We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabernet House
Nearby Hotels
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel(Napa)(Great Value!)
$265
$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Verasa Napa(Napa)(Great Value!)
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$650
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$264
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Napa Valley(Napa)(Great Value!)
$279
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Napa Valley(Napa)(Great Value!)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Napa(Napa)(Great Value!)
$259
$251
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silverado Resort and Spa(Napa)(Great Value!)
$235
$172
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveler rating
475
113
46
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
113
46
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate dessertsstarry nightla bibliotecachocolat roomwine tastingbarrel roombella tuscanyharvest suitewatch moviesprivate cottagedowntown napathe main housefire pitbed and breakfastwine receptioneach eveningwithin walking distance to downtown
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 658 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Old World Inn (in the Private Cottage) for one night during our trip to Napa. In line with most reviews I read, the service at this location is fantastic! We were greeted with a smile by Tom, and he was more than willing to accomodate any reasonable request we had. The Inn hosts a tasting each night from a local vineyard that we highly recommend attending! We got to know the folks from Judd very well and had some of the most fun on our trip getting to know the other guests during this event. There are hundreds of DVD movies to choose from and watch in your room. Our room (house) was extremely well-kept and bed was wonderful to sleep in. The breakfast is homemade every morning and extremely tasty! Our only complaint was the price -- it's tough to stay several days in one location at +$300/night. HOWEVER...you get what you pay for and it was an overall wonderful experience. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hucklberrry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa_Old_World_Inn, Innkeeper at Cabernet House, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We're so glad that you had a wonderful time!

We agree that staying in the Napa Valley is expensive-- it's a bit of a shock when coming from most anywhere (including San Francisco).

We do have rooms that run less than $300/night, even during the busy season-- but you chose our most expensive, exclusively private, option: The Private Cottage. We're not sure if you checked the prices/rates of other private cottages in the Napa Valley, esp those in the Napa/Yountville area. They tend to run $400-900/night midweek and $500-1,200+ on weekends!

So the price of our cozy little cottage is a relative bargain, in comparison. That's intentional: We want it to be a great value.

However, we don't want to downplay the cost-- $300-400 is a lot of money to spend staying anywhere. :)

For those looking to save money when staying in Napa, some tips:

1. Book early (several months in advance). Lower priced rooms always book up first!

2. Stay midweek (Sunday-Thursday). This can save you hundreds of $$ on a 3 or 4 night stay.

3. The biggest saver of all: Stay November-March, when rates are up to half off!

We want everyone who visits the Napa Valley to have a great time. There is so much here to see and do. We love sharing our home with fellow travelers, and we hope to see you again, soon. :)

Warm Regards from all of us at the Napa Old World Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night and were disappointed by the small bedroom and bathroom.
There was such a large bed that there was hardly any room to move in the bedroom! The wardrobe was small and there wasn't much drawer space either.
We were surprised that there was tinned fruit on the breakfast menu. This seemed strange in California which produces a lot of wonderful fruit.
The innkeeper was somewhat offhand when we left and this created a very bad impression.
Overall we felt it was an expensive place to stay and we prefer having more space at a motel and at a better price too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjwhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa_Old_World_Inn, Innkeeper at Cabernet House, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

We totally agree with you! Your other reviews compare us to Sutter Creek Days Inn ($79/nt) and the Holiday Inn Express SF. Both of these places have larger rooms, and cost much, much less.

We realize B&Bs are not for everyone-- you may not have taken advantage of our extensive trip planning services, or our freshly baked chocolate chip cookies, our afternoon wine reception, or complimentary tasting passes to local wineries. And the fact that you didn't mention our complimentary French Press coffee or chocolate desserts? We're guessing you missed those, too!

We are so sorry that you did not have a good time when you stayed with us in our home. We want folks that come here to feel like they are staying at a friend's house—the pace is very relaxed, and friendly. Our guests tend to linger around the breakfast table, chatting about their travels and families. The wine reception is a happy time, full of laughter and shared stories. Sadly, for some, our home or hospitality does not meet their expectations. For this, we apologize. As fellow travelers, we want everyone who comes to Napa to have a great time.

And we're sorry you didn't like our breakfast fruit-- we've recently switched to doing more interesting fruit courses (strawberry soup, baked apple crisp, melon merlot, all freshly prepared), based on feedback and suggestions from many of our "foodie" guests.

We hope that this review of the Old World Inn is helpful for guests who are thinking about staying with us. Napa is such a special place. Where you stay can really make a difference.

Sincerely, the Entire Staff at the Napa Old World Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our 13 year old son actually did the research and selected this B & B for our NAPA portion of our vacation. We arrived the day after I hurt my back in Yosemite - so I was in pain and wanted to rest. We got there just after 3 pm along with two other couples. There was one inn keeper in charge (not one of the owners) and he was running the entire show. He was in the process of fixing a toilet problem, checking us all in, and trying to get the afternoon "extras" together. I must say, he did quite well under the pressure but it was a bit time consuming. We stayed on the 3rd floor of one of the houses with the suites. Our son had his own room with a king size bed and large flat screen tv. The stairs about killed me but I was happy for the privacy. There was a bit of communication breakdown in that we were told that the a/c had not yet been installed. It was pretty warm that day so we later asked for an oscillating fan which he happily put together straight out of the box. But, that night our rooms stayed at about 85 degrees. So we decided to check out the next morning - and find somewhere else to stay. We figured that they were booked solid and this was our only choice. When we brought it to their attention, they asked if they could have a few minutes to see what options we might have. We finished our breakfast and were informed that we could move across the street to one of their cottages and that we would have the cottage to ourselves. In addition, for our inconvenience they covered our second night's stay. First of all, we were floored that they would cover the cost as we would have been happy to just be moved. They felt bad, however, because the room did have a/c...but a part of the system and broken and that's why it wasn't working. So in our opinion, they went ABOVE and BEYOND to make things right.
Now...we also want to mention that one of our favorite parts of our entire trip was sitting in the courtyard having wine with some of the other guests and hearing their travel stories. It was our first time staying at a B & B with other people! We are normally alone. The breakfasts were AMAZING! The afternoon treats were great and the atmosphere was so comfortable. The decor is modern and cool, the linens were yummy, and the accommodations were beyond what we expected even with all of the great recommendations on TripAdvisor. This family has done an incredible job with the entire place and we can't wait to return. We highly - highly - highly recommend it!!!

Room Tip: Ask them to place you- they will
Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
Thank 2futurehosts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This was our first B&B we fell in love with it. Tom was very friendly and helpful. We already booked another trip. Would deffenitly recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2smile20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We had a great stay. For a B/B this is top notch. The little things were great; coffee/tea any time (french press); fresh cookies in afternoon; wine/goodies before dinner; dessert when you get back from dinner. House has character. We stayed in main house. The main road is noisy, but not in middle of night. I enclose map of main house (not to scale). Bibliotecha was small, but a nice room, great bed. We had no car and were able to walk town easily and van trips for wine tours.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sp1nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews