We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, but...”
Review of Cedar Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Gables Inn
Ranked #16 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good, but...”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The owners are indeed gracious, welcoming hosts, and the wine & cheese hour is very pleasant. The house is attractively furnished, and situated within a five-minute walk of downtown Napa. Ken & Susie are very helpful, full of good advice about the town, tours, and so forth. There are some drawbacks, though. Our room was dimly lit, and short on places to put things. No desk for a computer. Susie's breakfasts are indeed grand, but far more than an average appetite can manage at that time of the morning. And the whole experience is, as another reviewer said, spendy. I doubt whether we would stay here again--but a lot of people disagree with us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quavvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarGables, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Yes, Guilty as charged. We serve you a “HUGE” breakfast, because we do not want you going out wine tasting at 10AM on an empty stomach. We are watching out for you.

Thank you for the heads up on the dim lighting. Not knowing what room you stayed in, we walked through all 9 rooms investigating. We changed the light bulb in one lamp to a higher wattage bulb.

Regarding your “spendy” comment, All B&B’s in Peak Season are spendy. Susie and I believe that we offer great value: 3 course Gourmet Breakfast, Old English Tavern, Port in the room, Concierge, Cooking Classes, etc. Our rooms are much less expensive during Off Season.

It is our goal to make sure that you have a spectacular time in Napa and we do want you to come back.

All the best,
Ken and Susie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
279
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in September at the start of a 9 week trip across the States. The bar could not have been set any higher for the rest of the holiday. From the sensational breakfasts to the wine and cheese tastings each evening, everything about Cedar Gables is perfect. The Inn is conveniently situated, just a short walk from the centre of Napa. Ken and Susie were the ideal hosts, very welcoming and with a extensive knowledge of the area. We would thoroughly recommend Cedar Gables.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLUMMERGIRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I traveled from FL to CA with two other couples who are very dear friends of ours. We were greeted upon our arrival at the front door with smiling faces, Susie & Ken welcoming us to their breathtaking home. Words nor photos cannot capture how beautiful the inn truly is. Susie & Ken were absolutely wonderful. They could not have been more welcoming or kinder. From the lovely rooms to the mouth watering breakfasts you will truly be in for a treat during your stay. Susie & Ken gave us great recommendations for site seeing, wineries and dining all of which were fabulous. The inn is nestled within walking distance to town. 5 stars is not enough! The inn is absolutely fabulous. Thank you Susie & Ken for making our stay most memorable. Sherry and Wayne McNees

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous. There were no noise issues of concern. All the rooms are decorated wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Six of us organized a week long Napa wine tasting trip to celebrate the 25th anniversary of one of the couples. All we knew about the Cedar Gables Inn was what we found on the internet - and we all know "you can't put something on the internet if it isn't true!" The website did not do the Inn justice. It is beautiful and comfortable. But the best thing about the place is Susie and Ken Pope! We were welcomed into their home as if we were long lost friends. They pointed us to the best wineries and restaurants (and provided coupons for most of them.) They worked with us to celebrate the anniversary with a little renewal of vows ceremony. And, OMG, breakfast is to die for!!! Susie makes the most incredible breakfasts in the world. And so much of it. We never did have lunch while in Napa. We had breakfast at nine and then didn't eat again until after seven every evening. The Cedar Gables Inn is a must. We were very sad to leave and hope to be able to return again and again.

Room Tip: This is a traditional B&B. The only drawback at all is that there is no elevator and lots of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Cedar Gables in early October. It was everything we had hoped for...and more.
Ken and Susie are very perfect hosts. They are helpful, knowledgeable of the area, meticulous, and just plain wonderful hosts. ( And YES the breakfasts are outstanding). We felt so pampered. The house is a real gem. So much to see in the Valley, so many wineries to experience, so many good restaurants, .......and never enough time. We did not want to go home. Great trip, especially staying at the Cedar Gables.
One quick note....if carrying your luggage up the stairs is a problem for you, please advise or discuss with the hosts ahead of time.
We will definitely stay here on our next trip to the Valley.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Although this is way overdue, I wanted to thank Cedar Gables Inn for an incredible stay back in May. I have never stayed at a better B & B. The service was AWESOME, knowledgable, and really personable. They are well versed in Napa wine & wineries. Susie cooks up a fantastic breakfast. It will easily carry you to dinner if you can eat it all. Her flavors and selection were excellent (and I'm coming from Chicago-- we have a top notch dining scene here so I'm critical!).

Other favorite things: Complementary port in the rooms. Music performance in the evening. Free upgrade to suite (shhh, came when it was quiet time of week). Chocolate chip cookies. Wine tasting w/ cheese! The list could go on...

What makes this B & B the best is the hospitality. Best I've ever encountered, really.

Room Tip: Stay wherever we stayed. It was the room with the gigantic bathtub. Really suite.. hehe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cedar Gables for 2 nights while in Napa during Harvest. We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The owners could not have been more helpful in providing recommendations for things to do, restaurant recommendations, etc. The breakfast was absolutely amazing! French toast souffle, homemade scones, and donuts, lattes, etc. Susie is a fantastic cook and you will not be disappointed with the meal. The room was quaint, clean, and well maintained and the bed was very comfortable (always a high priority for me!). The location is very central...close to Napa, Yountville and Sonoma (we went to both). I would definitely stay here again when visiting Napa

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa12345_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#12 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,011 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Silverado Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Inn

Property: Cedar Gables Inn
Address: 486 Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-3343
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cedar Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Gables Hotel Napa
Cedar Gables Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing