I don't eat eggs or pork and of course an egg souffle was on the menu. They instead made me a wonderful bowl of oatmeal. My mom had the egg souffle but did not care for it. And several other people were just picking at on their plate. Breakfast is served from 9am-10am. But they do have coffee and tea to drink before breakfast is served. They also have desserts set out at night which was a nice little bedtime snack.

Overall I would definitely stay here again. Prices were great during the week!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Located near center of Napa we spent my birthday weekend here. The Inn has everything that I look for in a B & B, charming rooms, great food and a very attentive staff. An easy walk to downtown and short drive to the wineries. In summary we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCEyeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hills
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent B&B...large rooms, wonderful breakfast, and easy walking distance to great shops and dining!! The wine tastings in the evening were a great way to meet all the other travelers staying at the inn !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabernet House, an Old World Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Property: Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cabernet House, an Old World Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Cabernet House, An Old World Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing