We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Shame the pool area is not larger!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meritage Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Meritage Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Shame the pool area is not larger!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

A brits view of the resort:-
Location, just right, not too long a drive after a long flight and time difference. And with the help of sat nav was easy to find.
Check in / out - quick and easy.
Room - excellent, clean, house keeping no faults. Bed comfortable, and very peacefull at night, so slept very well.
Concierge were helpfull although felt a little rushed with their advice at times.
The Crush lounge was great to grab a quick meal / snack in the evenings and the cafe excellent for picking bits up for breakfast and also for taking out for picnic duriing the day.

Lovely meals, both breakfast and dinner were served in the Sienna - however the service was a little disappointing in the Sienna for dinner, we were asked what we would like to order before even being asked for our drink choice - the wine list had been placed on a area adjoining our table, I did not realise it was there! But to be honest it was not a huge problem.

The most disappointing aspect was the pool at the weekend. After enjoying the pool, which is very nice, during the week, and having no problem getting a sun bed, on our return from our day out on Saturday, hoping to grab a couple of hours by the pool in the late afternoon sun - forget it - it was packed! For such a large resort, with so many rooms, they really need a larger area. So my recommendation would be to stay weekdays and avoid week-ends.

Room Tip: I simply asked for a room in the quietest area possible - I was not disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dippylippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thanks so much for visiting and for taking the time to share your experience at our world-class resort. I'm so glad to hear of your warm and expedient reception at the front desk, and I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your room and Crush Ultra Lounge. I can empathize with your concerns regarding pool availability, but it's my sincere hope that your overall experience here was an exceptional one, made better by the numerous other amenities that our renovation has afforded our guests. We hope that you'll consider visiting again if you return to the area, because we'd love to share more of the Meritage Resort & Spa with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    444
    228
    79
    62
See reviews for
196
622
21
358
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed there for a romantic getaway and it was truly amazing. Upon check in because it was our anniversary we were upgraded to a larger suite with an extended balcony and that was the start to a wonderful stay. The hotel room was immaculate definitely 4/5 star level. Every area around the hotel was clean. The pool area was really nice, Trinitas tasting room was wonderful and the spa was too. I could not ask for a better getaway. They have there own vineyard onsite to tour, a lounge that has a bowling alley and pool tables if you want to do something in the evenings.
Krissy Pieratt was amazing at the front desk when we checked in. Prior to arriving she was soo accommodating over the phone and even provided a special surprise for our Anniversary.
Ayed the bartender in the Trinitas Tasting Room was soo nice and catering to us. He made our experience there an amazing one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much for visiting and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I'm so glad to hear that you were received with the 5-star reception for which we've become acclaimed; I'll certainly pass your praises along to our team, and to Krissy and Ayed in particular. I'm also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our many amenities, including our site-based wine tastings, and we hope to share these and many more experiences with you again. Please reach out the next time you're planning a West Coast trip. We're constantly growing and improving, and we'd love to share our evolution with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

The rooms, service, food and facilities at the Meritage were all exceptional. We had a balcony with a great view overlooking the pool and tasting area.Service by front desk, concierge, waitresses and cleaning staff was excellent. We asked for 2 items from the front desk during our stay and both were delivered promptly with a follow up phone call to ensure we had received it. The only issue is you are about a 15 minute shuttle ride to downtown Napa and we needed to plan dinners and town trips around this schedule as nobody was driving after a full day of wine-tasting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiskeylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if our location was not to your liking. Once you enter the resort there are so many things to do so we don't even notice it! We hope that you'll give us another chance to experience what else is going on in Napa! We have a complimentary shuttle to downtown so you won't even notice where you are. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived at 3:30 to learn they didn't have a room ready for us. Check in was 4pm. They gave us a key to the pool at least. We were told they would call my cell phone but at 4:15 we returned to the desk to hear the clerk say "you mean they didn't call you?, yes your room is ready. Since we had 5:30 reservations in Yountville (25 min drive from hotel) we were very annoyed as two of us still had to shower and get ready in 45 minutes. Luckily we moved fast.

Paid for a Courtyard view but mostly we saw the parking lot with partial view of Courtyard. I don't think this hotel should cost $300 per night as I have stayed at nicer hotels for less but this price seems consistent with other properties in the area. I guess this area can get that amount.

In the end the service was very good and they even jumped our car battery very quickly which was unexpended problem we had (not the hotel's fault of course).

Pool area is very nice, and they have a wine cave so you can do a tasting in your free time. The pool closes at 10pm though so if you are expecteding to enjoy a late night swim after a long day of wine and good food, you have to jump the fence.

Room Tip: Didn't think the Courtyard view was worth the cost but the balcony was nice to have. Ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieNYC1075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We apologize if anything was inconveniencing in the beginning of your arrival, and we are pleased that we could remedy it quickly. We hope that you'll give us another chance to provide you with our world-class guest service. We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon at the Meritage Resort & Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is just perfect in every aspect - reception, dining, quality of room, facilities, service and it even has a vineyard with good choice of wine.

Just one thing to improve - I asked for water and a shaver twice by phone, and I only got water 1 hour later. But this doesn't stop the stay from being a great expereiene overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaijunjiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for an amazing review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments and feedback. We apologize for not being attentive to your request for a razor, and we will certainly address this with our front office team. We hope that you'll join us again for a visit to the Trinitas Cellars tasting cave! We look forward to your return, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Meritage resort and spa had very nice accommodations and their staff was excellent. The restaurants on the grounds and their tasting room were excellent and reasonably priced. They also offer a free shuttle into downtown Napa ever 45 minutes starting at 4pm. I would have given them a five overall but they were not great at keeping the pool area clean and fully stocked with towels. It was a minor flaw but worth mentioning. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NoahBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for a terrific review! We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely apologize if the pool area was not to your liking, and we will address the shortage of towels with our team. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return to Napa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had such a great time we plan on going back very soon. Highly recommend the spa and restaurants. The adult bowling alley looks so fun; it was so popular it was booked the entire weekend. Loved every minute of our getaway. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyplaceReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeritageHotelManager, Manager at The Meritage Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for an outstanding review! We are elated to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to provide your comments and feedback. We hope that you'll join us again soon for a bite in the Siena Restaurant. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Napa
3.5 mi away
Napa River Inn at the Historic Napa Mill
4.0 mi away
The Westin Verasa Napa
3.7 mi away
Andaz Napa
Andaz Napa
#5 of 30 in Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Napa Valley Marriott Hotel & Spa
11.5 mi away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
4.1 mi away
River Terrace Inn, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meritage Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meritage Resort and Spa

Property: The Meritage Resort and Spa
Address: 875 Bordeaux Way, Napa, CA 94558-7524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Napa
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napa
#9 Business Hotel in Napa
#14 Family Hotel in Napa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Meritage Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the rolling vineyards of California's Wine Country, The Meritage Resort and Spa illuminates with gracious hospitality, unrivaled amenities, culinary delights, and a wine and spa experience that you'll never forget. Here you can enjoy the best of Napa Valley without leaving the hotel grounds - wine tasting, award-winning cuisine, rejuvenating spa treatments, bowling, and luxurious accommodations over on 32 acres of stunning real estate. The Meritage Resort offers the perfect blend for the perfect stay. After the resort opened in 2006 and the Estate Cave opened in 2007, it expanded with a $40 million enhancement in Spring 2012, followed by a revitalization of the main resort in early 2014, to deliver guests the ultimate Four-Diamond Napa Valley resort experience. We Are Napa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Meritage Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Hotel Napa
Meritage Resort Napa
The Meritage Resort And Spa Napa, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing