We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort with exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with exceptional service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This resort is truly a treat! The rooms are beautiful and they even have their own wine tasting cave on the property. Really enjoyed the Jacuzzi after being in conference sessions all day.
We did a scavenger hunt as part of our conference and it was so unique. They even have their own bowling lanes and lots of great restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennedyBeverly_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear KennedyBeverly_MA- I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at our resort. It was a pleasure to have your group with us for the conference. Your review was wonderful and I am pleased you enjoyed Trinitas Cellars Tasting Room, Crush Ultra Lounge and the jacuzzi- a perfect mix of business and pleasure! I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future!

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    490
    248
    85
    68
See reviews for
228
710
22
406
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our stay was mediocre, though the concierge was somewhat rude and not helpful at all for planning. When we left, however, we left a paperback book in the room. We called for days every day and continued to be given the run around. Ultimately nothing turned up. The concern for me here is that someone in the staff who access to guest rooms is flagrantly lying. I will never stay here again and will make sure no one I care about does either. Worst customer service period. Definitely the stay (and the food) are not worth the price you pay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Kathleen H. - Thank you for taking the time to reach out in regards to your recent stay with us. Your experience is certainly not indicative of our service standards and we sincerely apologize that you left our resort unhappy. Your situation has been addressed with all levels of our management team and supervisors, as we take any missing item situation very seriously. Again, I apologize for your experience and hope that we can work together to resolve. I have sent you a direct message to discuss further.

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Lovely accommodation. Location just outside napa town, but shuttle service takes you in and out of napa anytime day or night free of charge. It's great fun on the shuttle bus after a night out in napa, the driver plays DVDs, and there's even disco lights !!!!! Nice cocktail bar with very friendly fun staff. Good restaurant too. It's quite a loud place to be, lots of people (of all ages) having fun in a loud way, but fun all the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear jackmurphy3,

Thanks for sharing comments about your recent stay with us at the Meritage Resort and Spa.Our complimentary shuttle is enjoyed by many of our guests throughout the year. A service we are pleased to offer along with everything else the resort has to enjoy. I hope the next time you travel across the pond you will return to Napa.

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

My wife and I came here for my 50th birthday. I just wanted to get out of town to someplace nice. This is a very nice place to stay with lots to do. You can hang out here all day with plenty of activities, or take the shuttle to town in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Scott B- Happy 50th Birthday to your wife! Thank you very much for choosing our resort for her special celebration. I am truly thrilled that you both enjoyed your time. Thank you very much for your kind review. I hope we have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future!

Truly,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

This property is certainly very nice. The wine tasting cave and the spa are real nice and unique. I enjoyed walking through the vineyard, my room which was one of the one bedroom condos in the Cabernet building was extremely nice. The reason I rated it a four and almost rated it a three is that there is not a lot to do other than do wine tasting which can't last too long, walk through the grapes, which also doesn't take long, and lounge at the pool or the spa. The pool is just a so/so pool, not really nice enough I wanted to hang out at the pool all day. Very disappointing pool area for a "Resort", but nice enough for a general hotel. The shuttle doesn't start taking people to downtown Napa until 4:30 so transportation cost to Napa was $20.00 for a 4/5 mile trip, each way so just to go walk around the river area in Napa and wander in and out of shops was $40.00. I was there as a conference attendee and since I didn't want to spend all my time wine tasting, working out or lounging at the pool, I really found myself getting very bored...to remote to find places to explore by foot.

Room Tip: The condos in the cabernet building are very private, extremely large and beautifully decorated. Ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear cphilpot,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Meritage Resort and Spa. As a top contributor to tripadvisor we truly value your feedback. I will be certain to share your review with our team and consider any opportunities we may have further enhance the guest experience.

Sincerely,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Just a quick overnight stay, scouting resorts for a week long conference.

Here's the bad:

Poor/non-existent cell phone reception, especially if you are an AT&T customer.
2-1/2 hour wait for room. They said they'd call when ready, but I had no cell coverage. I had to keep checking with front desk. I received an email that my room was ready about 15 minutes after I finally checked in.
My name was spelled wrong on reservation. They told me they corrected it, but did not (need you room # and last name to use Internet).
Early (11:00) checkout. I was able to get a late checkout.
Location (in an industrial park)
Not walking distance to Napa (but they have a "free" shuttle that runs every 45 minutes during certain hours). Not really free because it's included in the "resort fee"
$20/day resort fee-I'd prefer they just raise the room rate by $20

Here's the good:
Awesome rooms, each one has a mini fridge (nice for leftovers)
Rooms are new or newly updated
Awesome grounds (pools, hot tubs, bocci, etc.)
Lots of conference space
Awesome bar (Crush Ultra Lounge) with bowling alley, shuffle board, darts. Good beer selection.
Freindly staff
Nice fitness center
Spa

Even though I listed a few "bars" all the goods outweigh them. Nice place to come for a romantic getaway.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joebuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Director of Sales at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Joebuyer- We appreciate your very detailed account of your recent stay with us. Although I am pleased your overall experience was a good one, I am sorry there were details where we were not as consistent. Your review has been shared with the management team. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Sincerely,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Was at the Meritage Resort and Spa in April for a conference. Hotel rooms very nice, grounds beautiful, views beautiful, amenities perfect, and staff were the most accommodating in the world. I wouldn't hesititate to recommend them or to stay there again if I were in the Napa Valley area again. Don't think twice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlissaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations M, Guest Relations Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear dlissaur,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Meritage Resort and Spa. Our accommodating staff is a large part of what makes our resort a great place to visit. The amazing views from the vineyard provide a wonderful feel of the Napa experience. Your recommendation is truly appreciated.

Warm regards,

Sheri Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing