We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Romantic NYE Ever”
Review of Beazley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beazley House
Ranked #8 of 22 Napa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I surprised my partner with an overnight trip to Napa for new years eve. Living in San Francisco, we both wanted to get away from the crowds and the noise and the Beazley House was the best decision I could have made! I work in the hotel business so I am very particular when staying somewhere. We stayed in the Carriage House in the 'West Loft' and it was absolutely perfect and very romantic. There is a huge stained glass window above the bed and during our stay it rained so we fell asleep to the rain outside. Jim and Carol could not have been more accommodating and did all they could to ensure our comfort. We took advantage of their wine hour and breakfast - both wonderful. The sheets are AMAZING and their doggie Pumpkin is a gem! My only regret is that we did not stay for longer - we will definitely be back. Thank you Jim and Carol for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivesunflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Beazley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 761 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at Beazley House twice, before and after Christmas in the Spring Rose room and really enjoyed our stay. Good quality amenities, cleanliness, comfortable bed and the best breakfast plus the innkeeper and owner hospitality make us feel at home. Will surely come back for tea and cookies and wine tasting too!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asianchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We arrived on a Friday night in December and were met at the door by Carol, one of the owners of Beazley House. She's full of energy and genuinely excited about receiving guests and giving a layout of the property. We reserved the East Loft in the Carriage House, which is separate from the main house. I was slightly worried about the B&B being located on First Street, which a rather busy thoroughfare in Napa. But there was virtually no traffic noise in our room and we had the added bonus of hearing the sound of water from the garden fountain below when we opened our windows.

Being that it was a Friday night, the Beazley House had their "Unwind Hour" starting at 5:45PM which meant a local winery would be pouring wine and serving appetizers in the receiving room. Jay from Judd's Hill Winery was pouring and would tell us great stories about the folks that owned or worked at the winery. Everyone seemed to be a professional something or another at that winery. Professional BBQ'er was one. After a day of wine tasting, we were pleasantly surprised by how good the wine from a winery we had never head of.

Back to the room. One thing we didn't expect was that while the bathroom was separated from the rest of the room, the area above the door and the 6-foot walls was open. So you could hear what you better half is doing. It was more amusing to us than anything else, but this is my warning to you so don't be surprised. I'm not sure if the other Carriage House rooms are the same.

The room had a flatscreen TV with cable, armoire, dresser, fireplace, 2 sitting chairs, jacuzzi tub for 2, shower, iron/board, hair dryer, robes, and a really comfortable bed. The other half really requires a comfortable bed and was initially not fully sold after laying down on the comforter, but she was pleasantly surprised by the super excessive high thread count sheets. The sheets really were soft and comfortable. Lots of pillows and a great night sleep. I expected an iPod docking station with the alarm clock next to the bed, but it seemed like a standard CD alarm clock. I didn't look too hard to see if there was a hidden dock, but it wasn't a big deal. The Beazley House provides a wallet of CDs in the bedside table, so that was more than satisfactory.

Breakfast buffet was awesome. Cheeses, cereal, fruit, juices, quiche, granola, and great coffee. The breakfast area has 2 large community tables and 2 private tables, so you could decide if you wanted to be social or not. Veronica from the Beazley House would check with everyone during breakfast on their plans for the day and would help with recommendations or reservations if anyone was unsure. Top notch service.

The grounds are nice and cozy. Sure, it was the middle of winter, but we used the tree swing while sipping coffee. The grounds and trees were still covered in fall colors and it was relaxing to just sit there...which leads to the upcoming incident.

In our complete lack of haste, due to enjoying the breakfast and sitting in the garden, we were completely behind schedule. We had an appointment at the Castle for noon. So in our rush to pack up, check out, and go, we had left behind an item of importance. We realized this several hour later, called the house, and were able come back to do a quick search of the room. Nothing. My better half left her number so the day staff could look into the matter. Well, Veronica called me the next day to let me know that they had the item in question and would mail it back to us. How great was that?

I did my research in selecting Beazley House for our annual Napa Trip, narrowing the candidates down from about 100 B&B/Inns/Hotels, to 5, and ultimately to the Beazley House. It isn't a $400-1000/night resort spa and doesn't claim to be. It's a family run B&B that is exactly what we expected and needed.

Overall, a great experience. In an age where pretty much everything costs something in a hotel, even when you pay a high price, it's good to know that cookies, sherry, soda, and bottled water is always free 24/7 at the Beazley House.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seribellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Great location, lovely old victorian home, beautiful landscaping and gardens, sweet, knowledgeable and helpful innkeepers. This was our first B&B experience so we're probably just suffering from sticker shock in the Napa Valley! But, for over $300 per night, I was expecting so much more. Our room in the carriage house was very disappointing especially the bathroom. Based on our experience, I will definitely think twice before going that route again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaLynn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papajimNapa, Owner at Beazley House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

We're always a little puzzled when we get a comment like this. Was the guest just unhappy with the bathroom or was it something else? They said nothing during their 3 day stay. They seemed to use all of the facilities: the shower, the private 2 person whirlpool tub, the complimentary hair dryer, the lighted mirror, the extra towels (2 sets!) the robes. Perhaps the price was just more than they could afford. Napa Valley in high season (in October we ran an 85% occupancy) is not a cheap destination like Las Vegas. We tried working with them by giving them a 15% discount. We can't help it if our taxes pushed their total to more than they could afford.
Since we're on premises nearly 24/7 we wonder why they didn't mention their wi-fi problems. Not one of our other 10 rooms had a problem with it. Perhaps it was their computer, but we'll never know.
We just know they won't be back.
Perhaps that's for the best, I don't think we were a good fit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights while visiting family in Napa for Thanksgiving and enjoyed the close proximity to downtown, the ambiance of the house & garden, chocolate chip cookies, sherry and evening wine/cheese, but the big plus was their delicious breakfast (hearty) and warm hospitality of Veronica who has worked for Beazleys for 18 years. We had our 11 year old daughter with us and our 2 golden retrievers, so we booked their biggest room Enchanted Rose in the Carriage House for the first night and then had to move second night to Spring Rose room in the mansion to accommodate earlier reservations. When booking, we were told Enchanted Rose was 500sf and Spring Rose 300 sf, which was not accurate. I would say 350 and 200 are more like it. We would not have booked there if we had known actual size. And bathrooms were neat and clean but too small in both rooms, especially Enchanted Rose, where shower soap dish was slanted and soap and shampoos kept falling down. And we couldn't get wi-fi to work.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sutaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
papajimNapa, Owner at Beazley House, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2010

The Napa Valley is a COUPLES destination. The Beazley House is therefor booked by couples 98% of the time.
During the holidays, especially Thanksgiving, we host many guests visiting relatives. We especially bend over backwards to accommodate families of our Napa neighbors. That's why we allowed a family with an extra person and TWO dogs to stay in a room laid out for a couple. To meet their bedding needs we even put up an aerobed. We didn't charge them an extra person fee and we even waived the pet fee for one of their two nights.
So when we get a comment which calls into question our rooms size we can only respond that we're sure it didn't seem large enough for 3 people and 2 large dogs. Even at 500 square feet (actually 500+ counting the WALK-IN CLOSET) with that crowd, it would seem small.
The Spring Rose room is not 300 square feet, we never claimed it was. It DOES have an extra bed, however, and is regularly booked by parties of 3....just not with 2 large dogs.
In the end we violated our own policies by allowing more people (and PETS) into our rooms than normal.
Lesson learned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We have just returned from another trip from North Dakota to Napa - our ninth. And each time we've gone, we have stayed with the Beazleys. They run a top-notch inn, that's all there is to it! The breakfasts are so yummy and never the same one twice. The rooms are so comfy and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Best tour guides ever! We have always been treated like family and will again choose Beazley House when we return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCandLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We've been traveling for 50 years and we rate Beazley House AND the Beazleys as tops!

They provided perfect guidance and perfect refuge for our 4 nights exploring Napa Valley.

The entry, sitting room and dining room are all beautifully furnished and appointed. You wish your own home was as welcoming! Our room and the gardens were beautiful.

Treat yourself!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolette5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
2,040 reviews
0.6 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#13 of 30 in Napa
318 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Inn On First
The Inn On First
#4 of 22 in Napa
1,539 reviews
0.1 mi away
1801 First Luxury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beazley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beazley House

Address: 1910 1st St, Napa, CA 94559-2351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Napa
Price Range: $269 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beazley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beazley House is a boutique inn within walking distance of all the new restaurants, wine tasting rooms and live entertainment which make the new Napa the Food and Wine Capital of Napa Valley. And with 33 years experience no one knows the Napa Valley like the Beazleys! Carol Beazley's gourmet breakfasts are tailored to her guests' dietary needs, be they heart healthy gluten free, lactose intolerant, vegetarian,or vegan. Award winning recipes including the sweet, savory and unique have made the Beazley House famous. In-House made granola and Beazley House Chocolate chip cookies are as delicious as they are legendary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beazley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beazley House Hotel Napa
Beazley House Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing