We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

From the large sized clean and well decorated rooms to the amazing service, Hennessy House is one of the best B&B's I've stayed at. Amazing Breakfasts every morning, snacks in the afternoon and wine and cheese in the evening, not to mention the complementary Port and Chocolates in each room are all included with your stay. Great area recommendations and discount cards for tastings at wineries were also provided. They cater to your needs whether it's food allergies or anything else you may need. I also loved that Hennessey House was walking distance to down-town Napa!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrutika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 434 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friends and I stayed in the Lavender Lace room in mid-May 2013 and were pleasantly surprised and charmed by Lorri, the house, and our room. We had expected a tight fit since we had booked the Lavender Lace room for the three of us but even with the extra aero-bed, the room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the breakfasts in the morning, and the teas and coffee available every night we came in after our late night dinners were great when the nights got cool. We wish our trip had been longer so that we could have enjoyed the afternoon tea and the free wine tastings in the evenings.

I jogged from Hennessey House to the Riverfront area of downtown Napa and ended at Model Bakery every morning during our stay to pick up a pack of the English muffins to bring home and some pastries to snack on in between our wine tasting appointments. The B&B is less than a mile to Model Bakery/Oxbow Public Market, so it's an easy and relatively short walk. Good walking distance to cool down after a morning run and you're loaded with goodies from the bakery.

I know I will definitely be staying at Hennessey House during my next Napa trip. Great service, good location, and just a charming experience all around. I highly recommend even if you're unsure about staying at a B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank promise2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hennessey House B&B in the Lavendar Lace guest room in May 2013. It was lovely and a definite highlight of our trip!! Lorri and Bonnie are both so kind and made us feel very welcome. The house itself has so much character and is beautiful inside and out (and very clean). The breakfast provided by Lorri is amazing, in fact, I still need to ask her for the french toast recipe. Bonnie provided us with winery and restaurant recommendations the first night of our stay which was a HUGE help! We were overwhelmed by the choices but she helped us plan out a perfect day. This was our first time at a bed and breakfast but will certainly not be our last. Thank you again, Lorri and Bonnie!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hennessey House has it all -- Gracious hosts Lori and Kevin, beautiful rooms with every detail: usual amenities plus gas fireplace and AC, wine cooler, iPod dock, gorgeous decor, well appointed bathroom, plenty of parking, free wine-tasting with cheese and crackers every afternoon. Longish roundtrip walk to downtown Napa but should be no problem for most. Absolutely the most sumptuous, delicious breakfast every morning. Quite pricey on Friday and Saturday due to proximity to San Francisco but other nights prices are competitive. Would return again if not for the commute from CT.
Jean and Bill

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappilyRetiredTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I spent a glorious 3 nights and 4 days at Hennessey House in April, 2013. It was just fantastic!! The room was excellent. The service was gold standard. The courtesy and helpfulness unequaled!! We could not have had a better experience!! The inn is very near Napa downtown and all the restaurants and sights. We strongly recommend a stay at Hennessey House if you need to be in Napa.
We will be returning as often as we can and we will be sharing our wonderful experience with all we know.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my second visit to Napa Valley and even though I did look for somewhere else to stay I ended up staying at the Hennessey House for the second time.

The entire B&B experience here is just simply great. The rooms are clean, comfortable and unique. In other words, they aren't simply a "hotel" room; rather, they have character. I stayed in the Duck Room and if you are curious as to the details of the room I encourage you to stay here as well.

The Duck Room in particular is warm and welcoming. The bath has a huge Jacuzzi bathtub that will easily accommodate two. The room comes with a bottle of sherry and two truffles! The bed itself is very comfortable.

One of the reasons I returned to the Hennessey House is because of the owners. Kevin and Lori are very welcoming people and will go out of their way to assist you in any way that they can. Do you need reservations for dinner or a wine tasting experience? They can make it happen for you. Very good people!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jere27519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hennesseyhouse, Owner at Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Wow, thank you for your kind words. We very much enjoyed the opportunity to host you again for your second visit to the Napa Valley.

Sincerely,
Kevin and Lorri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hennessey House for two nights at the end of March. It is a quaint historic home with lovely gardens, in which spring flowers were just starting to bloom and it was so pretty. We stayed in the Upstairs Hideaway room. It was very spacious, and one of the few rooms in the house with a t.v. in it (not important to me, but my husband appreciated it given the season, March Madness). The home itself is very old, and thus has some unique character not found in more modern establishments (original claw foot tub, water closet toilet, tin ceiling, and lots of beta fish???). Despite it's "age" the home is in very good condition and perfectly clean. We also enjoyed the peace and quiet of the location. The house is located on a residential city street, an inconspicuous parking lot, with plenty of space is around back. We enjoyed the breakfasts both mornings of our stay. Lorrie makes healthy and delicous choices! She was also very kind to notice that my husband had a cold, and offered up a little something extra to help him feel better. We did participate in the wine and cheese hour and winery presentation by Bonnie on the first night. The wine and cheese hour is such a nice touch. Bonnie had some great suggestions for wineries to visit. I would do some research or get recommendations on your own for restaurants. We asked Bonnie to suggest a place one night, and indicated that we would like to stay under $100 for our meals and a drink....upon her recommendation, we ended up at a place that wound up costing $250! I can tell that Bonnie has good, but expensive taste! Just something to keep in mind. All in all, I would definitely recommend the Hennessey House. It was a great experience, especially for the cost. I do think that if/when my husband and I return, we would not stay in Napa, and try for Calistoga, St. Helena, or Yountville instead (more to do, cute shops, more affordable restaurants, etc.).

Room Tip: Definitely pick the upstairs hideaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hennesseyhouse, Owner at Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast service and wine and cheese hour, and we do hope your husband is feeling better. As we speak, the downtown area is undergoing a renaissance, with the addition of the Napa Riverfront, West End, and Oxbow Market, and more restaurants are coming into the city of Napa now than anywhere else in the Valley. In addition to the top end choices, there are more moderately priced dining options as well. We'll be happy to assure our staff is pointing these out.

Sincerely,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
1.2 mi away
Candlelight Inn Napa Valley
0.8 mi away
Cedar Gables Inn
Cedar Gables Inn
#18 of 22 in Napa
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Napa Inn
The Napa Inn
#13 of 22 in Napa
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#4 of 22 in Napa
1,568 reviews
5.2 mi away
Napa Vineyard Inn
Napa Vineyard Inn
#1 of 22 in Napa
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1727 Main St, Napa, CA 94559-1844
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $191 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hennessey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hennessey House b&b
Hennessey House Hotel Napa
Hennessey House Bed And Breakfast Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing