We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose another choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 23 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Choose another choice.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Laurie, the innkeeper, was gruff and unwelcoming. I've never encountered that kind of experience at a B and B in many years of traveling. We choose B and Bs because of their warmth. There was none of that going on. Not serving breakfast until 9 am really restricted our plans for the day, and there was no flexibility, so we ate other places for half the time so we could better manage our time in the valley. Our room - Pheasant Dreams - was awful. No water pressure in the shower. A miserably lump king size bed. An A/C that didn't work well in circulating air at the right temperature. All this for $1,400 for four nights. Choose another choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lviehmyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hennesseyhouse, Owner at Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Oh My! We are so sorry you came away with this impression of the staff and the rooms at Hennessey House. We constantly strive to provide a warm, relaxing environment for our wonderful guests, whether it be relaxing on our patio under the trees with a glass of wine, planning an evening meal or itinerary with our innkeepers, enjoying an afternoon snack fresh baked from the kitchen each day, or leisurely exploring the historic Napa Downtown area.

We feel very badly we weren’t able to get breakfast out quickly enough on that particular morning. Everything was already in the oven when we received the request for an earlier breakfast, and it was unfortunately a challenge to pull in the timing.

We are sorry for the room issues you mentioned in the review. We feel terrible you were so uncomfortable. When we checked the water pressure we found the showerhead was on the low flow setting and switched it to regular flow. We had just had the AC unit serviced, so it was very upsetting that it was not cooling efficiently and causing you discomfort. The temperature sensor in the AC unit has been replaced, and I have been assured that the unit is operating properly now. Lastly, we would have been happy to adjust or remove the featherbed topper for you since it was making you uncomfortable.

We really love to provide a great experience for every guest that comes through our doors. We’re very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Sincerely,
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    37
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
287
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My hubby and I were there for a nice romantic getaway. The home was lovely and nicely done, we stayed in Dr. Hennesseys' Room. Breakfast was done very nice. Wine and cheese were served every night, with a presentation of the surrounding wineries and places to eat. Though the presentation was nice, I would have felt more comfortable if it had been a little more casual like a social reception. Loved our room, our nightly in room complimentary sherry and chocolates. Our room was on the main level with one other room, with both near the main door. You could hear people coming and going, but that is just the way the house is and part of being at a B&B. Breakfast was amazing, the Watermelon Gazpacho was very yummy as was the egg casserole. Staff was very friendly.

Loved the fishies!!!

Room Tip: Great for a getaway, would recommend rooms on the upper floor for couples looking for a little roman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotelierontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Hennessey House B & B is a very welcoming house, with staff that really care. The rooms and breakfasts are simply excellent. There are extra touches such as chocolates and sherry in your room, and a selection of wine and cheeses and home baked cookies on the patio each afternoon where the guest mix and can share their touring experiences. Great touring and dining advice from the owner/managers made our stay very special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keownb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Betas fishes made us company during breakfast. The Duck room was great for us the king size bed was high and comfortable, this room is located upstairs in the carriage house so if you have any problem walking up and down the stairs make sure you get one of the rooms in the first floor. And yes, I would stay again at the Hennessey House BB!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I expected to find an exceptional place to stay in Napa, and we found it! From the minute, we arrived we were treated like expected and welcomed guests. The owners and the staff were not only friendly and delightful but helpful. We were given extensive information about what to see and do in Napa Valley which made us wish that we had more time to do everything that was brought to our attention. Now, another trip there is on our “bucket list.” A well-appointed suite awaited us. The décor was appropriate and interesting, and we felt at home in our room. The food was outstanding with coffee, tea, and cookies available whenever we needed (or wanted). Breakfast was a feast, attractively presented and delicious. Wine and cheeses were served in late afternoon. The grounds made the outdoor spaces inviting with arbors, water features, and lovely places to sit and enjoy a cup of tea and read a book, newspaper, or information about Napa Valley. The public rooms were comfortable, and guests felt at home to use the computer and television. The dining room’s décor incorporated the original assets of the house with tin ceilings, wainscoting, and a built-in buffet. The owner’s pets (betas) were contained ingeniously and each given an interesting name (like Cappuccino in a coffee carafe). My husband and I highly recommend the Hennessey House and hope to have the opportunity to return there someday to see more of the area!

Room Tip: Dream Sweet was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Lorri is spectacular. I have a lot of dietary restrictions and she went out of her way to make me breakfast each morning and cookies with afternoon tea every afternoon that I could eat. The house is very cute and the Upstairs Hideaway was large and comfortable. The location is great too, within an easy walk of many places to eat and the Oxbow Public Market.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerOften1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and l could not say enough great things about our stay at Hennessey House. Our room in the Bridal Sweet was spacious and very comfortable. The two person jacuzzi was fabulous, and the staff were very helpful and polite. They made great winery and restaurant recommendations and the breakfasts were wonderful everyday. The wine and cheese cocktail hour was very relaxing, full of information from the concierge, and a great way to get to know other guests. We are looking forward to future stays at the Hennessey House.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Elm House Inn
0.7 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.4 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
0.4 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1727 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-1844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hennessey House Hotel Napa
Hennessey House b&b
Hennessey House Bed And Breakfast Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing