We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and would stay here again!”
Review of Vino Bello Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vino Bello Resort
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Great value and would stay here again!”
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We were so impressed with this time share property. We stayed there for only a few days, and booked it on a daily rate. It is a newly built property linked to an already existing hotel and spa. The one bedroom suite was huge. The kitchen was larger that what we have at home. There was a lovely outdoor terrace with dining table. Huge dining area and living area inside. The bedroom was very large as was the bathroom. A really quiet hotel. Lots of privacy. The hotel restaurant was decent and room service was super quick. We cooked most of our meals in the superbly outfitted kitchen. Great choice for us travelling with a toddler. And the price was phenomenal for everything it included. The check in was slow...but not a problem. We arrived really early and just went shopping to kill time. The pool areas were inviting although the weather was too chilly for us to use them. Would definitely stay here again. Great base for exploring Napa Valley and surrounding areas.

  • Liked — Great rooms and amenities
  • Disliked — New hotel, odd commercial area...needs landscaping...
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    219
    84
    50
    29
See reviews for
163
434
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We stayed a few night's at this hotel and we had a suite, which is typical "timeshare" accommodation - very comfortable and above average size with all amenities within the suite. The hotel is about a 10 min drive from downtown Napa and is surrounded by an industrial estate, but if you don't mind that, then I would definitely recommend it. The buffet breakfasts are nothing out of this world, but are the usual buffet breakfast offerings in America - plentiful and reasonably priced.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank JOD1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruperto, Rooms Division Manager at Vino Bello Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2007
Thank you for your feedback regarding our property! The resort is definitey starting to "grow" into the aesthetics that were set landscape designers. Soon our new vineyards and landscape foliage will provide a lush setting at the gateway to Napa! Hope to see you again soon!
Regards, Jose Ruperto, Rooms Division Manager, The Meritage and Vino Bello Resort.
jruperto@themeritageresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

These gorgeous condos/timeshares are part of the Meritage Hotel & are an exceptional value if you want more than a hotel room. Perfect if you are exploring Napa and surrounding area because after a long day of wine tasting, its nice to relax in a beautifully appointed, fully equiped new 'apartment suite. If youre like us, it was nice to relax in an 'at home' setting - fireplace, balcony, gorgeous kitchen -after a wonderful day @ the wineries. The 24 hr room service was prompt and very good. Spa was gorgeous (and expensive). Some reviewers mention highway proximity as an issue but we found it convenient (this property in a 'corporate park' but still very nice. Therefore, higher level floors and pool view might be best.) Check your room folder for specials that are not apparent. For example, we later discovered we could have added services to our massages for no charge but did not know (nor were told). DVDs & CDs are available @ the front desk but we only learned that from these reviews, not the hotel. The drawback here (altho experienced travelers will navigate these issues) is that the staff is woefully undertrained or seems in some instances, simply untrained in hospitality. Nice and willing, but totally clueless. This was generally the case and most especially at the valet stand where the young man greated us with 'huh?' when we pulled up and asked whether we should park or leave the car w/him. Maybe it was because he was chewing his lunch loudly. He never asked if we were with the hotel or condo and consequently, we removed our own luggage - he took the car. We needed to retrieve the car which could not be located (10 minutes later), redeposit our luggage and drive back over to the condo section. A bit annoying after a long,east coast flight and drive up from San Fran. On the way up, we stopped for lunch @ Horizons in Sausilito (wonderful) and then a little detour thru Muir Woods - nice to see but not much there if youre not awed by nature. (Trees are over 1000 years old!).
As for Napa, do stop for breakfast @ Sarafornia on Lincoln Ave in Calistoga for excellent, home made inexpensive fare. We were unimpressed by Rutherford Grille for lunch/dinner tho everyone seems to recommend it - expensive, very limited wine list and smelled like kenny rogers roasters restaurant. St. Helena Olive Oil Company was a treat to break up the wine tastings (altho the pesto we purchased was confiscated @ the airport because we did not pack it in our checked luggage.) You can taste everything in the store thats for sale. There are hundreds of wineries and you should sample several but we found the 'touristy' ones just fine for first time visitors. (check out many wine country internet coupon specials for wine tastings, etc.) We especially liked Sterling (for the tram ride) and Mondavi (for the tour and grounds) and our favorite was Domaine Carneros where on a lovely terrace - my husband sipped pinot noirs while i tasted the sparkling wines. Don Giovanis (napa?) looked very good for dinner but after a second long winery day - we were again just as happy to have room service instead and watch a movie on one of the two flat screens in the condo. We left on the third day back to San Fran. Check out both Franciscan's on the wharf which even tho in the center of touristville- was excellent for crab and had great decor/views...and Vincentos (on Taylor?) in financial district for dinner. We also had a great time on Adventure Cats sunset bay sail. Great crew! Ecclectic, culturally mixed crowd of passengers made a fun/interesting 1.5 hrs. w/beautiful photo ops. Lunch @ Left at Albequerqe on Union in Pacific Heights was a wonderful surprise find - outstanding, inexpensive fresh food w/cafe seating.
Note to non-Californians - signage is awful - we got 'lost' several times - especially around Napa, but it was always either a pretty coast road or winding mountain road so not a totally bad thing!

  • Liked — spacious, new, beautiful
  • Disliked — staff not well trained in hospitality
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry-Pattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruperto, Rooms Division Manager at Vino Bello Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2007
We really appreciate the feeback from your review!! Thank you for the wonderful description of our beautiful property! Your comments about the service staff at the desk are well taken and correct, as we had newly replaced positions in that area. We are continuing our coaching and training to develop our desk agents into "world class" service providers and we hope you get a chance to return and the experince the great service strides we have accomplished! Please contact us if you do plan to return. Regards, Jose Ruperto, Rooms Division Manager, The Meritage and Vino Bello Resort.
jruperto@the meritageresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We are just finishing our stay at the Vino Bello resort. It was perfect for our all girl Napa Trip. We took a day trip to San Fransisco which was an easy 1 hour drive in. We spent two days touring wineries. You could easily spend a week doing that alone. We highly recommed the wine at the Van Hey Den winery. The resort was absolutely beautiful with a fully stocked kitchen, flat screen tvs and a view of the pool. The pool was heated and warm for those chilly nights. We were thrilled with our stay and could easily recommed this place again. I plan on traveling back again and will try to book another condo here. Thanks for the memories.

  • Liked — Great location, beautiful rooms.
  • Disliked — No negative comments.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bdvorachek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, CA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

Well, where to start?

I guess with my arrival, to find that this "resort" was in an office park was my first surprise.

Second, the lobby was under construction, there was plastic hanging from the ceiling, saw buzzing, hammers banging.

Third, the front desk staff seemed well dressed, but unskilled. She didn't know where in the complex my room was, (or she was embarrassed of the room she had assigned.)

Next, after being shoved off from the front desk to the "concierge," to get a local area map when the "concierge" lady finally stopped talking to her friend or co-worker, she immediately when into her routine of trying to bribe me into submitting to a sales pitch to buy into the time-share. After telling her I was only there for a couple of days and didn't care to spend my vacation time listening to a sales pitch, I was treated rudely. I had to get her attention again to ask for a local map, and was told to look in the local magazine.

Fifth, upon entering my room it was small but well appointed. I opened the curtains on the patio to see the back of the time-share sales office. Temporary office trailers, with big loud air conditioning units, what a view! Of course I called the front desk to see if they had a better room available, luckily they did, no offers to have a bellman move us, just a come switch out your keys (the office is at least a football field away from the condos.)

Our new room had a view of the pool, which was better, but when sitting on our patio we got to hear the sales pitch over and over again, as the sales team herded prospective buyers through the complex.

Our next experience with Vino Bello is one of an overall design flaw, noise. The paths and walkways around the complex are concrete, and brick. Since the Vino Bello are not in close proximity with the restaurant, and other utilities used to service there guests, the staff has to push hard wheeled carts around on these paths, " KA-CLUNCK....KA-CLUNCK....KA-CLUNCK, dat,dat,dat,dat,dat,dat,dat,KA-CLUNCK....KA-CLUNK. You get the picture right. These noises started around 7 am, right when you feel like getting up, after wine tasting the day before.

Overall, I would not stay here again. Mainly, because of the time-share deal, and the ignorance of the designer's choices in either the materials used to make the pathways or the choice of having the staff use the same walkways as patrons to service the rooms. These are two factors that will be hard to overcome, and make this establishment a far cry from a 4 star hotel.

  • Liked — toaser oven
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SteevOTopanga_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2007

Had a few reservations about this location based on previous reviews. There was no need to worry as we loved this resort and thought the facilities were excellent.

Check in was fine and we were allocated a suite overlooking the pool area. The reception staff were very friendly and we were pleased with the overall check in. We found the one bedroom suite met our every need and was of a very high quality, the minimal amount of noise from other rooms and the air conditioning was not a problem.

We would definately stay again and would not hesitate in recommending this property.

  • Liked — Quality of accomodation
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janetb555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

The resort is split into two properties that share staff - Vino Bello, which are condos intended for sale that are rented out, and the Meritage, which is a traditional hotel, so you may want to check out the reviews on both properties.

The concierge was a mess - confused, hurried, and generally not helpful. The desk staff forgot to call us when our room was ready as requested. Otherwise, all the service was acceptable - we made a number of calls from our room to request corkscrews, towels, movies (they have a DVD library), and room service, and all requests were met promptly.

Our room was really spectacular - we had a 1 bedroom king suite, for which we paid about $250 for a Thursday night (a steal for this room, which was beautifully appointed and was pushing at least 1000 sq. ft.) and $350 for Friday night.

They're also in the process on planting vineyards on all sides of the property, which eliminates the "office park" feel.

The restaurant was better than average, the pool area is really nice, and the spa and tasting room looked great, although we never made it over there during their operating hours (it closes at 6-7 pm). The location is good enough for highway access to wineries etc. I would definitely stay here again during the week - you get a lot more room for your money than at other properties.

  • Liked — Great rooms!
  • Disliked — Unorganized and harried staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahkaye23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
3.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
2,007 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Napa Valley
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vino Bello Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vino Bello Resort

Property: Vino Bello Resort
Address: 865 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Napa
#8 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#12 Family Hotel in Napa
#14 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vino Bello Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Vino Bello suite is designed to complement your Napa Valley getaway with quiet space and luxurious appointments. Choose from 64 studio, one bedroom or two bedroom condominium-style suites, all decorated with Old World Tuscan charm that blends with the surrounding vine-covered hills to welcome you with style and grace. This is wine country at its best. Here you’ll find luxurious accommodations, fine amenities and gracious service, all designed to make your visit to Napa Valley a memorable one. Whether you choose to taste your way through countless Napa Valley wineries, venture into the hills on horseback, bicycle through quaint villages, or float above it all in a hot-air balloon, you’ll return to find first class amenities at Vino Bello Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vino Bello Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vino Bello Hotel Napa
Vino Bello Napa
Vino Bello Resort Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing