We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Very romantic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay. Very romantic!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

In Napa Valley we stayed at the Old World Inn. Excellent place to stay. In walking distance of many restaurants, shopping areas and grocery stores. Rooms are small but cozy with a fireplace. Hot breakfast was excellent. Some kind of an egg soufflé every morning with something fruity and a baked goody, orange juice and coffee. Very elegantly done. Evening wine and cheese was ok. Different wineries come in each evening and you sample their wines. Also had homemade desserts put out every evening in the lobby with coffee and tea which were also very good. Everyone at the front desk were very accommodating and helpful. Rooms were very clean. Fire pit outdoors to sit around in the evening.

Room Tip: In Napa Valley we stayed at the Old World Inn. Excellent place to stay. In walking distance of man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine21117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    90
    36
    14
    7
See reviews for
25
397
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The wine tasting was a little disappointing. It was crowded and there weren't enough places to sit. The actual tasting was very small. Those are the only complaints. Tom was warm and welcoming. Very informative. We stayed in "Night in Paris" in one of the smaller houses. The room and bathroom were gorgeous, very romantic. Great night's sleep...the feather bed and pillows were fantastic. The breakfast was delicious with large portions. Pay more for breakfast in bed!

Room Tip: Night in Paris is very romantic and you'll have the best night's sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa0520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent three nights at the Old World Inn and were delighted with all aspects of our stay. The bed/bath was well appointed and very comfortable. We were in one of the cottages which was a bonus as we could hang out with our friends in the living room area; I would highly recommend the cottage if you have three couples travelling together. The staff did a very good job of making restaurant and winery reccomendations and made all of our reservations for us. They also armed us with coupons for all of the places they could that we had on our list to visit. We left early on Sunday so they left a lovely to-go breakfast for us in the fridge in the main house that we were able to enjoy before we got on the road. The Saturday evening wine tasting in the cellar was hosted by our innkeeper himself. It was the most entertaining and informative wine presentation I have had yet at an inn in Napa. I love the bit about "drinking stars". Other nice touches were the outdoor firepit conversation areas and nightly dessert set out for after dinner. Literally within a 5-10 minute walk of all the fabulous downtown Napa restaurants. I highly recommend Restaurante Allegria if you like Italian food and Annettes for chocolates and ice cream on the way back to the Inn was a nightly stop for us!

Room Tip: The cottage with rooms 4,5 and 6 would be ideal for a group of 2 or 3 couples as you have the living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymcobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I visited for one night just to get away for the weekend. The Tuscany room was great! The projection screen was perfect for the movies we rented, the spa tub was great, the bed was comfy, and the room was cute! The staff is very friendly and breakfast was yummy! The board games, movies and late night sweets were also great too! This is a great place for R & R. Especially if youre looking for a little getaway that isnt too far from home.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spideybriefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

all the reviews are correct!!! This is a great place to stay. We stayed in Suite #2 and it was real quiet. the bed was very comfortable. they have a great place to return from dinner and sit outside with a fire and a bottle of wine. The breakfast was good (my wife loved it) but not sure if i would have enjoyed the same thing both mornings. no surprises at all and will stay again when i'm back in the area.. it was nice to sit on the porch with a glass of wine while waiting to go out to dinner. it is on a busy street so you need to cross a couple homes down the street. This property has 3 homes. Two of them are next to each other with a cottage in the back and the other property is 1 block away. They had a wine tasting at the other location and it appeared to be nice as well. this house may be better if you are worried about crossing the street and it's 2 blocks closer to the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our first stay in Napa and the Old World Inn made it all the more special. The inn owners and staff were so welcoming and a great resource for making reservations for dinner, suggestions for wineries, and other excursions. It is a great location to walk to most of the shops in Napa including the Oxbow Market, where we could pick up all the fixings for a romantic picnic lunch. The guest rooms were wonderfully decorated, the bathroom was huge with a luxurious two person tub and a separate shower. Coffee was always on, and always hot, cookies greeted us every afternoon, wine tastings were on site each night. Two fabulous chocolate desserts greeted us each evening upon returning after dinner. We definitely look forward to returning for another visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coughlinek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Since this was our first experience with a B&B we weren't sure what to expect but from the moment we walked in we felt welcomed and special. Fresh baked cookies, wine tastings and a superb gourmet breakfast, did I mention the french press coffee that was always available...all included! We stayed in the Chocolat Room which was warm and welcoming and quite large. The decorations and the care that was taken with everything was obvious. It seemed that every detail was well thought out from the room to the outside gathering places, little nooks to sit, relax and read the paper or visit with new friends. We spent two days and had nothing planned for the second day and asking for help, we were immediately booked for a few wine tastings. Cakebread would have been $30 but since the Inn booked it, it was free! There was nothing that I would change about our first experience and we are definitely looking forward to a return visit one day. Thank you, Old World Inn!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank laadragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
0.7 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabernet House, an Old World Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabernet House, an Old World Inn

Property: Cabernet House, an Old World Inn
Address: 1301 Jefferson St, Napa, CA 94559-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cabernet House, an Old World Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979 in a historic Landmark building built in 1906, Old World Inn's Cabernet House was one of the first small hotels in the Napa Valley. Choose from 8 rooms or a Private Cottage, all with fireplaces and featherbeds. Discover tips and secrets of the Napa Valley from innkeepers who are locals and love sharing their favorite spots. Enjoy a gourmet "wine taster's" breakfast each morning, come back and relax in our wine cellar at the afternoon wine reception at our sister property (Hotel Napa Valley, just one block away). Walk to dinner (choose from 50+ restaurants!), Then stroll back to find handmade chocolate nibbles waiting for you. Discover the Napa Valley from a different perspective! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cabernet House, an Old World Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old World Hotel Napa
Cabernet House, An Old World Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing