We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Napa Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Napa Stay”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at Meritage as part of a vacation package purchased at an auction. We were generally happy with our stay including the room (2nd floor balcony view of pool and vineyear). The room was comfortable but somewhat small considering the pricepoint.

High Points:
The spa was outstanding with a terrific ambience and incredible massages (both my wife and I commented that they were some of the best we've ever had).
Front desk service was attentive and responsive.
View from room was terrific.

Low Points:
Property is situated in a commercial office park but does a reasonably good job of "separating' itself. South of Napa so it's a bit more of a drive to wine country.
On property restaurant (Siena) was dissappointing. Notably they were understaffed and very slow. Food quality was mediocre but not inconsistent with hotel quality.
The hotel is definitely oriented to conferences with several occurring during our stay. If you are looking for a romantic getaway, this may not be the place.

Room Tip: Request a 2nd floor room with view of pool and vineyard. Get a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortlandDawgfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks for being for being our guest and for taking the time to share your Meritage experience with us. It was a pleasure to have hosted you, and we're happy to hear that our attentive team and spa services lent to your pleasant stay. That said, we apologize for any inconsistencies and shortcomings in your dining experience, and we will certainly pass your concerns along to our team. We would love the opportunity to host you again and we hope that you'll consider reaching out the next time you visit Napa. Many thanks again for your stay and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    501
    262
    94
    73
See reviews for
242
738
23
423
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you are traveling to NAPA VALLEY, this is the place to stay. Rooms are beautiful. Spa is great.
Restaurant is very good

Central location to all of the wineries in Napa. Nice pool area with lounges.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out to share your Meritage experience with us. We're happy to hear that your visit was an enjoyable one and that we were able to lend ourselves to your regional explorations. We hope that you'll return to experience even more of our offerings and hospitality, and we look forward to seeing more of you soon. Thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We came here with an open mind. It's just the little things that add up to make the experience less than spectacular. It mostly starts with the concierge. Here's a typical conversation: "can you recommend something in Napa to do with kids?" Answer: "No, there really isn't much, but if you have time tomorrow, our sister hotel has a 90 minute presentation on new timeshare offers..." Seriously? Your concierge is pitching timeshares? After that, we started paying more attention to little things: paint pealing off the bath walls, no place to put used towels (though the hotel encourages us to reuse them), $20 daily resort fee (for what?), hotel located in a corporate park, etc. etc. But in all fairness, if the hotel had employed more experienced personnel as concierge, we would have been more likely to overlook the rest. Nothing is cosmetically wrong with the restaurant or the grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breadfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to share your stay with us. While we're happy to hear that you enjoyed our property and grounds, we apologize for any frustrations you experienced in working with our concierge desk. We certainly value your feedback, as it enables us to improve and grow, and we encourage you to reach out to our management team with any lingering concerns you might have. Thanks again for reaching out with your stay and review; we hope to speak with and see more of you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Came to the resort for a business trip and arrived late. The temperature dropped and the wind picked up upon checkin. I called room service to order a warm meal and mentioned to the attendant that I was cold. When my food arrived the room service waiter said in addition to my food he brought me a warm blanket! I was so impressed. The tomato soup was excellent too. I had a delicious dinner in the restaurant but didn't have time to enjoy the resort. The spa, pool and winery are onsite for a perfect getaway of both work and some fun.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvpoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Meritage Resort and for taking the time to reach out with such enthusiastic words for us. We're thrilled to hear that our incomparable hospitality made for a memorable visit, and it was a pleasure to have had you as our guest. We do hope that you'll return in the near future to share in more of our amenities and world class services; there's much to experience and explore within our serene getaway! Thanks again for your stay and review; we hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Andre, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

One of the best places I've ever known. The location is wonderful, in the middle of the vineyards, and the facilities are exquisite and refined. A perfect attendance, courteous, polite, and at the same time with warmth. A perfect place to sample fine wines and enjoy the tranquility of a winery.

Room Tip: All rooms at Meritage are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valter Roberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out with such enthusiastic words for us. We're immensely proud of our property and its unparalleled views, services and hospitality, and it's a pleasure to have been able to share our Meritage Resort with you. Thanks again for your time and review; we hope to see more of you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just returned from our honeymoon in Napa and spent two nights at the Meritage Resort. We were impressed from the moment we arrived. This the type of place you don't even have to leave once you get there. Between the pool, restaurant, lounge, spa, etc. we just wanted to spend all of our time there! We were given a beautiful room overlooking the vineyards which was so lovely to wake up to each morning. The highlight of our trip had to be Friday when we went to the cocktail reception and met the GM of the property, Michael Palmer. He was very friendly and upon learning that it was our honeymoon he made us a reservation at Sienna and bought us a bottle of wine of our choice. That generosity was such a great touch to our weekend at the Meritage. We will definitely come back here again one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building, facing the vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the time to reach out with such enthusiastic words for us. It's an extreme honor to be able to share in such special occasions as your honeymoon, and we thank your choosing our Meritage Resort. We're thrilled to hear that our many amenities and outgoing services lent to your memorable visit, and we will certainly pass your praises along to the team, including Michael, for making your stay such a memorable one. We'd love to celebrate future occasions and anniversaries with you, and we hope that you'll reach out to our team again soon. Congratulations, and thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel front desk check in was amazing. The hotel room and grounds were very nice! Siena was a great place for dinner, and Crush was a blast with bowling!
Just wish price was lower. Otherwise oustanding resort!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lvbasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for reaching out to share your Meritage experience with us. We're happy to hear that your visit was an enjoyable one and that you were able to take advantage of the many relaxing and playful elements of our resort. We'd love to have you back and to share more of our world class hospitality with you, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you return to the Napa region. Thanks again for your stay and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.6 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#4 of 30 in Napa
1,951 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.8 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing