We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall treat!!!”
Review of Cedar Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Gables Inn
Ranked #16 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Canton, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overall treat!!!”
Reviewed October 29, 2007

There are no words that could truly describe how wonderful this place was for Jack and I! We had a great time in the area, graced by the hosts Ken & Susie, and the care and love they pour into this lovely home, which is what you feel like when your there....at home! The Breakfasts were innovative and unique, and just plain delicious! Everything about the place was inviting and warm...a definite return date is in mind for us.. thanks for the memories! Angel & Jack

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    18
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
279
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Located next to the downtown area of Napa, the Cedar Gables Inn & Tavern is an old victorian style B&B. The Proprietors, Ken and Suzie, do a fantastic job of making you feel like you are a friend of the family during your stay. Morning breakfasts are great. Every evening they open up their bar and share wine, beer, light snacks and stories with the guests (no charge). If you need directions, suggestions or advice, they are a great store of knowledge about the area. The house itself oozes character. Period decor and styling really makes you feel like you are back in victorian England. There are some downsides. The rooms are small and there is no elevator, so you might have to walk up a couple of flights of narrow steps. Being in a residential area next to downtown, there is activity later at night that can disrupt light sleepers. Our room did not have good a/c and it got quite warm, but did cool off around 2am.

Overall, it was a good experience. I would recommend a stay during the cooler months, to alliviate the a/c issue.

  • Liked — Ken and Suzie were fantastic!
  • Disliked — It is an old building and even with refurbishments, it lacks some modern items
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RomanNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CedarGables, Owner at Cedar Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2007
We appreciate this guests’ kind words. He selected the Stratford Loft($209/night). When reservations are made Susie and I do make a point of telling our guests that the Stratford Loft is our smallest room located on the third floor, comfortable, with a Queen size bed, but small, and that there are no elevators. We generally ask if stairs are a problem and have recommended other rooms for guests that might be uncomfortable climbing them. At 93, Susie’s dad stays in the Lady Margaret room, one of five grand suites, just one flight up.

Guests receive a “great” 3 course gourmet breakfast, and a happy 2 hours in the Tavern drinking beer and wine and sampling great cheeses, fruit and house specialties. The Stratford loft, our smallest room, is beautifully decorated and is kept immaculately clean, as is the rest of the house. We provide port and chocolates in the room along with blow dryers, luxurious robes, iron, ironing board and a fan. It has a walk-in closet to hang up your clothes and its own private bath.
Although some rooms have their own A/C units, the Stratford Loft is on the forced air system with the rest of the house. In a house that is 115 years old, it is difficult to keep every part of the house at a constant temperature. It is one of our highest priorities and we are addressing this.
Susie and I meet each and every guest that rings the doorbell. This is our home and we do not have a “hotel like” front desk. We treat you like family. Checking in always includes a brief tour and history (if you want) of our mansion and a sampling of our famous chocolate chip cookies.
We believe that the Cedar Gables Inn IS for everyone, especially if you are looking for a unique and special experience in the beautiful Napa Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2007

We stayed one night at the Cedar Gables Inn. The Inn itself is beautiful...very clean, lots of antiques,tons of character and very comfortable. We arrived in time for the daily wine tasting in this grand room with a huge t.v. and wonderful bar area. Ken was behind the bar and poured everyone tastes of different wines he had. He was very knowledgable and personable. They suggested a place to eat dinner that was fabulous and with in walking distance. Ken and Susie were gracious and full of valuable information about wine country. They made us reservations for dinner and a particular winery we wanted to go to. Susie made an incredible breakfast...white linens and silver ware and cheerfulness greeted us. Susie is an outstanding cook and so nice too.
All and all we would go back in a minute and I am sure we will.

  • Liked — clean,antiques, innkeepers,food,wine,good feeling
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ozzieVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

So my GF and I stayed here 2 nights and we didn't want to leave. The Breakfast filled us up so we didn't even need lunch. Ken and Susie were so friendly. Ken really knows about all the wineries in the area. There were like 10 nice places to eat within walking distance. Afternoon wine tasting...they call it happy hour....each day they serve about 5 different wines. But the best part was discussing where we went with the other guests. It is always good to hear first hand accounts of places before you go. We went to Napa because my GF likes wine, but even for me (i dont drink wine) this place was great and if I ever make it back to Napa i will stay here again!!!

  • Liked — The people who run it.
  • Disliked — The shower was a little small.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bistline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The Cedar Gables Inn was a wonderful experience! I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is coming to the Napa area. Ken and Susie are wonderful people and don't forget about the happy hour-Great fun!!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2007

When I first walked into Cedar Gables, the all around ambience made me feel right at home. It is SO beautiful there! Susie and Ken were positively wonderful people! I would reccomend Cedar Gables Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing yet refined experience.

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — I loved everything, so...
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FlogginMolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2007

We stayed at Cedar Gables while in wine country -- a beautiful old home with architectural character, wonderful antiques and a welcoming
spirit. The proprietors, Ken and Susan, were amazing -- greeting us with fresh baked cookies, serving wine and hors d'oevres at happy hour, and cooking amazing breakfasts each morning.

  • Liked — Architecture/atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.2 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
0.6 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#12 of 30 in Napa
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,011 reviews
0.8 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Silverado Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Gables Inn

Property: Cedar Gables Inn
Address: 486 Coombs St, Napa, CA 94559-3343
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cedar Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Cedar Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Gables Hotel Napa
Cedar Gables Inn Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing