We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find, even if it's not in the center of it all”
Review of Cedar Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Gables Inn
Ranked #12 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
273
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

Wondeful place to stay in Napa. Celebrated our one year Anniversary there and it couldn't have been a more perfect place to fall in love again. The breakfasts were wonderful and hugely filling. Ken and Susie are the perfect hosts and take great pride in all they offer here at the Inn. The rooms are immaculate and the service is outstanding. Would highly recommend as it is well situated in Napa.

  • Liked — Food, atmosphere, owners
  • Disliked — nothing was not to like
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank krwilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We just returned from a two night stay with Ken and Susie at the Cedar Gables Inn and I had to write a review immediately on returning home. The inn is just a absolutely charming place, beautifully decorated throughout with antiques, just as you'd expect it should be. The place is immaculately clean, nice linens and comfortable beds. And the BREAKFASTS!! So elegantly served on beautifully laid tables with crystal and china. The two breakfasts we enjoyed were superb, french toast souffle one day and a southwest frittatta another, each with a starter of wonderful fresh fruit, and great coffee. Our hosts, Ken and Susie were so welcoming and warm (delicious fresh chocolate chip cookies on arrival), and are a font of information about the area, Ken gave great recommendations on which wineries to make sure to visit and was right on. I'd recommend this place to anyone visiting the area, a perfect wine country get-away. We just wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Liked — Hosts, great breakfasts, historic feel of building, cleanliness.
  • Tips/Secrets — Contact hosts for unique wine tours in advance of stay.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

You will have the most memorable stay in Napa Valley if you choose this inn! We have stayed in several bed and breakfasts in the New England area and have met many innkeepers - but none with the warmth and hospitality of Ken and Susie. We arrived early in the day and had hopes of just finding directions for lunch. Ken was most gracious to us - providing us with a winery map, recommendations for lunch, coupons, etc. As it turned out, our room was cleaned and ready so we were able to get our keys, etc. Susie joined us at this point and completed the tour of the inn. The inn hosts a happy hour where they serve up some of the local wines along with cheese, crackers, fruit, etc. This was lots of fun and we made sure we made it back in time each day to chat up Ken at the bar and the other guests. This also gave us an opportunity to get "on the spot" reviews of some of the local restaurants and wineries where others had already stopped. Susie prepares and hosts the breakfast of your dreams! The coffee was superb - hot and lots of it! You'll be quite full for the better part of the day once you've eaten here. Believe me, it's the best! Our room was immaculate. The bath had a 2 person jacuzzi tub. However, the weather that week was unbelievably hot and after drinking wine all day, a hot tub wasn't on my agenda. But, it sure looked good!!! There are restaurants within walking distance and our hosts made reservations for us for dinner one evening. We had a wonderful time here and would highly recommend this inn!

  • Liked — The loction was ideal; breakfasts were superb; happy hour was lots of fun.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreatLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2006

This is everything a B&B is supposed to be. It's not cheap, and because of that, I had very high expectations. To my pleasant surprise, they were more than met. As other reviews have said, husband/wife owners Ken and Susie are the perfect hosts. They really seem to love what they do, which adds to the enjoyment of staying here. Every evening, they host a happy hour in their downstairs pub, generously pouring local wines with accompanying appetizers and telling stories. It's like being invited to a party every day. We stayed there three nights celebrating our 11th wedding anniversary and got to know other guests and Ken and Susie, adding to the party feel. (By the way, we were suprised by a bottle of champagne waiting in our room with anniverary wishes.) Ken and Susie will do everything they can to help you and make your stay enjoyable. They even offer a tutorial about local vineyards, providing coupons and making recommendations. Our room was great. We were there during what was possibly the hottest week in Napa Valley history, and thankfully our room had two air conditioners. Breakfasts were lovely, coffee and tea were always available and there were dishes of chocolate candy everywhere. The home-baked chocolate-chip cookies left in the lobby throughout the day are to die for (I think the best I've ever had) and are reason enough to stay here! Thanks, Ken and Susie, for making our anniversary memorable, romantic and fun despite the uncomfortable weather!

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaycj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

Our weekend get-a-way to Napa was planned to be a very special anniversary celebration, so consequently we did some research to locate the perfect B&B and are so pleased we chose the magnificent Cedar Gables Inn!

The location was perfect, just on the fringe of downtown Napa, in a safe neighborhood within walking distance to several great restaurants. Each morning we were greeted by a gourmet breakfast of home baked breads, fresh fruit, juices & coffee along with an outrageous special entrée that changed daily. We enjoyed Strawberry French Toast Soufflé served alongside the best apple sausage we’ve ever tasted on the first morning. This was not to be outdone by the second morning, a southwestern style strata made with tortillas, country sausage, fresh salsa and rich corn muffins.

Each evening we mingled with our gracious Innkeepers, Ken & Susie, along with the other guests in the old English style pub over a glass (or two) of wine and nibbles.

Susie arranged our restaurant reservations and Ken helped us plan our winery tour. Their recommendations were spot on, helping to ensure a perfect weekend. An unexpected bonus was all the complementary wine tastings we received when the winery staff would learn that Ken & Susie from Cedar Gables had sent us.

The Cedar Gables Inn is a magnificent Victorian mansion, beautifully restored and maintained impeccably. The Innkeepers are very friendly and go above and beyond to make all of their guests feel special and welcome. Our room was decorated beautifully and the linens, towels & guest robes were all very high quality. They have clearly thought of every small detail possible to ensure a perfect stay. There are many B&Bs to choose from but in our opinion you needn’t look any further. The Cedar Gables Inn is simply the best value and now after staying there we just wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else in the Napa Valley.

-- John & Judy MacDonald

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Luluslegacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#8 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Inn

Property: Cedar Gables Inn
Address: 486 Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-3343
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Gables Hotel Napa
Cedar Gables Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing