We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location -- Needs TLC”
Review of La Belle Epoque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Belle Epoque
Ranked #13 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had reservations for the Gamay room and a check-in time of 3:00. I called to see if we could check in at 4:30 and the "innkeeper" said she would not be there as 'the wedding party already checked in, and that there would be no wine reception because the wedding party was out" (which turned out to be two people out of the nine of us at breakfast). She said we were in the Cabernet room and I told her that was incorrect, we had the Gamay room. She then said "the air conditioning doesn't work in that room so you were switched". No one called us, and we were not offered any other room. The Caberet room was on the second floor, carpet was buckled in a few places and the bathroom sink did not have a sink plug (be careful if you have contact lenses), which must not have a trap as it smelled when you ran the water. Also, if you have a problem with steps, do not book a room on the second floor as even though the staircase is wide, there are 20 narrow steps. We had a bottle of wine in our room since there was no wine reception. The couch in the living room had seen better days, as you sunk in when you sat down on it. The patio/courtyard would be nice if the dead bush was removed, the patio had been cleaned/swept of the leaves, etc. and the lattice in the fence had been repaired so you did not see the port-o-let next door. Had a good, one-course breakfast. Hopefully someone buys this inn and can bring it back to its natural grace and beauty. Would not recommend under current innkeeper/management.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CEJTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia534, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Inn. We are the new managers under new ownership and working to bring La Belle back to her former glory. We have already made changes and the living room couch is being replaced as we speak. We already hired new gardeners who have cleaned up the outside and the front fountain is bubbling again. We have hired a new pastry chef and the morning breakfasts are true gourmet. Please try is again when you return to Napa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 483 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Ten years ago, I spent 2 weeks there, including a romantic weekend with my husband. We had such as wonderful time so we booked it again, hoping to trace the memory. First thing we noticed is that the furniture are not as nice as it used to be. Then the free wine tasting did not happen. The room is still nice, still has the Victorian mansion feeling. The backyard is not as cleaned and it looked like nobody has trimmed the trees for a long time. The next morning, we talked with the inn keeper and found out that the house is now a bank owned property and the inn keeper works for the bank at this point. But the house is in escrow right now so the new owner seems to have some plans for this place. Hope the new owner takes good care of the place. It truly is a Victorian gem and deserve the personal touch that we experienced 10 years ago.

The breakfast is still good, but not as delicious as we remembered ten years ago. We slept in the Merlot room. Nice room. It has a window A/C and it is too loud.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LosAngelesShopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia534, Manager at La Belle Epoque, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

I am the new manager under new ownership of La Belle Epoque B&B. 10 years ago I used to own La Belle Epoque so it is very possible that you stayed with us. Changes have already been made and new guests can expect a wonderful stay with our personalized service and new amenities. We hope you will return before 10 more years! Georgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Made a last minute decision to go to Napa with my boyfriend and after a lot of research, I narrowed my options down between this place and the Old World Inn since most other places within my price range were booked (our price range was ideally between $100-150, but the averages seem to be pretty high for Napa, so we increased our price range to $200-300). Went with La Belle Epoque because I couldn't see exactly which room I was going to get with Old World Inn (Acqua was the only room option available). Prices were similar. We paid $290 before taxes for the Elizabeth room for one Saturday night. Booked everything online (and paid for it online). I think usually they have a 2 night min for the weekends (as do a lot of places around Napa), but since this was last min, it was available for 1 night.

Received a confirmation email the next morning and was asked what time we would be able to check in (check in is from 3-5 PM) as the lady is only there during check-in hours. We ended up checking in earlier (2:30 PM), which worked out well as I was feeling a bit sick and just wanted to rest for a bit. The room is kind of dark, and with the blinds closed, completely dark. The temperature control worked well, there was a working fireplace (which kept the room toasty), the king size bed was very comfortable and clean, plenty of lighting, flat screen tv was on the small size (maybe 32 in), wifi was fast, and the tub (with jets) was big enough for 2 (not super comfortable for 2 though). There was also a small fridge inside with 2 free bottles of water. A decent amount of room for 2 people as well (a loveseat and table with 2 chairs were also in the room)

The Elizabeth room is in the house next door to the main house. Apparently there is an apartment upstairs that's separate and is currently vacant, but I could imagine that it would be kind of weird if someone lived there. It doesn't quite feel like a hotel/b&b. The neighborhood is residential and relatively close to the downtown Napa (actually really close to the Old World Inn and a Safeway). Parking is on the street. The manager of the place seemed fine - not overly friendly or cold. Didn't really interact with her much except during the checking in process. She gave us a map and directions when we asked about some wineries nearby (all close around 5 or 6 PM), but didn't need them as we had our computers/phones with us. I noticed that they also had some coupons for a few vineyards, so ask for those if you're interested.

Breakfast is at 9 AM and consisted of 1 plate with bacon and a baked cake with fruit on top and OJ and tea/coffee. It was simple, but fine. There is also a wine tasting thing at 5ish, but the lady even told us not to rush back for that if we were out so not sure how worth it that is. We didn't go cause we were napping.

Overall, I wouldn't say this was a good value, but the room was quite comfortable and had a lot of amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellotqoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

During our short stay in Napa our party were the only guests at this property which is such a shame as it is beautiful. We stayed in the Caroline Suite which was fantastic. The breakfasts in the morning were excellent and freshly cooked and the cheese and wine in the evening was very much appreciated. It is only a short stroll down a quiet street to the main area of Napa with shops, fantastic restaurants and bars to hand. If you are looking for 'modern' then this is not the place for you but the property boasts a great deal of charm and was so comfortable. I would not hesitate in recommending the La Belle and I would certainly return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikazg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My Daughter and I checked into the Caroline suite. There is a sitting room with a couch, table with two chairs, a sideboard with a small fridge, and a small wall hung flat screen TV with Comcast. The bedroom is down a small hall and has a HUGE kingsized bed and an armoire for your clothes.

We spent four nights and each evening when we returned from wine tasting and touring the room felt like home. The wine and cheese every evening gave us a chance to fill Karyl in on our day. She was so helpful and seemed interested in us having a good time.

Breakfast each day was so good. The baked goods were delicious. We even got a recipe for
one of the selections that we found outstanding.

The inn is in a relatively quiet location compared to other B&Bs we walked by. Our room was across the street from the main inn, but we loved feeling we had our own house.

Unfortunately the house is in receivership and it's future is uncertain. But when we return to Napa, we will definitely check to see if Caroline is available.

Room Tip: I would select the Caroline because I wake up early and it was nice to have the sitting room to be i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed in the Elizabeth suite which was in the house next door. We arrived late, but the innkeeper was able to accomodate us. The room was decorated very nicely and the fireplace was great. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was great and a good variety over the 4 days we stayed there. The staff was very helpful in making us dinner reservations and giving us suggestions. The bed and breakfast is in a great location and you can easily walk to a variety of places.

Room Tip: Elizabeth suite is more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubulldog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed one night and were welcomed by the owners. We were not given the rooms we registered and were not reall told why, but it was fine, we had beautiful accommodations. The evening wine/cheese reception was nice in the main house. The room was well appointed and had all we needed. Breakfast was expertly made, the scones were exceptional. Bottled water was available at all hours.

Room Tip: Check each room online and be sure you book your specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.2 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#12 of 30 in Napa
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
0.5 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Belle Epoque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Belle Epoque

Address: 1386 Calistoga Ave, Napa, CA 94559-2552
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $251 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Belle Epoque 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over a century this stunning Napa Valley Queen Anne Victorian has reigned over Napa. Today, La Belle Epoque is a luxury Napa Valley boutique inn - ideal for romantic getaways, family reunions, small weddings and solo retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Belle Epoque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Belle Epoque Hotel Napa
La Belle Epoque Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing