We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well equipped room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Well equipped room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The rooms are large, comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped. We didn't partake in the pool or other services. Loved the large sunken tub in the bedroom (with jets and all!). The internet is really fast . Staff is pleasant and professional. South of town - making the trip to wineries and restaurants a bit farther than other properties but not a deal breaker. Reminds me of a large condo complex situated in a business park. Not romantic but very functional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our resort and for reaching out to share your stay with us. It's a pleasure to be able to share our expansive facilities with you, and we're happy to hear that our team and property lent itself to your regional explorations. Whether you're exploring our many on-site amenities or venturing into our regional attractions, we'd love to help you explore each of our area offerings, and we hope to be able to share more of them with you in the near future. We'd love to hear more from you soon, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan more of your Napa travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    474
    244
    82
    67
See reviews for
218
668
22
387
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a grand time. Stayed here for 3 nights. Spa, Winery, Restaurants, and really nice rooms.
Ask for the new wing and for Winery View rooms. Great view.

Highlights:
The bed and sheets were purely luxurious.
View of the winery was very nice and relaxing.
Service was just over the top. They call twice a day to see if you need anything.
Gym was so great that we went every morning. We're not daily gym people otherwise.

Everyone went the extra mile and it truly felt like one of those exclusive spots. Our room overlooked the winery. Gorgeous view. It's about 10-12 minutes drive from downtown Napa.

The one description that comes to mine is: Maniacal about customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for vineyard views. That's a newer wing supposedly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to praise the services of our Meritage Resort and for reaching out with your exceptional review. It's a pleasure to be able to share our world class hospitality with you, and we're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our views, amenities, and attentive services. We'd love the opportunity to host you again and to introduce you to even more of our world class offerings, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to our region. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cranberry twp pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days while touring wineries in Napa. The hotel is beautiful, rooms were really comfortable and spacious. Our room was on the first floor with a view of the parking lot (which came in handy to load and unload the car after touring) and vineyards.We used the pool and spa and exercise rooms all well equipped. The resort has a coffee shop for quick cups and a full breakfast (delicious!) was included in our room rate

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariem265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Meritage Resort and for taking the time experience and review the many on-site amenities of our property. It's an absolute pleasure to be able to share our scenic views and exemplary services with you, and we're happy to hear that you enjoyed the wellness and dining options available to our guests. We'd love to have you back to experience even more of our offerings, and we hope that you'll reach out the next time you visit Napa. Many thanks again for your wonderful words; we hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

It’s a very modern resort hotel on the edge of very smart office / factory estate.

It a short drive into Napa it’s self. Nice coffee shop in the morning if all you want is a croissant and a coffee. We did not eat there, found a great restaurant in Napa and went back the next night as well so can not comment on the food.

The resort staff were great, arrived very early and getting a room was no problem at all. The room was large with a high ceiling and a great view of the pool and the little vineyard at the front of the hotel. Free wine tasting every afternoon was a nice touch.

In all a very good hotel on our trip

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menston62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our Meritage Resort and for reaching out to share such kind words with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our expedient services and the views and amenities of your room. We'd love to have you back to experience even more of our offerings, including the world class dining of Siena Restaurant, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan any return trips to the region. Thanks again for your time and stay; we hope to speak more with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was expecting to be wowed. Instead, when we walked into our room (3 in a small room with one king bed) I thought of Motel Six. I was expecting more The Phoenician in Scottsdale. They don't offer a cot...something about fire hazard. Tile in shower was missing, view was top of building next door with air conditioning units. They moved us into a much nicer, larger room with a balcony the next day where one of the lightbulbs was out in the bathroom. But for more than $900 for two nights I was expecting much more. Attention to detail, people. I must add that everyone on staff was very pleasant and we were greeted warmly by every staff member we saw.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mogul2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for being our guest and for taking the opportunity to share your Meritage experience with us. While it's great to hear of the warm reception delivered by our outgoing team, we're sorry to hear of your frustrations with some of the finer details of your stay. We certainly agree that these are as important as the big picture, and we thank you for bringing some of these to our attention. Guest feedback like yours enables us to improve and grow, and we hope that you'll reach out in the future to experience our continued evolution. Many thanks again for being our guest; we hope to see more of you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was looking forward to a nice stay here given other online reviews; in fact, I'm currently here right now. This is at best a 3 star resort, if that, and the staff is poorly trained. I'll keep it as short as I can. Checked into a room. It was missing some bath amenities. Called front desk and they said I'd receive them shortly. Then I noticed food crumbs were on one of the tables; the room had not been cleaned. I called downstairs again. Most luxury resorts would bend-over backwards apologizing and upgrade me instantly to a better, new room. Instead, the desk said I could arrange for housekeeping to come clean it. I said I already did clean it up. I had them assure me this had been some oversight and the room had indeed been cleaned and it would specially cleaned the next day.

Went to sleep that night. Pulled back the blanket and the bed was filled with large crumbs, bits of bread, and God knows what. (I saved a sample for the management.) I threw the linen on the floor and fell asleep in my clothes, too tired to deal with it. I spoke to the manager in the morning and told him about my very disappointing experience, in addition to the several burnt out lightbulbs in the room. He did not volunteer any comp, upgrade, etc. Jesus Christ, the bed was filled with crumbs! -- this feels like a Motel 6. He said he would speak to the head of housekeeping to find out what went wrong. I don't really care what went wrong. That's his problem not mine. He said the room would be cleaned.

I came back hours later. Nothing had been cleaned, housekeeping hadn't visited. I called the manager again. He said he was surprised. What he should have said is, "I'm unbelievably sorry; we're upgrading you to a suite and comp'ing you two nights." That is what good hotels do, let alone properties that advertise themselves as luxury resorts above the competition. I said this situation was ridiculous and had to ask for another room so I could take a nap. I was then downgraded to a room with a view of other rooms, after I explicitly booked one of their superior rooms with a view.

Yep, the grounds and lobby are pretty. But the service is terrible, the rooms are dated and average size, the WiFi was down for 6 hours this AM, and I'll likely contact the owners to report this experience. Only nice thing is the bathrooms, which are small but remind me vaguely of the Waldorf's.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HerrDrProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This property is beautiful. Everything about it speaks old world vineyard style. However, we did have issues sleeping. The toilet water ran non stop all night and the air conditioning sounded like it was going down in agonizing death every night we attempted to sleep there. The pool is gorgeous as well as the vineyard and spa. Concierge is wonderfully helpful. Even though we complained about the 2 noises, the janitor could not fix them. :(

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AprilB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for being a guest of our resort and for taking the time to review your stay. We're happy to hear that your experience was an enjoyable one, and we apologize for the maintenance concerns of your room. We will certainly pass this along to see that it has been properly resolved, and we thank you for bringing attention back to this. We'd love to have you back at your next available opportunity, and we hope that you'll reach out as you plan return trips to the region. Many thanks again for your time and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
3.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#3 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing