We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a 3*”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Abq, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More like a 3*”
Reviewed October 30, 2006

This stay was an Interval exchange. Interval rate this resort as a 5*. I wouldn't. That being said, it was still an enjoyable stay.

We had a two bedroom unit for 2 couples. This consisted of the main unit (which is basically a single wide small trailer) which had a living area, kitchen, bathroom (with tub) and bedroom. This unit was connected via an outside deck to the studio unit, which consisted of studio unit with bathroom (stand up shower). We all flinched when we first drove up because all the "cottages" were really packed in there, but after being there for a week, we hardly ever encountered other guests. They have the cottages arranged so you park and proceed to your deck.

My biggest complaint is about the beds and pillows. They were terrible. The towels were plush, the furnishings were good, but the beds were awful!

As I said, it is more like a 3*.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 721belmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    175
    56
    26
    19
See reviews for
112
229
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

What a BEAUTIFUL and QUAINT town Napa is...
Spent 4 beautiful days in Napa, interspersed between San Francisco, Hiking on Mt. Tamalpais, Basking on the beach at Stinson Beach, and a quick (albeit too quick) jaunt down to Monterey!!!!!
All were WELL within driving distance and Napa was a great "hub"... Especially if you like wine...As you all know, Napa is of course the Center of the american wine culture and this town has everything. Like I said, we spent 3 full days here between our day trips elsewhere, and when we come back again, we will spend even more days here and fewer out and about. Wineries are fantastic and accomodating, not to mention more than we expected.
The rooms are a bit small, but the sevice more than made up for it...especially since we saw what other hotel rooms were going for in this sought after area...
We could do nothing but rave about this trip...SOOOO beautiful!
cheers.

  • Liked — the convenience and WINE!
  • Tips/Secrets — Have an itinerary if you want to do stuff...there is sooo much to do!!!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sfrtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2006

We stayed four nites with two other couples. Our rooms were located next to each other divided by a deck which was nice.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. It was a nice centrally located motel. We did not partake of the time share sales event so that may be why we liked it. (We did listen to the group spiel).
I would go back if not only that it is clean and in a nice location.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnfasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2006

Yes, the units are trailers! However, this is a great location for visiting Napa and Sonoma. The unit was clean, well-stocked, quiet, and comfortable, if a bit small. The resort itself is pleasant, with responsive and courteous staff. Our unit was bright and airy, with plenty of good quality towels and other linens. A cracked plate was replaced almost immediately. We've been in more luxurious resorts that weren't as clean and well-tended. Like in real estate, location is everything; the River Pointe makes visiting Napa Valley, Sonoma, Santa Rosa, San Francisco, Marin County, and other Bay area attractions easy.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small size of unit
  • Tips/Secrets — Come for the attractions, not the accommodations.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank valibrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

I toured the River Pointe "resort" on 8/11/06, and all I can say is what a waste of time. The salesperson started off with the typical chit-chat about what kind of work I do, yaddah-yaddah-yaddah. They offered some generic cookies, coffee, and cups of water. I truly went there with an open mind to buy, because I wanted a holiday spot that was somewhat close to home, but this certainly wasn't it.

The cabins are very small trailers (the one-bedroom has to be about 300 s.f.) with wood paneling to disguise them, and the whole place is located in a flood plan. Last winter guests had to be evacuated, because the heavy rains flooded the area (and they had to repair their cot-trailers). If you are familiar with No. Cal. you know that just about any winter can have a heavy rain season. The kitchens do not have ovens, just a stovetop and microwave. Although the couch does pull out, if you scoot to the bottom of the sofabed you will be able to open the front door without having to stand up. There is about 18" walking perimeter around the bed. The studio units are just bedrooms with a bathroom, and mini-fridge. The site does not provide views of any wineries, because it is in downtown Napa (which is not quaint like downtown Sonoma) off of a major street.

The only amenities that are on site are a small gym, lap pool, and two jacuzzis. There is no tennis court, spa, restaurant, bar, golf, volleyball, walking trail...not even a pingpong table. When I asked about the lack of amenities, I was told that they would increase the maintenance fee (which is about $570 per year). This was really an unsatifactory answer, because I own another timeshare, and have seen others that charge less and are capable of having these types of amenities onsite for their members.

The salesperson kept emphasizing the "benefit" of being able to trade your timeshare via Interval and other trading companies, or visiting one of their sister resorts. He didn't go into great detail about having to pay another membership to these companies ($80-90 per year), or how much more you it costs to trade ($50-150). So I got the impression that they know that most locals won't want to stay their, but wish to use the timeshare as a means to have access to other more desirable timeshares. So forget about having a nice getaway place that is only an hour's drive, because you will still have to drive to anything that's worth doing (gas costs $3.25 per gallon for regular unleaded). Another benefit is that a member can use the facilities anytime during the day, and I can tell there was a great demand for this added bonus by the four women I saw by the pool/jacuzzis.

Lastly, I was told what an "asset" buying a timeshare there would be instead of spending money on hotels. Well, when I buy an asset I expect it to appreciate in value. I asked him to tell me what is the historical re-sale value of the timeshares during the 8 years they've existed. He got his manager to try to answer that question, and he could only tell me that a 2bd/2ba annual visit cost $22,500 in 1998, and the same unit was going for $28,675 today (FYI, an every other year 1 bedroom costs $9500+ now). This is about a 22% increase during a period where real estate values in the area have appreciated between 400-500%. .

So the long and short of it is, buy a timeshare at River Pointe if: you don't want to stay there yourself; you want to rent a car (or have to drive) and spend a small fortune in gas, because nothing is close by (except Walmart); you don't mind staying in extremely cramped space that may flood in the winter or catch fire during the summer, and you prefer to spend your money on something that you will probably won't use, and have to spend more to get to a real resort (where you wish you had actually bought).

The salesperson wasn't too pushy, but you can't get your gifts without one last pitch from the Trading Places (the other timeshare trading company) salesperson. I received a $25 gift certificate to Macy's, a travel certificate for 3 days/2 nights travel to either Las Vegas, New Orleans, Orlando, Cancun or Jamaica (these last two incur an additional charge of $169), and an invitation for a wine tour (which is dumb, because many wineries give free wine tours daily). By the rules of the travel certificate, the earliest that I can actually travel will January 2007, and the certificate is only good for a year from the date of issue.

Spend your money and time at a nice B&B in the Napa Valley. You'll feel much better, and be getting more bang for your buck.

Helpful?
16 Thank keepntabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 7, 2006

My husband and I visited the River Pointe Napa Valley Resort to participate in a timeshare presentation. Having visited a couple of other international timeshare presentations and coming very close to actually buying one, we were very excited about the prospect of owning locally while still having access to exotic locations worldwide. Well this "resort" was a far cry from the real vacation getaways we've toured before (imagine having a Walmart and the train tracks across the street from your 5-star timeshare). Not only were we subjected to over 1.5 hours of verbal abuse from an obviously disgruntled “friendly and professional” sales consultant, but we never actually got to see the rooms or the grounds since they apparently weren’t important to the value-building portion of the timeshare presentation. We did, however, get a glimpse of the bedroom sized fitness center located behind the bathrooms in the main lobby.

In closing, if your idea of a 5-star resort is one that treats their prospective owners on a 90+ degree day to a ½ cup of tepid water and a stale cookie while being seated on your standard elementary school style chairs, then this might just be the place for you. Needless to say, we were not impressed and chose not to waste our money on a company that could exercise such poor judgment in choosing their representatives.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2006

We really enjoyed our week at the Riverpointe. The staff was very friendly and provided excellent recommendations on wineries to visit, places to eat, along with recommendations on the nearby golf courses..

The individual cottages were comfortable, quiet, and immaculate. We will go back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Napa hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
2.5 mi away
Napa Winery Inn
Napa Winery Inn
#13 of 30 in Napa
643 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn At The Vines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.9 mi away
Ivy Hotel Napa
Ivy Hotel Napa
#26 of 30 in Napa
796 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#10 of 30 in Napa
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort

Property: RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
Address: 500 Lincoln Ave, Napa, CA 94558-3611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Napa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Napa
#16 Family Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RiverPointe Napa Valley is a resort that will suit any type of vacation. We offer studio and one-bedroom cottages. Guests enjoy room amenities such as an outdoor deck, fully-equipped kitchen, king/queen sized bed, sofa sleeper, and deluxe bathrooms. Additionally, on-site amenities include indoor/outdoor games, outdoor heated swimming pool, two outdoor hot tubs, and complimentary laundry facilities. Our delightful country cottages are sure to give you the vacation you have always wanted. Minimum age required at check-in is 21. Please note that there is a daily parking fee of USD 11.00. The hotel provides free wifi for all guests. We look forward to your stay at RiverPointe Napa Valley where there is plenty of room for fun, relaxation, and savoring Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverpointe Napa Valley Hotel Napa
Riverpointe Hotel Napa
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing