We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This B&B made our vacation perfect!”
Review of Cedar Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cedar Gables Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This B&B made our vacation perfect!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Six of us organized a week long Napa wine tasting trip to celebrate the 25th anniversary of one of the couples. All we knew about the Cedar Gables Inn was what we found on the internet - and we all know "you can't put something on the internet if it isn't true!" The website did not do the Inn justice. It is beautiful and comfortable. But the best thing about the place is Susie and Ken Pope! We were welcomed into their home as if we were long lost friends. They pointed us to the best wineries and restaurants (and provided coupons for most of them.) They worked with us to celebrate the anniversary with a little renewal of vows ceremony. And, OMG, breakfast is to die for!!! Susie makes the most incredible breakfasts in the world. And so much of it. We never did have lunch while in Napa. We had breakfast at nine and then didn't eat again until after seven every evening. The Cedar Gables Inn is a must. We were very sad to leave and hope to be able to return again and again.

Room Tip: This is a traditional B&B. The only drawback at all is that there is no elevator and lots of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
273
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Cedar Gables in early October. It was everything we had hoped for...and more.
Ken and Susie are very perfect hosts. They are helpful, knowledgeable of the area, meticulous, and just plain wonderful hosts. ( And YES the breakfasts are outstanding). We felt so pampered. The house is a real gem. So much to see in the Valley, so many wineries to experience, so many good restaurants, .......and never enough time. We did not want to go home. Great trip, especially staying at the Cedar Gables.
One quick note....if carrying your luggage up the stairs is a problem for you, please advise or discuss with the hosts ahead of time.
We will definitely stay here on our next trip to the Valley.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Although this is way overdue, I wanted to thank Cedar Gables Inn for an incredible stay back in May. I have never stayed at a better B & B. The service was AWESOME, knowledgable, and really personable. They are well versed in Napa wine & wineries. Susie cooks up a fantastic breakfast. It will easily carry you to dinner if you can eat it all. Her flavors and selection were excellent (and I'm coming from Chicago-- we have a top notch dining scene here so I'm critical!).

Other favorite things: Complementary port in the rooms. Music performance in the evening. Free upgrade to suite (shhh, came when it was quiet time of week). Chocolate chip cookies. Wine tasting w/ cheese! The list could go on...

What makes this B & B the best is the hospitality. Best I've ever encountered, really.

Room Tip: Stay wherever we stayed. It was the room with the gigantic bathtub. Really suite.. hehe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholasRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cedar Gables for 2 nights while in Napa during Harvest. We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The owners could not have been more helpful in providing recommendations for things to do, restaurant recommendations, etc. The breakfast was absolutely amazing! French toast souffle, homemade scones, and donuts, lattes, etc. Susie is a fantastic cook and you will not be disappointed with the meal. The room was quaint, clean, and well maintained and the bed was very comfortable (always a high priority for me!). The location is very central...close to Napa, Yountville and Sonoma (we went to both). I would definitely stay here again when visiting Napa

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa12345_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed with my husband at the Cedar Gables Inn for one night. Nestled in a quite, quaint street, this B&B delivers and more...a quick walk to Main Street in downtown Napa and close to the wineries. Sue and Ken Pope, the owners, absolutely love what they do and they show it. The house is a true gem, beautiful antique pieces adorn the hallways and rooms. Old world charm with all the modern amenities you may need (wifi, TV set on main room, great water pressure). We were welcomed with baked home made cookies (delicious) I regret only taking one and a big smile from Sue! Off to a great start, our room was the Edwards Study, lovely room, I have never slept on softer sheets, it was like heaven. Attention to detail is a big deal here.There was complementary Port in our room and a couple of glasses of wine with a wine opener in case we would bring a bottle of wine back to the room, great touch!
At 5pm, they invite you to gather around downstairs and try wines, mingle with the other guests . Ken sings accompanied by his guitar, it is special. Now for the piece of resistance "Sue's Breakfast" WOW....not only crazy delicious but made with so much love and care, all these details I have gone through make this place an excellent choice,but for me, the long lasting memory will be the love I felt withing these walls. It was a truly sweet feeling from beginning to end. Thank you Ken & Sue for making our stay so special! I would recommend for any kind of stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Excellent B & B. A warm and welcome place to stay in the Napa valley. Very close to the Napa Valley Wine train and wineries make this a ideal place to stay if you are going to Napa for a special occasion.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahoe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great B&B in Napa, wonderful hosts, Ken and Susie, very helpful in setting up activities for us in Napa. The rooms in the Inn are wonderful, and the 'tavern' for late afternoon wine is a great place to share experiences at the end of the day. Ken and Susie set us up with dinner reservations at some great restaurants, and arranged a balloon ride and winery tours. Susie's breakfasts are the best, period!!
We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdlsparks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#9 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Inn

Property: Cedar Gables Inn
Address: 486 Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-3343
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cedar Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Gables Hotel Napa
Cedar Gables Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing